Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Drain, OR
Students enrolled: 231
 

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Douglas Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
Excellent teachers, administration and staff. My child has attended schools in Bend, OR and in California. This school by far has out shone them all. I couldn't be happier.

North Douglas Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 13, 2007
- a parent
I was very happy with my childs first grade teacher. She kept learning exciting and fun. My child is an excellent reader and I felt the programs offered were at her level. I do wish the school had a website though. It would be nice to be able to go online and find back to school lists and other information.


North Douglas Elementary School 2

Posted June 02, 2007
- a parent
As a parent I can honestly say these are the reasons I am disapointed with North Douglas Middle school. Most children are instructed below-grade level. Discipline and structure are lax. Although there are some good teachers here, the over-all quality of instruction is poor. Too many teachers rely on 'read the book and answer the questions in the back of the book' for their entire lesson plan. They teach to the state test in order to look good. Bullying is tolerated by the staff and my child hates going to school because of it.

North Douglas Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2007
- a parent
To start, the building is in poor repair and not kept clean. There is an emphasis on PE before academics at all grade levels. Text books and materials are outdated as is the teaching staff. There is far too much nepotism allowed in the district.

North Douglas Elementary School 1

Posted January 27, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.


North Douglas Elementary School 2

Posted September 21, 2004
- a parent
The schools fail to meet state standards in core areas. The administrtion and school board does not hold teachers accountable.

North Douglas Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2004
- a parent
This school is dedicated toward trying whatever method or program best works so that each individual child can learn to read! they spend a tremendous amount of time and energy towards meeting that goal. It is excellent!

North Douglas Elementary School 4

Posted May 17, 2004
- a parent
I think this school has excellent teachers who work hard to provide a quality education with limited funds. They have outstanding reading and math programs and the teachers go out of their way to provide enrichment and extra help to students in need. I have never been in a district with more dedicated and caring staff members. This school also has a dedicated but very small PTO. The PTO works hard to provide much needed materials for the students. More parents are needed as volunteers.


North Douglas Elementary School 2

Posted January 07, 2004
- a parent
There are no extracurricular activites offered at this district other than a few seasonal sports. They do not offer Art, Music or a Talented/Gifted program. Disipline is lacking in most classrooms.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Douglas Elementary School
100 North School St, Drain, OR  97435
(541) 836-2213
Last modified North Douglas Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Douglas Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top