Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Butler Creek Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

My two daughters are going to these schools since last year, they loved it.great staff, teachers and principal. Recently me and my husband had concerns, and wanted to talk to the principal and the teacher, their response was fast and friendly. Very helpful and good team effort .we would like to say thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Butler Creek is a great school. Both of my sons have loved going to school here. The principal is great, very kind and you see him daily if you are picking up your child from school or dropping them off. I have never been to the school without seeing him. The teachers are great from Kindergarten on up. Communication is frequent and the teachers and principal are always willing to make time to talk to you about anything. Parental participation is awesome which always makes a school a better place. The school has great reward systems put into place for the kids. Their literacy program is wonderful and the kids are always getting free books to bring home. School begins with a back to school barbeque and ends with all the teachers lined up on the roadside sending the kids off with cheering and banging drums! Great school inside and out, I would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

The school is very safe, there are teachers and parents actively looking out for the children during drop off and pick up times. The Principal is often outside greeting children as they arrive. My daughter is enjoying her time here and is doing very well academically and socially, we are very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

If your child is special needs, don't put them in this non-inclusive class room. I have NEVER spoke to anyone so degrading and unprofessional since my child has been diagnosed. She down played my concerns and absolutely refused to answer my questions about her program. I will be filing a complaint with the school district. On the other hand, my other child attend this school and is not special needs but needed some extra help. The rest of the staff has been amazing and he has excelled beyond belief. It is sad how one sour grape can destroy the whole bunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers are great and the staff in general is with it. The kids have a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

My son started Kindergarten this last Fall. He's truly grown in his academics and social aspects of being around other kids. The principle is there every morning to greet students entering the building. Adults and teachers are on the school grounds to supervise and guide children upon arrival. I feel good knowing my son is safe there. The PTA is so active, and parents are very involved in the activities at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

My son started when the school first opened and now my daughter is going through as well. I love that all the teachers, staff and the principal are extremely easy to talk to and the pta group is very active! There are alot of activities for the students and the parents to attend throughout the year. It is an extremely safe school and the staff know all the students names! I wish I had a school like this when I was younger!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

My children have been attending Butler Creek since the year after it opened which was the 2004-2005 school year. This school is phenominal! The teachers are attentive, the principal will listen to your concerns and act appropraitely immediately. There is so much to say about this school. The kindergarten teacher my 2nd grader had is again our teacher with my youngest. She has made my children love school! I can't imagine a better school for children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

This school is absolutely amazing for both children but parents as well. The teachers along with the staff go beyond just teaching children but get involved if the child needs help to succeed. My sons both go there, and love it. It is one of the best schools that I know of.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female49%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners35%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female58%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female61%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander38%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners32%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female71%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners32%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female63%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners43%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female44%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander36%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female61%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial43%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female65%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial57%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 65%
Hispanic 19% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2789 SW Butler Rd
Gresham, OR 97080
Phone: (503) 762-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT