Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Wetten Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
We have three children in this school and I could not be happier with the staff. My oldest son is special needs and his transformation since starting kindergarten has been one of the staff's favorite success stories. I was so excited about being a part of the great things here that I became a substitute teacher to give back.

John Wetten Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
I have had 4 of my children attend JWE and I have been very satisfied with the level of education they have received. All of the teachers show a sincere interest in how well their students are learning. I do wish they had more activities for the younger children to be involved in and also that children can be judged or have special placement on teams based on their parents status in the community.


John Wetten Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
This is the best school and district that my children have ever been in I thank the wonderful teachers and staff for being so... great. 9

John Wetten Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
My son finished Kindergarten this spring and is moving to first grade in a few days. Our experience was wonderful. He learned at an incredible pace and it was a very happy environment. Ms. Macindoe was an amazing teacher also, she made such a great impression on both of us.

John Wetten Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I'm happy to say that my child goes to this school. He has enjoyed learning and making friend. His teacher and others have done a great job working with all the children.


John Wetten Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2008
- a parent
What a wonderful year my daughter had in third grade. We loved her teacher~she was supportive and communicated with us on a weekly basis through newsletters and emails. She was younger and connects well with the students. All the students loved her as well as the parents! The teachers really make this good school GREAT!

John Wetten Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2007
- a parent
we moved to Gladstone specifically because of the excellent schools and community.

John Wetten Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2006
- a parent
I have high hopes that the new principal will pull everything together in a way her predecessor couldn't. One of my children is very strong in school and the other is less interested. However, my children have both enjoyed JWE and I am glad they have gotten such a good opportunity to learn and grow.


John Wetten Elementary School 4

Posted July 31, 2006
- a parent
JWE has been a wonderful experience for our two children. The kindergarten program started them off on a firm footing while keeping their attention in a positive way. As our older son has progressed, I am impressed with the way the teachers involve their parent volunteers to individually help and assess students. Community involvement is incredible, activities such as PE night are fun for kids and allow them to share what they have learned. Our family and the majority of our neighbors have moved into Gladstone expressly for the school district and are very happy we did.

John Wetten Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2006
- a parent
This is my daughter's first and last year at this school, she is in 2nd grade. Coming from an Awesome school in California, this has to be the worst school I have ever been involved with. I feel, like she is repeating first grade. Her teacher is great. I still haven't met or seen the Principal. Homework is awful, no writing assignments, have to buy school supplies, school building is old, to many students in classrooms, playground is awful, My daughter tried to walk home & the school did'nt know about it Big Safety Issue!, The lunch room is fine, They have way more no school days. Why doesn't this State get sales tax, to fund their schools. I can't wait to get back to California and a great public school. If I'm stuck here, I will homeschool.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Wetten Elementary School
250 East Exeter, Gladstone, OR  97027
(503) 656-6564
Last modified John Wetten Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Wetten Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top