Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allen Dale Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

Allen Dale is a wonderful school. My children attend the and the teachers are great, they make learning fun and exciting. I just started working there this school year and I really enjoy it. The staff is great and helpful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2012

Allen Dale is an excellent school! The staff is amazing. Everyone works together for the greater good of all students. My child is somewhat quirky, and the staff and teachers go the extra mile to ensure him a quality education and a safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Office manager needs an attitude adjustment but otherwise it's a great overall school. Teachers are dedicated to making class time a positive and enjoyable experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

The parents work hard to donate their time and money to provide and keep the best educational activities available. This allows great opportunities for the teachers to provide quality education for all the children. Teachers, parents and children working together for a terrific education...priceless!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 16, 2011

I think the teachers are great. I don't like the principal and the lunches. I think the principal is arrogant and rude. He is way to strict on being tardy. Things happen and the parents are the ones who are responsible for kids at this age and to give a child detention for being tardy three times is insane!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

The teachers are awesome and super caring.. Will to work with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

Excellent interaction and inclusion of family into schooling. Great Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

Allen Dale teachers & Principal are amazing, open, and more then wonderful.....the front office staff however is something left to be desired. I enrolled my child toward the end of the school year...the ladies in the office wanted to know all about who, what, why, when.....the next time I was in the office...their esoteric, rude, and over the top sharpness has left me cold and never wanting to deal with them. Thank God...The teachers and principals are the real reason my children go to the school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

I wouldn't have my son go to elementary school anywhere else. The teachers, principal and staff are all wonderful. They take time to communicate with you and really seem to care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

Teachers and principal are great. The front office staff seems to be a bit snooty or short. They seem to have there own little esoteric behind the sceans thing going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

I am a divorced parent, that has a child with special needs. She has been in Allen dale since first grade and still attends and she is now in the 5th. The special education program there in my opinion has fallen short and not met my daughters needs, I feelthat she has just been a number in so many ways and has fallen through the cracks. She is still coming to visit me crying over the teasing that has been going on for years...even with much interaction I feel she is still pushed aside and her needs just haven't been met....i would not recoment this school if your child has special needs. Other than that the schools seems ok
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

My son is in 2nd grade and has had the best experience so far. He has always done well with math and the teachers have recognized that and been willing to put him forward so that he doesn't just wait for the class to catch up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Overall, I love Allen Dale. I think it is a wonderful school with wonderful teachers. However, the school doesn't do very well when dealing with the single, working parent. The PTA type meetings are held at 2:30 in the afternoon which makes it incredibly difficult for a single, working parent to attend and be involved. The school was much better with the old principal, but I'm sure, with time, the new principal will improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

Allen Dale is a fantastic school! We have had children there since 1998, and have always been impressed with the staff and how they relate to the students. They are a very caring group of people and the kids know they are loved. There is a great parent and staff group that is currently providing a free after school drama club. The kids are loving it. Come check it out. We love our school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

My child has been in Allendale for several years and I am gravely disappointed with the majority of the staff. The classroom teachers we have spent time with do not know how to handle children. I have also found that this school cannot keep track of our children! My husband and I have been contacted on several occasions stating our children were absent when they were in class. The secretaries are very rude and irresponsible. Our children are being transferred into private schools. Think twice before enrolling your children in Allendale!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2006

I am a new parent to Allen Dale and in the past 3 months I have been very impressed with the staff, facility, resources and parent involvement. I feel great leaving my child in their care and enjoy volunteering during the week also. I have to admit that public school scared me, but we're all enjoying it and the teachers very much. Allen Dale recieves top marks in academics and also through enrichment programs and workshops. Get a visitor's pass and see for yourself, it's the way school was meant to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female76%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female80%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female71%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female83%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female61%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female67%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female76%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 65%
Hispanic 8% 21%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2320 Williams Hwy
Grants Pass, OR 97527
Phone: (541) 474-5760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Brighton Academy
Grants Pass, OR


St Anne Catholic School
Grants Pass, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT