Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Multisensory Learning Academy

Charter | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

There are many things I appreciate about MLA, but at the top of my list is the willingness of the teachers to work with each child as an individual. Children learn in different ways and at different speeds, and this school takes the time to find out what works for YOUR child... not how the statistics say they should perform. If we won the $5k, it could go toward a greatly-needed multipurpose room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I am so grateful for MLA. From the teachers to the principal to the office staff, each and every person is dedicated to the students. I cannot say enough positive things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

my students grades have improved tremendously since he started here in september 2010. he is now excited to go to class, and loves to participate. I would/ and have recomend this school to all our friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

My grand daughter's class is small. Her teacher, Mrs. Cope, really cares about each child. The children's security is excellent. I'm pleased that she'll be there for the rest of her elementary schooling.


Posted April 13, 2010

Caring, innovative, hard working teachers, staff, and volunteers comprise MLA. This school is not just a school but a community for students, parents, and staff. WE all contribute along with our community to prepare the next generation to be innovative, stellar, and community thinkers. The education the students receive at MLA is comprehensive and still includes various 'specials' such as music, library, spanish, art, and drama.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Best education my daughter has had so far!! Accomidates several different learning styles, and meets the very unique needs of every student. Hard working teachers who care about kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I am so thankful for the team that makes up such a fantastic school...MLA. It is truly a wonderful community to be a part of. My kids LOVE their school and let everyone know it. I recommend this school to everyone and feel so blessed that my kids were able to get in when they did. It's a community that really cares about our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

It's a great community that strives for academic excellence while giving kids the freedom to learn at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

We miss MLA!!! We moved away from the Gresham area to Eugene and are in a 'good' school district but my children (4th grade and Kindergarten) and I miss MLA so much (I keep getting e-mails just to keep up on the school news) We were referred by friends who had a great experience there and we did too. The office staff are so wonderful. They knew each and every child by name and even knew my toddlers name. The class size was wonderful and the teachers were invested in the school and each individual child. I just can't say enough good things about the school. It is truly a wonderful little community (Sigh... maybe they will start an MLA in Eugene)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

It is a family atmosphere and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I started as a parent volunteer at this school when it first opened . Though I struggled with the decision initially, I was grateful for the small school atmosphere and the caring teachers,staff, and parents. I never regretted the decision to move my son to MLA and he was well-prepared for middle school when he left. He left in 2004. I'm still here! I am privileged to work everyday with the students on Outdoor Social Skills (also known as Recess) otherwise you can find me in the office. I whole-heartedly recommend MLA to incoming students and parents.


Posted December 10, 2008

My kids have been at MLA going on four years. We have seen many changes. Some of the reasons we chose MLA are no longer in force. However, after looking at the alternatives I still think MLA is the best fit for my kids. The teachers and staff know the kids by their first names, they still have the small class sizes, and as a parent, I am able to volunteer in the classroom and in other areas of the school as much as I want. I am able to know the teachers my kids have and the environment they are in first hand. Also, the PTO is not changing the celebration of holidays. That was suggested at a PTO meeting by a parent. As a charter school, we are able to celebrate national holidays, but participation is voluntary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

My child has gone here for going on the 5th year. We have seen so many changes. Some good and bad. The principal definetly has changed the school to be more 'main stream' public like. I have always loved the fact that they celebrate holidays but this year things have changed with new PTO members. The school is moving soon so I am hoping for a good change. Most of the teachers are great. I know there is no such thing as a perfect school but MLA does try hard and being an involved parent is key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

I love it here.......we acutally moved away and came back because we love it here! We have a 3rd grader..in there now and her sister will join her next year as well as a friend of ours! We have tried home schooling, public school and private---this charter school combines all those benefits and yet relieves most of those other stresses! It's a very warm and accepting school with tons of added creativity!! It's the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

I agree that the enviroment has become more like a 'regular' public school with the new changes. Some are good, some not so much. My two children have thrived in this school and we have never had a problem. I like that they do have homework now, but I wish they kept the intergraded reading and math groups. Those groups helped support each individual student in whatever level their ability may be. Overall, it's a great school. Teachers, parents, and staff are all very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

The school has new leadership and is very different from the past. It really is very much like your local public school. They made academic changes and never let parents know in advance so they could evaulate the effect for their child. What it says on their web site is not even true. They do have homework everyday, they don't do intergraded teaching. The new changes make this school no longer unique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

Smaller class sizes make this school a terrific place for children to learn and feel safe, with every teacher knowing just about every child at the school. The attention each child receives is instrumental in making this school superior to a standard public school. Because of the nature of the school being one where a parent has made the conscious choice to take their child to that school, there is much more parental involvement, which also lends itself to the safe atmosphere. The children experience music and art as well as receive physical education. Field trips are also planned throughout the year to reinforce subjects being taught, and parents are encouraged to attend these as volunteer helpers, which is a lot of fun! It is a wonderful school, and I cannot say enough great things about the teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

I have two children enrolled in this school and I couldn't have asked for a better environment for either of them. We tried another public school in the district and one of the children was 'lost in the shuffle' of other childrens' needs and not made to work up to capacity. Now they are held accountable and made to work in class and the work they are doing is much better than before. Great teachers, great volunteers, wonderful involvement of everyone. I know when they move onto middle school they will be more than ready for the demands of 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Excellent School! This school offers a small community school atmosphere in a big city environment. The principal is dedicated, kind and respectful, inspiring children to choose the right. The teachers are exceptional, incorporating all a child's senses during the learning process. They cater to children as individuals, rather than treating one age group as all the same. The results are phenomenal!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female54%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female26%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female56%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female36%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students59%
Female60%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female64%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female73%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 65%
Hispanic 13% 21%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A48%
Male 53%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22565 NE Halsey St
Fairview, OR 97024
Phone: (503) 405-7868

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Arata Creek School
Troutdale, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT