Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manzanita Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2014

your web site is not user friendly. every year I have problems with the office staff. and every year we have problems with the bus drivers. I also think 15 minutes is not enought itme for breakfast. and lunch rtime they are to rushed to eat their lunch. i also have an issue with bulling how it is NOT addresed. The bucket thing is stupid.. Jus tstupid. there are bulling laws inthis state.. i do not see anything being done at this school about buling according to the lawa na dthings are supposed to do to show awareness about it.. no posters..no cops coming and talking to the kids about the law. and NEVER has anything been sent home about awareness.. or the laws.. there is a pamphlet and information provided by the county i have never seen from this school.


Posted December 14, 2011

We have attended Manzanita since 2008 and I could not be more pleased. We are currently moving, and I have to say that the thing I am most sad about is leaving this phenomenal school. The staff is amazing and truly do love the kids, and the other parents I have had the privilege of getting to know have become lifelong friends. I would recommend Manzanita Elementary to anyone I know!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2010

Posted today Our children enjoy going to school here, and are excelling academically, as well as in other areas. The Principal (who has been here for the last few years) is absolutely AMAZING in every way: dedicated, innovative, caring, friendly, professional, motivating, and a brilliant problem-solver. I've seen her in action at all of the PTA meetings, etc., and have been extremely impressed. The same goes for the faculty I've come to know as well. The parking/pick-up/issue was resolved last year, and the waiting area now has nice benches for seating, with pretty flowers planted there too. The parental involvement is incredible--I can't believe how much gets accomplished via volunteer efforts here. In fact, we have friends in the other district in town and in comparing notes, assignments, etc., they have told me that they are jealous of what is taking place at our school--HONEST! Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

Great school, Wonderful parent involvement, Awesome teachers!! Love Love Manzanita. My kids teachers are awesome. You can tell they really care about the kids. Our PTA raises a ton of money each year and does great things with it. (including paying for our own music teacher)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

I love this school. We got a new principal 3 yrs. ago and she is wonderful very involved with the kids/parents. she has our childrens best interest at heart. she has changed things around for when we pick up our kids to where they are safe.and a new area to stand close to one of the buildings with benches to wait on. ones are no longer able to just walk around the halls and pick up there kids,. Never know if someone is a sex offender praying on our children. love the new arrangement. We are the only elementary school that has a music teacher. thanks to the PTA fund raiser to pay for her.. This was the best move we could of done by putting our son in this school. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

I have been a teacher for over 11 years, and Manzanita is the kind of school I would love to teach in. My children have gone to this school for the last 3 years and love it. We had a talented, dedicated faculty that is continuously striving to do an even better job. Our parent group is unrivaled in participation and enthusiasm. I encourage any parent curious about Manzanita to visit. I did, and what I found led me not to homeschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love Manzanita because they will do anything to make sure that their kids succeed and excel.The have the best teachers around.They do all they can with the little funding they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Last year this school was just fine, I like the teachers, but this year the school got a different principal and she is making the pick-up area miserable for the parents and children. I am a volunteer at school and they know me, but now I can t even wait for my child in the school area. They are making the parents wait more than 100 feet away from school ( worse than for smokers). This principle made a drive-thru picking up for the kids and now the main street San Francisco St is blocked with cars waiting for the children. The parents who wanted to pick up their kids at school haveI wish to drive thru the ditch. I had choice and could take my child to a different public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

This school is going downhill fast. In 2006-2007 the school had a fantastic principal. She left to go to another school in the district and ever since they've had a revolving door on the principal's office. The current principal is more interested in re-doing the parking/pick-up area than she is in the educating of our children. In talking with other parents the general feeling is the district is showing a blind eye to the goings-on in it's schools. If you can avoid this school and this district do so- your kids will thank you for it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female27%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female58%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female53%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation13%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female74%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female74%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 65%
Hispanic 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

310 San Francisco St
Grants Pass, OR 97526
Phone: (541) 479-6433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Brighton Academy
Grants Pass, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT