Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Eugene Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

Our school is best known for a a place where faith and learning come together.
 
 

 

Living in Eugene

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2013

ECS is not just our children's school, it is our family. And within this family are teachers who are so invested in my children that they take the time to get to fully know them. They know my children's struggles, the things they excel at, the things that make them nervous and so on. A huge reason they can take that time is because of the small class sizes. Right now my daughter's class has 13 students and my son's has 12. When I see the homework coming home with my kids and compare it to their friends' school work I have found that ECS is excelling academically. I am confident that when my kids graduate from ECS they will head to high school fully prepared both in their academics and a strong foundation of who they are, what they believe and their relationship with Christ. I feel so blessed to have them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I am amazed at the quality education provided by Eugene Christian School. I love all the teachers, and the small class sizes provide a good environment for learning. All the students can participate in enrichment classes such as music, computers, and P.E., plus there are the extras like the library, art & ballet, drama, Spanish and creative electives for the middle school. I love that everything is taught with a Christian worldview. What an amaziing school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 7, 2013

I love our school! My two boys transferred from our neighborhood school to ECS while in the third and fourth grade. We were looking for a more challenging learning environment. Before we switched to ECS they came home saying they were bored.. They don't say that anymore! They love the challenges and opportunities presented on a daily basis. As a parent I appreciate how their teachers and staff encourage them to be the best students they can be. All the research projects they do for history and science have given them a wide breadth of knowledge.. Best of all, my oldest child has chosen to continue into the ECS Middle School. I know he will be well prepared for the challenges of High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Our children LOVE this school, and so do we as parents. Our older kids went through public school and there is just no comparison to the atmosphere at ECS. Our middle-school aged daughter thought she was not allowed to talk about God in her public school, despite us telling her otherwise. She transferred into ECS in the middle of 7th grade and was welcomed by her classmates (9 of them in the whole class!) with open arms. We have had our younger children there since preschool and have been very happy with both the curriculum as well as the staff and community. After getting involved as a parent volunteer, I have had a chance to see many different angles of the school and how it is being run. Getting involved has been the key for me, as I have seen firsthand the hearts of the teachers and staff. I know my children are loved, challenged academically, and supported spiritually in their walk with the Lord. The diversity of subjects available helps them grow and they are thriving. The smaller class sizes (both kids currently at the school have classes of 12 or less) make huge difference compared to our older kids' experience in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

Enrolled in ECS on the encouraging of some families we knew.After only 2 weeks I started suspecting some problems in my sons class.Had issues with bullying and one instance where my child came home with a bloody fat lip. After that, things went quickly downhill.First grade teacher had poor to non existent communication skills, principal is new this year and seems hesitant to show leadership.Our son had great grades and has never had an issue with any teachers in ANY other setting, but this teacher continually took away his recess and would vanquish him to a corner of the room,not before shaming him in front of the entire class. When I inquired about his behavior and what he was doing she would not give me any specifics. I happened upon two of the times she was punishing him and saw it first hand. My son had tried to tell me how his teacher hated him and was constantly angry. I wish I would've listened sooner! The teacher behaved in a reprehensible manner and the principal did nothing to encourage communication or resolve things. We had three meetings, all of which I asked for, and nothing worked.After enrolling in another local private school realized ECS is delayed in curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

We have really enjoyed Eugene Christian School. The teachers truly care about every student and the small class sizes allow every child to receive plenty of attention and support. They have responded well to parent needs and provide tutoring. The families who have children here are so wonderful, it has a great community-feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

This is a great school. It is academically challenging but tutoring is offered during school hours at no charge for those who need help. I have seen teachers on their knees in front of the class praying. The bible classes, sexual purity class, conflict resolution classes are amazing and something I've never seen in school before. My kids are grounded in their faith and more than ready for honors classes in high school. The teachers work together with the parent and are available to the parents at any time. My kids have played basketball and track and volleyball is also available. I love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

This school is so amazing. I have enjoyed being here. I have been at ECS for 9 years. The small classes allow studets to benefit even more. I am sad that I have to leave. I would reccomend this school to anyone. D.K. class of 2008
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2006

I love this school so much, and it made me sad to leave. All the teachers are so great! You can have a relationship with your teachers that you can't have anywhere else. It is an amazing academic school, & it's family oriented. Though it lacks after school programs, the community has enough activities to keep kids occupied. I have so many friends from there, & will be greatful for my parents decision to send me there for the rest of my life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 11, 2005

After being at ECS now for 8 years, it is so gratifying to see the fruits of our childrens' efforts take hold and truly blossom! ECS has provided an excellent foundation in all the basics for our children. We feel confident that they are going to be well prepared for high school and beyond. They have learned biblical truths and principals beyond what we could have taught them. We can see now how this is going to benefit them in all aspects of life as they continue to grow and mature. We can't say enough good things about the caliber of teachers at ECS. There's not enough space here to even begin to elaborate! The best thing to do is to contact the school and arrange for a classroom visit during the week. It's worth your time to see this 50-year-old gem in person!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Absolutely the finest Christian school in this area, bar none. Top-notch academics, and a wonderful, caring faculty. Tuition rates are comparable with others in the area, but the value received is way above!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 21%
Two or more races 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Leo Limoges
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (541) 686-3190

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We have MOVED! We are now conveniently located in North Eugene on Chad Drive near Coburg Road. Check out our website at EugeneChristianSchool.com and stop by today for a tour.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
50
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
130
Students typically come from these schools
Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Listed on Fin. Aid application

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marist High School
Public high schools
Lifegate Christian High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2895 Chad Drive
Eugene, OR 97405
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 686-9145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT