Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school for a few months now and has had a difficult time to adjust but I have found her teachers to be very responsive and caring about the students. The admin staff has also been great. The school has a very nice "family" environment, very organized and peaceful. VERY welcome change from the public school we came from. We have only been there a few months but already feel like a part of the school. I would highly recommend this school to other parents. Also since some of the last reviews they have moved to a new school and the environment has changed, communication is excellent.

Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 2

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Moving our child out of LCMCS and into East Orient elementary school was the best move we could make for our child. I wholeheartedly agree with the Montessori method, but this is NOT it. The blend of Montessori and District requirements seems to be a huge challenge for the staff here and the collision of district requirements vs the "purist" Montessori way has not been pretty. Staff communication was horrible as well. Greatly disappointed!


Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
My son son LOVES LCMCS and we do, too The teachers are wonderful, and he has done very well both academically and socially. The community is great, too -- parents are very involved and there are many opportunities to volunteer and be a part. My only complaint is that the parents are extremely cliqueish. But at least they care, right? We can hardly wait for our daughter to start, too.

Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 5

Posted December 09, 2011
- a parent
We love it here! The teachers are kind and responsive. I really like that my child get to learn at his own pace. The emphasis here is not on testing (though if you ask to see their state test scores you'll see they're higher than the state and district average). I like that my child gets a lot of choice and input about what he's learning, and he's excited about school.

Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 1

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
My child went to this school and after being told that she was doing fine I got her tested privately and found out that she was very behind, even though the report card sent home stated otherwise. The person that tested her could not believe the results compared to her report card.


Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 4

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
My children have blossomed at this school. I have found the teachers to be passionate, involved, and very available to answers any questions/concerns I've had as we've transitioned into the Montessori experience. Montessori is something my family is really loving, but I can definitely see how Montessori might not be the right choice for every family. This school does allow to observe classrooms before you enroll. Take advantage of this. Visit more than one classroom and visit more than once. Do your research. Also, consider that, as a charter school, they do not get as much funding as other public schools. So, if after school programs and such are important to you, this may not be the place. If you are looking for a school where all the students are sitting quietly and doing worksheets, this is not the place for your children. If you are looking for a place where children are passionately pursuing their own interests, this might just be the place.

Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 1

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
We thought the Montessori system sounded wonderful, so we enrolled our son here.... BIG mistake. Montessori might be ok, but the administration, the teachers, the facilities - all were troublesome. After two months we moved him out and another school where he blossomed wonderfully.... I heartily do not recommend this school to anyone.

Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 4

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
I moved my child from the local public school to Lewis and Clark and have been very happy with the results. This is the first year I have not been told he is distruptive and falling behind. He has freedom to choose when to do activities. When I had some concerns the principal and teachers all sat down with me to discuss. I felt supported and I feel they care about the kids.


Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 1

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
lack of support and also very chaotic! unfortunately it was a stressful mess for many family's and most importantly the students. I would not send my kids there again....ever!

Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
My child loves learning and loves school. Montessori is definetly the right choice for her.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School
14151 SE 242nd, Damascus, OR  97089
(503) 427-0803
Last modified Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lewis And Clark Montessori Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top