Advertisement
Advertisement

Brighton Academy

Private | PK-12 | 162 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Grants Pass

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $140,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2013

My son is graduating from Brighton this June. He has attended this school since middle school and his growth has been tremendous. He has received a well rounded education and earned over 40 college credits to boot! He has developed a great work ethic and I thank the Brighton teachers for their unwavering support. I would not hesitate to recommend Brighton Academy to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

This is the greatest school in the world. Dont believe disgruntled parents, they can't even spell flies or write.I rate this school 5 stars, there are great teachers, an a amazing principal and a great college program. Its funny I'm 12yrs of age and I can spell because of this amazing school.


Posted December 31, 2012

I am a solid supporter of Brighton. My daughter has been enrolled for the last nine years. The academics are solid and the teachers take extra care so every student learns. There are so many great programs at this school that my daughter enjoys; like theatre, college classes, martial arts, growers market and the interact club. We truly think of Brighton as our extended family and I am grateful for all of the work the staff does. God bless this little campus of ours!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

What a great school! This is my sons second year at Brighton and we couldn't be happier. We love the small class sizes and the genuine concern the teachers have for each student. Truely an awesome school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 22, 2011

We have a wonderful experience at Brighton. The teacher and parents are like a family. Everyone works together. My children are in 6th and 10th grade. They are very happy and well-rounded students and I definately give credit to Brighton Academy for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

This school once had a great idea at it's core.... but now it is more like loard of the flys... keep your children safe from the people that run this school.... STAY AWAY!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

It makes me sad to have to wright this but other should know this school has lost it's core... No one should have there children there. ONLY ONE GOOD TEACHER.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

This is our 3rd year here at Brighton and what a blessing we have found in this school. My three kids have been encouraged, enriched and challenged by each of their teachers. Their teachers have met them at their individual levels and needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

We have been here 5 years and we wouldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

It is a wonderful learning environment that helps children to become good leaders.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

Brighton Academy is an amazing school. Both my children have attended since pre-k. The hands on application mixed with the excellent academics is unbeatable. The theatre & marshal arts programs are terrific and the college courses offered are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Brighton Academy is the most awesome school! As a parent I appreciate so many things that Brighton has to offer our family. Above all, I appreciate the spirit in which the campus is run. It's a safe, caring and ever evolving environment dedicated to the well being of the child's mind, body and soul - each considered and nourished equally. I appreciate..... our spirit lead leader, Faye Dawson, for her tireless efforts to build a place where each child thrives and blooms to their fullest, inborn potential.... all the wonderful teachers for bringing this spirit of life and love to their classrooms, and last but not least, the friendly environment where parents feel welcomed and are encouraged to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love brighton academy because my nieces love going to school there, and they are the smartest girls i know!


Posted October 11, 2007

Brighton Academy has done a fabulous job with both my children. The mix of high end academic classes with the hands on activities is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 73%
Black 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 18%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Faye Dawson
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (541) 474-6866

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Volunteer to teacher ratio is 6:1
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1121 NE 7th Street
Grants Pass, OR 97526
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 474-6865

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Anne Catholic School
Grants Pass, OR


North Middle School
Grants Pass, OR




Grants Pass High School
Grants Pass, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT