Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kelly Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2014

I was surprised to see such a low rating for Kelly Creek Elementary school from Zillow. Both of my kids attended and the teachers and other staff were wonderful. School was clean and modern. When my kids reached middle school they were in the upper 15% in reading/math/English.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

I live in the Kelly Creek School area and am so very impressed with the spirit felt at the school as well as the wonderful activities and interaction with staff, teachers, students and parents as well. I would like very much to see these students doing more in their neighborhood community by sharing their activities and assistance to people in their area. Perhaps once a month the students could be providing ideas for making their neighborhood a better place and enlisting the help of the many retired people in the area of the school to assist and be an integral part of the activity or project. Perhaps planting bulbs at a home of a disabled neighbor who could enjoy the joy and remember the excitement of seeing the students making this a memory. Students might note ways in which the retired or new neighbors might learn or know more about their school by taking photos of their recent projects and sharing with homes within the neighborhood or with the neighborhood leader in a certain area about the school. Interaction with neighboring homes can be timely, and can open new doors and support systems for both neighbors and schools.


Posted March 5, 2013

My daughter has LOVED attending at Kelly Creek. Her teacher has been very caring and is wonderful with all of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

My child has gone to Kelly Creek since Kindergarden. This will be her last year. I volunteer a lot of my time in the class room and have gotten to know the staff and teachers fairly well. I am impressed with all they have to juggle and how well they do it. There is a real concern for the students and they do try and deal with problems before they get out of hand. All the staff are great! From the custodians to the principle, everyone is there for the students. I would highly recommend Kelly Creek! What I would encourage is more parent envolvement with their kids at home. I see kids who could excell if their parents would put time into their reading habits and talk to them about their homework. Great PTC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

I would recommend this school to anyone. Our twin 10 yr old girls both enjoy their teachers and both my wife & I have had all positive interation experiences w/ both them and the staff. Thank you for caring, Kelly Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

My children spent three years at Kelly Creek before we had to move out of the area. I would highly recomend this shcool. My experience with the teachers from Kindergarten to Fifth grade was all positive. If I had any concerns, they were open to resolve them, help my children with school work if it was difficult for them, were open to communication by phone, email or in person also. They love having parent volunteers and show you they really appreciate it. Mr. Goerke and the office staff are really wonderful also. Your children will be taken care of beautifully if you choose to send them to Kelly Creek elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I've had an excellent experience with the school. I've been able to approach teachers and the principle to voice concerns and ask questions without any problem. I always feel heard, and problems are frequently resolved quickly. The teachers and staff are very friendly, and they display respect toward the kids (very important). I have a background in education and am very impressed with how the teachers have managed to balance government standards, helping students with disabilities, managing individual student behavior, and making learning fun. But the must successful kids are the ones who have parents who take an active role in teaching their kids outside of the classroom; we can't expect the schools to do it all. I'm certainly a fan of Kelly Creek Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

Im a parent of a child that is student at Kelly Creek. I only have one concern with the school and admin. Once I raised questions with the schools homework polices, and asked direct questions to my childs teacher on the same regard. To my suprise I was told not to come to the school unanounced, and that my questioning of the schools homework was not wanted. I really find it humorous that a teacher can't justifiy her assiments to her student without first consulting with others. If someone was to ask why I do something, at least I could tell them why if is that I do it. I was asked not to come back to the school at all. That tho I never raised my voice, and only asked direct question, I was labled as a threat. Questioning the schools is not a threat its our right as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

Kelly Creek is a wonderful school that is rich in a diverse student population and a staff that truly cares. Volunteers make KC a better school for our students. Principal Goerke is very friendly and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female53%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners40%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female70%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students63%
Female68%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female63%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female66%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners18%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female56%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners27%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 65%
Hispanic 28% 21%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Black 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 SE Baker Way
Gresham, OR 97080
Phone: (503) 663-7483

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT