Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orenco Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

My daughters are in their 4th year at Orenco and I couldn't have asked for a better school for them! Mrs. Dahl is a dream in 5th grade! My daughter just loves her to death! My youngest has Mrs. Robertson, whom I asked for personally for her because my older daughter had her last year and she rocked! She keeps you well informed with emails and is easy to get a hold of if you need to. Both of these teachers are very carrying, which I've found can be a challenge to find the older your children get. . But these teachers are amazing! I was sad to find out that their long time librarian had left the school. She was amazing with the children and helped my girls really enjoy readying. They have a new principal this year. I haven't personally talked to her much, but she seems nice, but a little unprepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

My daughter is in 4th grade and is in Mrs. Robertson's class. She is new to Orenco this year and I was thrilled my daughter got her as her teacher. She is good about keeping you informed. My daughter isn't thrilled with her, but that is because in 4th grade they expect more out of their students, and my daughter needs that! My younger child is in Mrs. Sprecher's 3rd grade class. She is the most amazing teacher and caring human I may have ever met! This teacher is crazy good! I love this school, the after school programs are really cool! Had a little issue with the principal this year, but our sub principal seems very caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

Horrible school.bullying school.my boys hated that school .they went been above average to below average.teachers don't even care the kids intelligent. Thank god I removed them after a year. Any parents who want to send their children to orenco should think twice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

My children absolutely hated it at Orenco. My son loved his 3rd grade teacher, but my daughter and I detested her 2nd grade teacher. She was uncaring, cold, abrasive, and outright rude to my daughter constantly. My daughter was bullied pretty much the whole time she attended Orenco, and when she let the teacher know, she did nothing. I did get help from the counselor, but the teacher waited over a week to even try and fix the problem. I emailed the teacher, including the principal in the email and heard nothing from either of them. My call to the principal went unanswered as well. The library constantly sent home notices that my children's books were overdue, even though I witnessed them putting their books in the book drop. Eventually they would find the books in the book drop, like we told them. I found the staff to be off-putting for the most part. They seemed to stand behind their teachers more than their students. I cannot believe a school would allow bullying to go on, or allow their teachers to act this way towards students. No child should wonder why their teacher dislikes them. A child should feel safe when they are at school, and my daughter definitely didn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

my 3 kids went to orenco skyler crystal ashley clowers i love this school ther is no other school i would have wanted my kids to go to. i went thure a hard time in my life at one point and some of the staff was willing to keep them at ther house till i got my life back on track. know family took them for me but what school would do that none i thank you orenco for beaing ther for me with much love your friend jody
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Two of my children attended Orenco during 2006-2007. They were fortunate to have great teachers who kept me informed of upcoming events when I was at the school to pick up my children. However, the administration seemed determined to keep parents in the dark. I missed my daughter's 1st grade assembly because they would let us know about those things after the fact. The parent organization at the school was called 'the booster club', and seemed to exist only for fundraising. If you are looking for a school that will take over the education of your children, this is it. If you want to be involved and informed about the education and activities of your children, move to another state, perhaps. It is a nice new school and they have fun and give lots of rewards. All in all, it was fun for my kids; it was frustrating for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

The teachers are active in putting together special clubs for the students like the Chess Club. The Blast Program is also at Orenco which is an after school childcare program for only 700.00 a year. It has been great. The school is open to parent volunteers and is always willing and prepared to accept help. The reading program is amazing and the students all have access to computers in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

My second grader loves Orenco and is excited about going to school each day. He started out with average test scores and now is excelling in his class. His teacher genuinely cares and has many positive and creative ways to encourage the kids to shine....i.e. self manager badges. I cannot say enough good things about his teacher and the school. I'm very happy with experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

My son has excelled in his basic reading and math skills. I think their is a positive motivation for the students to learn and be more focused with important curriculum that reared my son to focus. The rewards are there to help them be motivated and encourage their confidence in themselves. I am impressed with what the teachers and the school system is doing to help guide students to their full potential. Parent involvement is also a major PLUS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

What an amazing school! The teachers are wonderful - talented and motivating! They ensure all students are succeeding in all of the content areas. I am thrilled all 3 of my children are going here. You couldn't ask for a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

Orenco is a beautiful facility and the teachers and professional and friendly. The school is a little too big though and can make you feel lost as a parent.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>95%
Writing

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners71%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation29%

Reading

All Students82%
Female89%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners64%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female80%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learners69%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation67%

Reading

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learners46%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female69%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners57%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation11%

Reading

All Students79%
Female74%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learners57%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation44%

Science

All Students88%
Female85%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners86%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students80%
Female83%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 65%
Hispanic 20% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 4%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Black 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22550 NW Birch St
Hillsboro, OR 97124
Phone: (503) 844-1370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT