Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Gladstone, OR
Students enrolled: 133
 

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grace Christian School 4

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
I have completely opposite feeling towards Grace Christian School than the feelings of the person who gave the the school an "F" grade. I have had nothing but an excellent experience with the school. Yes, there is room for minor improvements, but the school was just painted two years ago, is maintained regularly, and is making all efforts to become a great school. My children have nothing but great things to say about the school and the fact that the number of enrollment is still increasing each year is indicative that something is being done right. When someone has as strong of feelings as the person who gave the school an "F" it is usually indicative of someone who has left upset and hurt. That is unfortunate, however I would give the school a thumbs up and a B+ grade. Great school!

Grace Christian School 1

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
While there is no perfect school Grace Christian fails on every level. The school is outdated and in need of major repairs for example new paint, new carpet. I am concerned there maybe lead within the building since it has been around for 40 years. If you have a disability such as a broken leg or have a wheelchair there is no elevator or other means to get up the stairs. They allow favoritism within the school with certain families. There is little accountability for the entire school. They do not hire externally, most of the staff are family members. The amount of homework given to students is execrating where it interrupts family time and homework is given even for students to do over the weekend. The school constantly asks for money to pay for music performances, and donations to the staff for Christmas. They want parents and teachers to fund raise while the administrators sit back and take no part in fundraising for the school. They have a PTF but many parents stop going because the meetings are a joke. its mainly to have parents take on the responsibilities of fundraising and other activities within the school. If grades were given out they would receive an F.
12 people found this helpful


Grace Christian School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a student
I love this school ! Its a fun ,wonderful Christian school . It has lots of wonderful plays and activities. They have the best teachers and staff is very nice and friendly.The students are friendly and welcoming. Please consider coming to Grace Christian School!!!!!!!!!!

Grace Christian School 1

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
In the beginning Grace Christian was an awesome school with a great Pre-K teacher. However, as my child started Kindergarten I noticed increase anxiety about going to school, leaving the class to hide in the bathroom and hallway b/c the teacher would "yell" at the class. On several occasions I would here the teacher being verbally abusive to the students over chapel dress, and academic expectations. My child later told me he wanted to escape by going out the back doors and run away. The back doors are not monitored or locked and children could easily run off without staff knowing there whereabouts. Recently an older student actually ran off and was missing scaring his family, and staff at Grace Christian. The absences went undetected by staff in the morning hours. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN!!
8 people found this helpful

Grace Christian School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Grace for the last 3 years. I love it! My family would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a smaller school. Teachers really care about their students. Of course it is not perfect, but with the low tuition and great teachers it is a great school!


Grace Christian School 1

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
The previous 5 star ratings are obviously from the leadership. No one gets 5 stars unless they are perfect! Let's be honest here Christians-not a 5 star school-it could be but needs so many changes-maybe this year...
6 people found this helpful

Grace Christian School 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
We are really pleased with the education our children are receiving at Grace Christian School; the personal attention they both receive from their teachers is outstanding. Also, the tuition is very affordable compared to other private schools in the area. For us and our children GCC is really a perfect fit!

Grace Christian School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
What a breath of fresh air! Government schools are falling under the heavy hand of "common core" standards, effectively dumbing down the curriculum.. again. Comparing the curriculum, high student expectations, and loving environment offered at Grace to the government school alternative is like day and night. Grace exceeds the government schools in every meaningful measure: Academics, student behavior, small class sizes, and personalized help, when needed. For those who value the reinforcement of Christian values- including respect, love, and personal responsibility in all things, Grace Christian is an excellent choice. Teachers are all Christians and excellent role models for the students. I've never heard profane or vulgar language from any parent or teacher... contrary to what is tolerated at many government schools.


Grace Christian School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
My experience with Grace Christian School has only consisted of the last two years. While there is no perfect school / church on this earth, what I have witnessed is a very strong family atmosphere. When I say "Family" I mean Godly Christian family the way it is supposed to be. I see a very strong and supportive environment that children can grow in, parents can feel comfortable in, and staff can be free to use their giftedness. I have seen a freedom to be able to address any issues with leadership in a loving way, and that issues get dealt with promptly. The children all act like they enjoy being a part of Grace Christian School. The staff act like they sincerely enjoy coming to work. I greatly appreciate that Grace could raise their tuition to accommodate economic fluctuation, yet they hold firm as the lowest private school in the state. My children love their experience with Grace as well and I would recommend Grace to anyone and everyone. Thank you Grace Christian School for all you do.

Grace Christian School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
I have two grandchildren attending.. A wonderful experience for them! The 2nd grader tested out at at 5th+ grade level on the mandated tests.. Essential moral values are included in the classroom - what a refreshing opportunity for our next generation to know there is a loving alternative to progressive drivel and soaring social problems that dominate government schools. Both of them love school...and are clearly ahead of peers in government schools when it comes to reading, writing, and math. Very little time wasted to accommodate misfits.. they are not attracted to this kiind of environment where socially acceptable behavior is valued, along with academic effort.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grace Christian School
6460 Glen Echo Avenue, Gladstone, OR  97027
(503) 655-3074
Last modified Grace Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Grace Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top