Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

10-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Timber Lake Job Corps 3

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Graduated in 2009. Was there from 2007-2009. I liked the staff (most of them), the food was ok. The recreational system was ok but could have offered more. Even serving as the Rec Chair and Rec hall,gym and weightroom manager was difficult cause of the lack of recreational activities offered. Most of the Student government was currupt but better during the times i served as intirim student government president (3 months in 2008, 4 months in 2009). The friendships were awesome and the dorm life was fine. John Guyer, Maintenance Instructor, was awesome and well loved by many students and many of the other trade instructors were nice. The dorm staff were fair and the counseling and educational staff were tolerable. Overall a 7 out of 10 experience (70%-C-). It was a good experience, but it could have offerered allot more.

Timber Lake Job Corps
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Thankyou John Guyer for your dedication to all your students as well as to other trades. Im sure when u retired after 14-17 years you were really missed. God bless you and i hope you enjoy your retirement.


Timber Lake Job Corps
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
It depended on the instructors and the way they taught. Some did while others did not. Could be different these years then back then.

Timber Lake Job Corps
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Back them most staff did. The student government should have been trained better than it was.

Timber Lake Job Corps 4

Posted December 08, 2015
- a student
ACHIEVED MORE THAN I THOUGHT I COULD & WAS WELL OFF AFTERWORDS... GOOD PLACE TO NOT GET DISTRACTED BY THE REAL WORLD.


Timber Lake Job Corps 2

Posted July 10, 2015
- a student
So far iv bean lied to about activitys that were supposed to be there and the tread I was supposed to be in was suppose to be open wasn't it was full the schedules are always being changed. And a lot of the times we never know about it then we get in truble for not showing up when we werent told to be there.some staff r sweet and are understanding and easy to talk to and you know they'd listen and not throw you to the side were others are roud mean treat use like criminals and we can't speak are mined around them ever. The clouthing is hot and heavy hard to move in. They have so meny unnecessary rules it's ridiculous. And you get into trouble if someone ells acts out. And we don't have time for anything in the morning its up by 6am clothes on make bed eat back to room by 6:30. Clean get redy to leave by 7:20..ect..the food I was told was good but when I got in and just the look at it made me feel sick. Dry over cooked or sogy and just grose.It was old they'd keep serving the same stuff till it was gone or smelly.some times longer...the worst part is that there are people in some tades that have bean in there for over a year and sill can't seem to do anything which worys me for a number of reasons...the forestry around use is beautiful it's somthing I like a lot about and we have a lake we can walk around after trade. I hate that it's swormed by mosquitos that eat you up and every once in a wile we have a fun activeity in the gym. But that's about it for fun.and when it come to lerning your pretty much on your own.

Timber Lake Job Corps 2

Posted November 27, 2012
- a student
timber lake job corp is getting progressivley worse with every two weeks 3-10 new rules come into place and the drama every other day someone hates you that you were friends with before the foods terrible and and proportions are greatly eneven the dorms are falling apart the staff dont care about you they write you up with center write ups whenever possable and the instructors are almost never present in the trades. and the food is rotting or wilted before we even get to the mess hall.

Timber Lake Job Corps 2

Posted November 13, 2012
- a student
The food is bad, and isnt proportioned right. You live off top ramen. i lost 35 pounds from being underfed and going to school and trade hungry every day. The staff is very childish and unprofessional. This place is treated like a boot camp. Expect lots of drama, and dont trust anyone. you will regret it. Not much free time, and you get 2 phones for a dorm full of people and you can never get a turn, (no cell phone service.) there is staff with over 100 written student complaints, and still has yet to be let go of. you wont sleep much, and will encounter some bullying. Staff has gotten physical with students. very strict PDA rules and relationships between students are discouraged and looked down on. staff does not care about your personal issues. no privacy. people here leave and never return all the time (Like myself) most kids get kicked out, for breaking too many of the 5 billion rules they have here. there is a rule for everything. This place can make you or break you. Just educate yourself on the reality of this place before signing the papers and going.


Timber Lake Job Corps 1

Posted January 06, 2012
- a student
the vocational staff are great but the educational and residential staff for the most part are incompotant,rude and in some cases even towards each other

Timber Lake Job Corps 4

Posted November 15, 2009
- a parent
Our son has been at Timber Lake for about 8 months now and seems to be doing quite well. We have hopes for progression. 'Job Corps' is a great 'Pet Project' of the U.S. government since the Roosevelt administration and can really give a young person a good leg up on life, (especially in these times). I think we are all thankful for the oppurtunities this program can provide which wouldn't have been there otherwise. I think this will be a very good confidence builder for our son.

Nearby schools

Timber Lake Job Corps
59868 E Highway 224, Estacada, OR  97023
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (503) 834-2291
Last modified Timber Lake Job Corps is a Private school that serves grades 10-12
Top