Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
162 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brighton Academy 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Brighton Academy is very adept at tailoring the educational experience to each and every student's needs. They are exceptional at being able to foster education beyond that of high school to include classes at the local community college, Rogue Community College. They even incorporate a weekly leadership class that is done in conjunction with the local Rotary Club, they call it Interact. This leadership class receives an actual grade, helps the students develop leadership skills through service and is more effective than most other Interact clubs ten times their size.

Brighton Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Faye Dawson is the Principal and is always activity looking to make the school better, stronger and more impactful to the students.


Brighton Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Most all of the teachers are there because they love their job, love the students and nearly all of the teachers have a master's degree in the area they teach.

Brighton Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
The work given is appropriate for the topic. A lot of the education is hands-on learning which helps to make it more relevant.

Brighton Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to participate in extracurricular activities including Drama, Leadership,Theatre, and attending classes from the local community college. A few of the students have even graduated from high school with their Associated Arts degree the same week.


Brighton Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Students are actively sought out to help the younger classmates through tutoring or as a Teacher's Assistant for nearly all classes. That relationship helps develop respect for all students.

Brighton Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff are ultra sensitive to the needs of the students and have a paramount importance the student's development educationally and as an individual.

Brighton Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
The school treats every student with respect and kindness. They encourages responsibility through engagement and accountability.


Brighton Academy 5

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
My kids love going to school. Whenever we have a long break, after a week they are asking when school starts again. The teachers work with the students at the level they are rather than just catering to the midline. There is definitely a family atmosphere on campus with everyone knowing who everyone is. My kids can't get away with anything because all the teachers know they can come to me with any problems they are having with my boys. I love the feedback. Almost all the children are so polite and caring of each other. Sure, there is some teasing, but it is generally of the goofy camaraderie kind. I really admire Mrs Brown, their current second and third teacher. She has several special needs kids in her class and has created a safe place for them while not neglecting the others in the class. My son has excelled in her class. He blows me away when he reads aloud to me. And the fact that she can get him to sit quietly (mostly) in class is almost a miracle! I'm glad I have a safe relaxed place where I can send my kids to school.

Brighton Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
Whenever a child hurts themself (ie tripping on the playground or such) many other children come around to cheer the hurt one up, get things for him or her, make get well cards, ask how the hurt or sick one is doing. It's nice to see and know that they care.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brighton Academy
1121 Northeast 7th Street, Grants Pass, OR  97526
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. (541) 474-6865
Last modified Brighton Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top