Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Cottage Grove, OR
Students enrolled: 775

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cottage Grove High School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
One of the top schools in the state of Oregon, CGHS was rated a level 5 school, which denotes its academics, attendance, graduation rate, and behavior standards. CGHS offers some of the most advanced technical education classes offered anywhere. The staff leads the state in preparing for Common Core and the latest testing. Likewise, the Lions are up-and-coming in athletics, posting many teams in the last couple of years that claimed league titles, earn state playoff berths, make it to the state final, or like a few of their teams, when state outright. Across the board, Cottage Grove High School sets rigorous standards and wants their students to not only improve, but to succeed.

Cottage Grove High School 2

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
This school needs some serious guidelines laid out. There seems to be a problem with bullying and an educational staff that refuses to see it, refuses to listen to the parents, or to follow thru with anything to make it stop. Their solution to it is "typical hs drama". Sometimes, that isn't the case. Needs better leadership here. A school is only as good as the people running it.


Cottage Grove High School 4

Posted August 29, 2013
- a student
I currently go to school here, and overall I love it. The teachers really encourage the students to succeed and try their hardest. If a student is struggling, teachers will give up their lunch and after school time to help. Other students are generally friendly and kind. Almost all teachers try to connect with the students and help them as best they can. There are a few issues here and there, but what school doesn't have it's issues? All in all, I really like it.

Cottage Grove High School 1

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
To be completely honest, this school seriously lacks in the academic areas. Their AP and College Now courses are not challenging in the least compared to most of the schools in Eugene (nearby town) and the staff and curriculum fails to prepare students for the AP exams in the spring. The students at CGHS are also very rude, non welcoming, and cliquey. My son came home crying one day because he was so offended by the fact that so many students were wearing rebel flags on their shirts hats, etc. The school also did nothing to address this issue. All in all, CGHS is a "wannabe" upscale school that is in a hick town and will fail to prepare your student for the future.

Cottage Grove High School 2

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
After reading a few of the reviews posted I would have to agree with the one posted by Shayne in 2010.. I too had a son who struggled there at CGHS and from the start they wanted to kick him out rather then to get him the help he needed.. Telling me that I would have to hire someone to help him. because they did not have the funds to give him the help that he might need.. I too had IEPs done and went through what she too went through.. They would rather toss away those that need the help then to get them the help that they needed.. Just to keep the GPA standards up for the school.. I found that you will need to fight for your childern rights at CGHS. If you want to get a good education..


Cottage Grove High School 5

Posted May 21, 2011
- a teacher
Cottage Grove High School is a great school. For more information, see our web site: http://blogs.slane.k12.or.us/cghs/

Cottage Grove High School 1

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cottage Grove High School 1

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cottage Grove High School 1

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cottage Grove High School 1

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cottage Grove High School
1375 South River Rd, Cottage Grove, OR  97424
(541) 942-3391
Last modified Cottage Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cottage Grove High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top