Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Another great year at Liberty as a parent of two boys in high school just can't express how much we love Liberty my oldest just got accepted to OSU and my youngest a sophomore can't wait to start touring colleges for him. Thanks Liberty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Sorry - last post I meant "The administration" - not the administrator" - the entire administration - from the front office staff to the principals, VP's, and dean of students - they show a complete lack of compassion and concern for students - I have witnessed this time and time again and have addressed this concern with them directly. It is disheartening, to say the least. And from a parent of a child who excels, I can continue to support my child, but for those who lack the support or need a bit more through the door? Liberty is failing our children, our most valuable assets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

I'm not impressed with Liberty HS or the administrative staff. My son does not like going to school because they dont really teach them much and the kids are mean. Not just to my son, other kids get picked on too. I know several kids who have left this school cuz they didnt fit in. The administrative staff does not listen to or work with parents. I find they are very unprofessional and unprepared for questions pertaining to policy's and plans to ensure the safety of my son when asked. Basically I get the feeling that these guys are here to collect a paycheck and pass the time. If your child pass's great, if not Darn! sorry about that. they do not work with or assist parents at all. They will not listen, but will tell YOU how it is. There is no public transportation to this school. This makes it hard for a lot of kids to get to school if they miss the school. also parents who dont drive are not able to get to the school very easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

All I have to say is, I went to liberty for 4 years. And it was awesome! Teachers are great! Always helped me even when I never asked. People just need to realize what they have with this school and use up everything it has to offer. Going to LHS I probably only used up half's of Liberty's potential (if that.) And I have come to find out that even with the half of the school's potential I have done more, and even seen more than most of my peers in my major (which is Film.) Which has given me an advantage that not a lot have had. I am very glad that I went to Liberty. And I wish more could have the experience I have had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

That last comment, posted on April 28, expressed my sentiments exactly. Their programs are one-size-fits-all, unimaginative, impersonal, of the 'drill & kill' (teach to the test) approach. My child is an 'A' student, but hates LHS. There are few opportunities for student to participate in an interactive, engaging way. Instead, they must sit and take instruction from the teachers, then regurgitate the info. This makes education very painful for kids like mine. It seems to be the modus operandi of the entire Hillsboro School District. All the schools are the same and there is no diversity of programming anywhere in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Liberty High School fails to help students who do not fit into a 'traditional' mold. It does not foster creative or critcal thinking and has no plan to help parents with students who are ill or otherwise physically disabled. I would not reccomend this school to any parent with a gifted, intellegent child or any parent with a child who suffers from physical illness or disablities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Liberty HS has made a name for itself on the national scene, hosting a 2008 presidential campaign visit from Hillary Clinton and sending 31 students and 2 teachers to the 2009 inauguration of President Obama. Our freshman student loves the small size of the school, the 3 days a week of free tutoring, the teachers, and the helpful administrative staff. She brings home challenging homework almost every night, and her GPA has gone up considerably over middle school grades. Based on the 2 low reviews here, I would say the school has improved drastically over the last 3 years. -Rock Creek Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

Liberty has a great principal and some wonderful teachers. Liberty is a new school but already has some fun and rewarding traditions like 'Mr. Liberty' and the 'Senior Citizen' Prom and the prom for special needs students among other events that include the community and help the students to enjoy helping their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

I've been very happy with Liberty High School. My daughter struggled in another local high school and has gone from a D-F student to a straight A student. She is socially aware and involved with community issues, takes a look at diverse points of view and is learning to deal with the diverse population within the school much as she will have to do in the 'real' world. I applaud the improvements we've seen each year within the school and now in her senior year I see a young adult that has gained much from her time at Liberty. It takes time and commitment to build something better and I think Liberty is truly trying to achieve higher education quality for the students attending there. L. Lehwalder
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

Large illegal immigrant student population with many programs and staff to work with them. No shop or real trade programs, unless computering is considered one. The school and district seem to be overboard with political correctness, diversity talk, new programs(which are twisted version of the same old programs), self congratulations (self esteem improvement). Seems about 30% of students in class are unprepared and just sit. Administration is very good at reacting to complaints. If I had six or seven children, I'd send them all to Liberty High School, with no worries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

We had a failed math program the first year. Large emphasis placed on Mexican translations/translators. Social promotion is alive and well. I see very little homework being assigned to be completed at home. Much time spent teaching to the assessment tests (cim,cam, state tests...) I think the school is 'playing the system'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Science

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female78%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners26%
Migrant53%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learners47%
Migrant73%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female66%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learners<=5%
Migrant36%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female67%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic31%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners16%
Migrant33%
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 65%
Hispanic 33% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21945 NW Wagon Way
Hillsboro, OR 97214
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 844-1250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Century High School
Hillsboro, OR



Sunset High School
Portland, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT