Advertisement
Advertisement

Heritage Christian School

Private | K-12 | 206 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hillsboro

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2009

This was an excellent school that closed down this last year. It had amazing teachers, faculty, curriculum, etc., and I loved it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

We had our two children at this school during the 2006-2007 school year, and were extremely happy with the high quality of education they received. It was the first year of the school's new headmaster/principal, and it was also the first year of a full K-12 program (previously, it was 6-12). We transferred in as part of a pseudo-merger of the Grammar/Logic School from the defunct Agape Christian School. However, at the end of the school year, the headmaster presented to the parents a consultant who recommended a massive change in the tuition schedule, one that effectively put the school way out of reach for my family's budget. For that reason only, we reluctantly switched schools. If you can afford Rolls Royce pricing, you'll get a Rolls Royce education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

The warm and caring faculty and staff make Heritage Christian School a phenomenal place to learn! Having children currently enrolled in the grammar, logic and rhetoric levels at Heritage has allowed us to see the complete Classical program in operation. What a blessing to watch our children grow in the Lord, in their understanding of a Christian worldview, and academically as a result of their educational experiences at HCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2007

We originally selected this school for the strong academic program several years ago, but have found that there are also other reasons as to why we love it here. The dedication of the staff at HCS is felt by both students and parents. The teachers aren't just teaching; they are investing their lives in our children, challenging and growing them spiritually and academically. The classical method allows for the integration of literature, history, bible, art, & music - what a great way to learn. The high school science and math classes are very strong with some excellent teaching. Our kids want to be here. They love the environment, and they enjoy the sports program which is getting stronger each year. For being a relatively young school, this is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My son was in the graduating class of 2002. I can say without doubt that he would not be the man he is today without the caring guidance, excellent education and Godly examples he was exposed to in his 6 years at HCS. Looking for a safe, friendly and Godly environment with top notch Classical teaching? Heritage is your school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

After 4 years at this school, my child went from being an ordinary student in academics to an extraordinary student. The Socratic teaching methods in the logic school, coupled with Latin and an in depth study of History and the Classics have increased my daughter's ability to concentrate and turned her into a true critical thinker. Simply amazing. Can't wait to see what she will do on her SATs in two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

HCS has provided an educational experience that is top notch for private schools in the Western Portland area. The classical approach is the best education available for parents and students who are looking for superior academics coupled with strong biblical integration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

The Classical model - Grammar, Logic and Rhetoric - is what atttracted us in the first place and, after having our son in the program from 8th through 12th grade, is still the most compelling feature. This educational approach, more popular in the East and based on proven educational programs from the 17th through 19th Century, creates a student who is both better informed and better able to deal with what life will throw him. While including drama, music, sports as both classroom and extra-curricular programs, the core of the school is still academics. Even so, our son is moving into a career in drama based on what hs's learned here, having been accepted into two colleges thus far, including a conservatory (AMDA). Parental involvement is not only encouraged, it's required. Regular parent forums, website tracking of student progress, academic alerts, teacher conferences, etc. are all part of the package.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

This school is the best if you are looking for solid academics. The College-board SATs from this school are much higher than any other school in this area. This is a college-prep environment. They are supposed to be adding additional extra-curricular activities is the coming years. We are very please with HCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
other private schools
home schooling
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Todd Pfaff
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (503) 846-0609

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parent volunteerism and participation is essential to good communication and helps promote the school community. we are partners with parents as we educate students and encourage the spiritual development of students.
More from this school
  • Heitage is the only K-12 Classical Christ-centered school in Washington County. We are excited about our continued direction to grow as the premiere K-12 college prepartory school. Heritage is always encouraged to be a part of the succcess of typical students with extra-ordinary potential.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
public schools
other private schools
home schooling

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
4 year Universities
Christian Universities
Private Liberal Arts Universities
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1679 SE Enterprise Cir
Hillsboro, OR 97123
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 640-1027

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT