Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orenco Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
We have been at Orenco for 3 years and fall more and more in love with this school each year. Each teacher they've had are beyond fantastic. I keep thinking how did we get so lucky to have the best teacher but then the next year comes and again we are blessed with a new amazing teacher. The Orenco community feels like family. The staff, teachers and parents all want the absolute best for the students. Sadly we may be moving and it breaks our hearts that we may have to leave Orenco. We'd had a horrendous experience at a near by charter school so there is that fear of what if we move and the school is horrible? Orenco was a breath of fresh air that we are truly grateful for. If we do move out of Orenco boundaries, the next school is going to really have to up its game to impress us the way Orenco has.

Orenco Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
My son's 2nd grade teacher, Mr. Cunningham. He has somehow inspired my son to want to do so much more academically and personally. I've seen his love for poetry and writing blossom. I've seen his maturity and ability to take ownership for his actions grow tremendously. He just has a special way of helping the kids see the greatness inside of themselves. We think he is an excellent educator and any student that gets him will forever be changed for the best. He's the kind of teacher that you reflect on later in life and can say he made the difference. I wouldn't doubt him being at the top of my son's favorite teachers list.


Orenco Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
My daughters are in their 4th year at Orenco and I couldn't have asked for a better school for them! Mrs. Dahl is a dream in 5th grade! My daughter just loves her to death! My youngest has Mrs. Robertson, whom I asked for personally for her because my older daughter had her last year and she rocked! She keeps you well informed with emails and is easy to get a hold of if you need to. Both of these teachers are very carrying, which I've found can be a challenge to find the older your children get. . But these teachers are amazing! I was sad to find out that their long time librarian had left the school. She was amazing with the children and helped my girls really enjoy readying. They have a new principal this year. I haven't personally talked to her much, but she seems nice, but a little unprepared.

Orenco Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in 4th grade and is in Mrs. Robertson's class. She is new to Orenco this year and I was thrilled my daughter got her as her teacher. She is good about keeping you informed. My daughter isn't thrilled with her, but that is because in 4th grade they expect more out of their students, and my daughter needs that! My younger child is in Mrs. Sprecher's 3rd grade class. She is the most amazing teacher and caring human I may have ever met! This teacher is crazy good! I love this school, the after school programs are really cool! Had a little issue with the principal this year, but our sub principal seems very caring!

Orenco Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school.bullying school.my boys hated that school .they went been above average to below average.teachers don't even care the kids intelligent. Thank god I removed them after a year. Any parents who want to send their children to orenco should think twice.


Orenco Elementary School 1

Posted January 05, 2012
- a parent
My children absolutely hated it at Orenco. My son loved his 3rd grade teacher, but my daughter and I detested her 2nd grade teacher. She was uncaring, cold, abrasive, and outright rude to my daughter constantly. My daughter was bullied pretty much the whole time she attended Orenco, and when she let the teacher know, she did nothing. I did get help from the counselor, but the teacher waited over a week to even try and fix the problem. I emailed the teacher, including the principal in the email and heard nothing from either of them. My call to the principal went unanswered as well. The library constantly sent home notices that my children's books were overdue, even though I witnessed them putting their books in the book drop. Eventually they would find the books in the book drop, like we told them. I found the staff to be off-putting for the most part. They seemed to stand behind their teachers more than their students. I cannot believe a school would allow bullying to go on, or allow their teachers to act this way towards students. No child should wonder why their teacher dislikes them. A child should feel safe when they are at school, and my daughter definitely didn't.

Orenco Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2010
- a parent
my 3 kids went to orenco skyler crystal ashley clowers i love this school ther is no other school i would have wanted my kids to go to. i went thure a hard time in my life at one point and some of the staff was willing to keep them at ther house till i got my life back on track. know family took them for me but what school would do that none i thank you orenco for beaing ther for me with much love your friend jody

Orenco Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Two of my children attended Orenco during 2006-2007. They were fortunate to have great teachers who kept me informed of upcoming events when I was at the school to pick up my children. However, the administration seemed determined to keep parents in the dark. I missed my daughter's 1st grade assembly because they would let us know about those things after the fact. The parent organization at the school was called 'the booster club', and seemed to exist only for fundraising. If you are looking for a school that will take over the education of your children, this is it. If you want to be involved and informed about the education and activities of your children, move to another state, perhaps. It is a nice new school and they have fun and give lots of rewards. All in all, it was fun for my kids; it was frustrating for me.


Orenco Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are active in putting together special clubs for the students like the Chess Club. The Blast Program is also at Orenco which is an after school childcare program for only 700.00 a year. It has been great. The school is open to parent volunteers and is always willing and prepared to accept help. The reading program is amazing and the students all have access to computers in the classroom.

Orenco Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2007
- a parent
My second grader loves Orenco and is excited about going to school each day. He started out with average test scores and now is excelling in his class. His teacher genuinely cares and has many positive and creative ways to encourage the kids to shine....i.e. self manager badges. I cannot say enough good things about his teacher and the school. I'm very happy with experience there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orenco Elementary School
22550 NW Birch St, Hillsboro, OR  97124
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (503) 844-1370
Last modified Orenco Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top