Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walter L Kraxberger Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 545 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2012

I go to school here and am disappointed at the teacher help. Parent/teacher communication is HORRIBLE. The extracurricular are a joke based on what i have seen at other schools.


Posted April 28, 2010

I have had 3 children that have gone or go to WLK and I have 2 more that will attend also. I am glad to say that things are slowly improving at the school, I strongly believe this is due to Mrs. Cecario leaving as a principal. However parent/teacher communication is horrible once your child reaches the 7th grade which is sad to say as 7th and 8th graders tend to stray from their academics towards being socially accepted and need the extra reminders and support from parents and teachers. The teachers seem to feel that parent assist is communication enough and that is not good as some parents have no access or skills to use a computer. Also controlling students that are mean and bullying, they used to be very strict on dicipline and now they seem to only dicipline students that are not part of the 'IN' group
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2009

I'm a student at Kraxberger. 8th grade. I love this school, I really do, but some teachers and staff are either not good at teaching [or do it poorly], they don't help or work with students, and some, should flat out not be working at the school. I find that the students are extremely nice. There isn't a major boarder-line on cliches. If you are new, you should find friends quickly. Just smile, and be yourself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2009

Here are some great opinions that i got from the school, 1.Going green 2.Great lunches 3.Great teachers 4.Great substitutes 5.Great safety I hope these opinions got your attention!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

I think this school is great because it safe!The teachers and staff are super nice, but the food is okay. I love my teachers because they rock!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

I'm a student at this school. I think this school is awesome because of the teachers being so nice and willing to help students out if they ask for help.The teachers try their hardest to educate their students. I would give this school at 10 out of 10 because of the teachers being so nice. I love Leadership.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

I, too, have found the staff very unresponsive. I feel like I get the runaround every time I want to talk to someone. I'm sure they are overwhelmed like most public schools, and that is why we are looking for alternatives. My oldest son just graduated 8th grade last year, and complained of being constantly harrassed by other students while the staff did nothing to stop it. That is not a productive learning environment for anyone. I realize that this is a common scenario, but there is simply no purpose for kids to waste their time while the other students to 'catch up'. Now my younger son is there and he was placed into a lower level math course because that's what all the 7th graders are taking, despite the recommendations of his 6th grade teacher. Of course, upon inquiry, we have heard nothing back from them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

I am a parent and a teacher. I think the principal is very accessable and clear with the students. The staff seems knowledgable and will return emails and calls. Remember that your child isn't the only one in the school and every parent wants immediate attention for their child. Be patient and treat others like you'd like to be treated. Everyone will work with you if you show mutual respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

My Child is in the second year at this school, I also have a Child that has just started this year. The staff is hard to get ahold of by phone, I have found that email is the best way to get ahold of anyone there. We have come from a district where all the staff were easliy accesable by both students and family. I do believe that they need more counslers for the students and family to get ahold of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

i go to this school, and its awsome!!! the choir is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

Parent participation is good. Most of the teachers are really great. I have had 3 kids going though here consistantly for the past 6 years, 2 years to go... and have seen this school go down in quality and care from the staff. Especially so, in the last 2 years. Seems staff are not as friendly and welcoming as they used to be (where did the friendly ones go and can we get them back?) I think it comes directly from their leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

The halls are crowded, the electives available are a joke, and discipline is inconsistent. Two good things to mention: parent participation is very high and the majority of teachers really do care about the kids. -Kristi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I will give this school a 10 out of 10 because it is a great school and well the food isn't the best but the teachers are great and they make us feel at home. I am a student proud to say that I'm a student at W L Kraxberger Middle School. I know it might not be the richest school but they are trying their best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

this school is not as good as the other schools in Gladstone school district...maybe it's the age of the kids and the fact that there are so many of them, but the teachers seem to be a bit overwhelmed...and over react in the discipline department.....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female70%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female74%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracial70%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female62%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female55%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracial61%
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female72%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female67%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial78%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 65%
Hispanic 15% 21%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17777 Webster Rd
Gladstone, OR 97027
Phone: (503) 655-3636

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Life Christian School
Clackamas, OR


Alliance Charter Academy
Oregon City, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT