Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cottage Grove High School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a student
As a student many bad reviews on this school are over-bias and unfounded. I have gone to many schools before this school and all of them had major drama problems going on between the students. I have seen the best to the worst schools in Oregon and this school by far a great school with encouraging teachers, trying to do the best for their students. As for the comments about the school not conforming to the specific students’ needs; this school is a public school and not a charter or private, please keep this in mind. The school is built around the majority not the minority. I myself have a learning disability, and my parents have expressed that to my teachers, and they are working as hard as they can to help us students get the best education and experience out of the school. As for leadership and the staff, I would agree that some, not all, have difficulties relating to the students and working in an environment that is not suited for them. But I do understand that their job is to keep the school running on the business aspect of it, as that is why they are not working with the students on an average basis.

Cottage Grove High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 26, 2015
- a student
Roberto Florez has been a great teacher through my experience in this school. He is the best teacher in the school in my opinion.


Cottage Grove High School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
One of the top schools in the state of Oregon, CGHS was rated a level 5 school, which denotes its academics, attendance, graduation rate, and behavior standards. CGHS offers some of the most advanced technical education classes offered anywhere. The staff leads the state in preparing for Common Core and the latest testing. Likewise, the Lions are up-and-coming in athletics, posting many teams in the last couple of years that claimed league titles, earn state playoff berths, make it to the state final, or like a few of their teams, when state outright. Across the board, Cottage Grove High School sets rigorous standards and wants their students to not only improve, but to succeed.

Cottage Grove High School 2

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
This school needs some serious guidelines laid out. There seems to be a problem with bullying and an educational staff that refuses to see it, refuses to listen to the parents, or to follow thru with anything to make it stop. Their solution to it is "typical hs drama". Sometimes, that isn't the case. Needs better leadership here. A school is only as good as the people running it.

Cottage Grove High School 4

Posted August 29, 2013
- a student
I currently go to school here, and overall I love it. The teachers really encourage the students to succeed and try their hardest. If a student is struggling, teachers will give up their lunch and after school time to help. Other students are generally friendly and kind. Almost all teachers try to connect with the students and help them as best they can. There are a few issues here and there, but what school doesn't have it's issues? All in all, I really like it.


Cottage Grove High School 1

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
To be completely honest, this school seriously lacks in the academic areas. Their AP and College Now courses are not challenging in the least compared to most of the schools in Eugene (nearby town) and the staff and curriculum fails to prepare students for the AP exams in the spring. The students at CGHS are also very rude, non welcoming, and cliquey. My son came home crying one day because he was so offended by the fact that so many students were wearing rebel flags on their shirts hats, etc. The school also did nothing to address this issue. All in all, CGHS is a "wannabe" upscale school that is in a hick town and will fail to prepare your student for the future.

Cottage Grove High School 2

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
After reading a few of the reviews posted I would have to agree with the one posted by Shayne in 2010.. I too had a son who struggled there at CGHS and from the start they wanted to kick him out rather then to get him the help he needed.. Telling me that I would have to hire someone to help him. because they did not have the funds to give him the help that he might need.. I too had IEPs done and went through what she too went through.. They would rather toss away those that need the help then to get them the help that they needed.. Just to keep the GPA standards up for the school.. I found that you will need to fight for your childern rights at CGHS. If you want to get a good education..

Cottage Grove High School 5

Posted May 21, 2011
- a teacher
Cottage Grove High School is a great school. For more information, see our web site: http://blogs.slane.k12.or.us/cghs/


Cottage Grove High School 1

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
This school is a good school that provides a good education if your child is not one who has a learning disability. The staff is uncaring unless your child is an A or B student.. Out of all the IEP meetings I have had at this school in the 3 years my daughter has attended CGHS I there nas never been a time that all persons that were scheduled to attend have bothered to show up. he principle and teachers are condesening, rude and disrespectful to the parents of the students who have a learning didability. There main objective with these students is to get rid of them as soon as possible. Cottage Grove High does not have books for their students and is a disgrace to our education system. Shayne

Cottage Grove High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Our community worked very hard to get this new high school built. It is staffed with top quality teachers and staff. We have all the sports, drama, music, band and art you could want, needless to say I feel very lucky that both my children are attending this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cottage Grove High School
1375 South River Rd, Cottage Grove, OR  97424
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (541) 942-3391
Last modified Cottage Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top