Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sheldon High School 1

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
Unfortunately, this school focuses way more on athletics than academics and there are way too many children who slip through the cracks. My son and daughter have both attended this school and neither enjoyed it. It is a very wealthy, snobby school focused on athletics, who you know and who has money. Too many students at this school to have any one on one time when needed. I have moved my daughter to a different, much better high school.

Sheldon High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
My daughters Spanish teacher was wonderful. He helped when she needed it with schoolwork, would be available before or after school and always tried to help if there were any issues


Sheldon High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers were great and helpful, some not so much. A couple teachers never replied to my emails or phone calls concerning my daughter but there was one in particularly who was very involved and determined to help fix what was going on.

Sheldon High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
If your parents are donors, you get treated differently, too many kids to take care of issues such as bullying, one on one help with schoolwork, etc

Sheldon High School 1

Posted July 21, 2016
- a community member
Do not send your children here. If they are an athlete and you are not connected your child will not play. If you are looking for an education they are rated at 14% of the graduating class is considered college ready. Teachers are apathetic, lethargic and pitiful. Led by an administration that will not even take the time to meet with you.


Sheldon High School 1

Posted February 18, 2015
- a student
I went to sheldon for my freshman year and the first trimester of my sophomore year. I only went for that last trimester because I HAD too.I am in my sophomore this year and I have transferred to North Eugene High School and it was honestly the best choice I've ever made. The teachers are nice, unlike the ones at sheldon who seem to not even care if you need help and just gloss over you if you don't play sports, and the student body is all around nicer than the students at sheldon. Drug problems are less than at Sheldon with kids here being properly educated and the classes are fun so students hardly skip as often. While at Sheldon you are expected to somehow make time out of a already busy schedule to see teachers for help, North offers OAT time which means that when we get out at 2:45 you can visit with teachers until 3:30 almost everyday. Sheldon is the worst school I have ever been too and it is not organized, mean, and not a positive environment to be in.

Sheldon High School 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Worst high school ever!! Do not send your kids to this school!! I have nothing good to say!! The other poor reviews say it all!! Believe them, they are all true!! Poorly ran campus!!!

Sheldon High School 1

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
worst school my child has ever attended. whatever you do don't send your child to this school you will regret it


Sheldon High School 1

Posted November 30, 2013
- a parent
I am at a loss as to how this school could be a 9 out of 10. My daughter attended Sheldon and I found the disinterest of the faculty and staff appalling. Class sizes far exceeded the ability of even the best teachers to handle, drug use was rampant, and kids wandered onto and off of campus at will. Fortunately, my daughter was able to avoid the negative influences. Unfortunately, getting the classes she needed was impossible. There were several terms where she could only get into three classes - hardly a full load. I started sending her to Lane Community College so she would be at least slightly challenged. As far as I am concerned, this school is a joke.

Sheldon High School 2

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
My oldest graduated from Sheldon two years ago, and my youngest was there until last year when I transferred him elsewhere. If your child is in one of the "special" programs like International High School or Honors, they may get a decent education. If you are in the "comprehensive" program, your student won't get an education. I don't know where this website gets the average student to teacher ratio, but my neither of my sons had fewer than 35 students in any class. Just too large for even the most competent teacher to handle. While there are some excellent teachers at this school, they are concentrated in the IHS and Honors programs. The rest of the students get teachers who just don't care. While anyone can send their kids through the IHS route, the model of learning is not suited to the way many kids learn; my oldest son made excellent grades but hated it, so I tried to transfer him to the Honors program (he was a straight A student in middle school). I was told he did not qualify, even though his middle school teachers recommended him for the program. He graduated from the comprehensive program with a 3.9 but was not at all ready for college. This school totally failed us.

Nearby schools

Sheldon High School
2455 Willakenzie Rd, Eugene, OR  97401
(541) 790-6600
Last modified Sheldon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top