Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elmira High School

Public | 9-12 | 454 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2013

Good school but we have lost so many electives. Our kids need a core education but they need variety to make them well rounded people in life. I appreciate the staff, they do a great job. The rest of the community needs to realize they can not keep voting down bond measures and expect things to improve. its our community, our kids and our future. We need to invest in all of that, and not just financially. The admin for our school has changed positively in the past few years, now let's support them. Stil alot of drinking and partying. The school has cracked down a little on the athletes but not enough. This could be a great school if we stay on the right track. Much improvement in the last 3 years, but still need more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

I am a student at Elmira. I love this school, all the teachers are awesome, and though I wish there were more academic oppertunities I understand that the buget cannot afford this. I admit that I am biased because I go here but I really do like it. GO FALCONS!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2008

They refuse to let my children do harder work, there for they are preventing them from being the best students they can be. Some teachers dont seem to really like their jobs. Worse school I have ever encountered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Our boys enjoy the athletic programs and do well in them. Would like to see a bit more extraciricular activities such as a drama club. We are happy with the offering of AP classes and thus far they have kept the boys challenged.


Posted January 1, 2008

Elmira is a great school for everyone. They have a good sports program. Go falcons!


Posted December 19, 2007

I was an exchange student in this school, and at the time I was there, it was an awesome school. Teachers really like what they do and they do it very well. I keep an excellent memory of this year. If I had the chance to live in the US, then, I would probably choose to live in Veneta and send my kids there.


Posted October 31, 2007

I'm not sure why the school is rated so low. The community and environment here is wonderful. Teachers work hard and are well-prepared and qualified. The new Principal is amazing with excellent leadership and is really making being a student here fun. When I have children, I would want them to come here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2007

This school kicks some butt! The teacher quality is good. There are not that many extracurricular activities. There is a great atmosphere at this school that makes it easy to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Science

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female63%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students64%
Female62%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female70%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 66%
Hispanic 7% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 2%
Asian 2% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 1% 3%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24936 Fir Grove Ln
Elmira, OR 97437
Phone: (541) 935-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT