Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mccornack Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
I am so grateful for the wonderful team of teachers here. They make me feel supported and welcomed, just as they do with the children. Every time I walk into this school, I feel grateful.

Mccornack Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers participate in honest discussions, constant professional development, and develop their own learning communities to help them better support their students.


Mccornack Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
The homework I have seen in the Eugene area is seer up differently than in other districts I have seen. I don't really know if it is successful or not.

Mccornack Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
McCornack is a model for "growth mindset." Teachers show that challenges are welcome and failures are expected. Students are given the strategies to succeed, and the accommodations to get them to success.

Mccornack Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers demonstrate respect and expect it of their students. This can be shown in the curriculum being augmented to respect all cultures and experiences, or the teachers greeting students when they come in from breakfast.


Mccornack Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
Through morning meetings, or considerate read alouds, I have seen these concepts discussed in classrooms of several ages.

Mccornack Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
Students are encouraged to share their feelings in an honest, but effective manner. The staff, parents, and community understand where their students are coming from, and if students can't meet them half way, then teachers will meet them 90 percent of the way.

Mccornack Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a teacher
This school and the staff really value growth. They come together as a community to understand students needs and support their young learners. It's a caring community.


Mccornack Elementary School 3

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
The constancy in how they treat and discipline children is lacking. One child can get in trouble for one thing yet another child that committed to same offense will receive nothing. The counselor and head receptionist are extremely condescending when you try to ask questions and the principle is never around. The curriculum is the only thing going for them, even though I believe they hold the more talented students back with the same work as the average students. As a mother of two children, who are completely different, i can see that the school prefers the children who are more drone like, and don't challenge the ways of the school.

Mccornack Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
I have three grandchildren that attend at McCornack Elementary School. They take an interest in all three children. So, I know if they do that, they must do it to all the students. Always helpful when we have to discuss how to rectify any problems. They praise the kids when it's due. The have 'aha' program and give out their 'aha' notes when students are noticed for good deeds, or being well behaved. Very helpful school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccornack Elementary School
1968 Brittany Dr, Eugene, OR  97405
(541) 790-5800
Last modified Mccornack Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccornack Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top