Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quatama Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 536 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2014

My kids went here. Overall it was a good experience. The campus itself is top notch....very modern. I felt the curriculum was challenging for the students. They offer plenty of after school programs as well. My only complaint would be classroom size but I think that is more of a district or statewide problem if anything. Overall I'd recommend Quatama. Oh I also forgot to mention the school has lots of school pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

My daughter has attended Quatama for 4 years now and loves going to school every day. All of the teachers and older students know her name and say hi using her name in passing. The facilities are really top notch and her teachers so far have been facilitators to her success as well as providing customized challenges as she regularly finishes class tests early and easily. The school lunch payment system is handled externally, but it takes around 4 minutes to reload cash once every other month. I volunteered in her class last year and found some students excelling while others really trying but not quite understanding. The wonderful thing was to see the improvement as the year progressed. I've read the reviews below and what I see when I go into the school are a lot of happy children trying their best to succeed and learn. Their special needs program gets those children out and about the school as well, attended by a teacher so every child learns to be accepting of all kinds of people. Some of the kids here come from poor families and some come from wealthy, but when you head out to the playground and see the happiness, it's really heartwarming. I receive emails every day from them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

I am looking into buying a home in the neighborhood near this school. I just confirmed that this is in fact the school my children would attend. I am wondering if anyone can please contact me so I can ask some questions regarding this school. Id like to know more specifics regarding the culture of the school, if the children their are pleasant for the most part, and what are the top three great things about the school and the worst thing about the school. Thank you so much in advance!


Posted October 1, 2012

My son has attended Quatama for about a year now. We have found the experience there to be okay. So far his teachers have been engaged and interested in his progress, and he is learning at an appropriate pace, we think. I wouldn't call Quatama outstanding, but we have been satisfied with the quality of teaching and with the staff and facilities. It is true that the office staff can be rather reserved, but they have always been helpful when presented with a direct query, and they seem caring of the students. I keep seeing reviews that everyone in the neighborhood is fleeing the school, but we live very nearby and most of the children here do attend Quatama, and most of the parents I talk to seem satisfied with the school as well. On the downside, the school is not good about communicating with parents--if is really up to each teacher to dispense school/district information. We have found out about some events after the fact. The website is pretty useless! (No information about paying for hot lunch--something I would expect to find on the school's website.) Class sizes are large--30 students in my son's kindergarten class by the end of the year--and no aids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

Yes it's true the office staff is cold as ice but remember work atmosphere is a trickle down effect if youve had contact with the principal you would understand why most of the teachers & staff are dispassionate drones relishing the end of the day even more than the students...our pm kinder experience was extremely negative but enlighting as we came to understand why tenured teachers should really be evaluated....as others have said its shame so many good families leave the area..we went running to a adjacent school system ..so far its been a night & day experiance.. I feel guilty our child didnt enjoy kindergarten it only happens once after all...the tell tale is whether your school offers full day kinder ..the good usually do...sorry to be so negative but its all true & actually worse than what I have written
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

My kids have attended this school since it opened in 2008. Both my wife and I are busy working parents, so as much as we'd like to volunteer we try, but it's nice because there is already a very strong parent group... that is active called the "Coyote Community Club". Bottom line... my kids love going to school. : ) So far the teachers they have each had are very approachable, and sincere. I was amazed at how early and well my kids started reading... and I give 90% of the credit to the teachers and reading programs they have. Quatama was named a Community School by the Washington County because they both work with and are supported well by the community. There is a community garden next door to the school... and they've earned what I think is called a "Green School" status. At least a couple staff members have earned "crystal apple awards"... but many more there deserve it. From the front office staff, the principal, and even the custodians... are all very nice and smile everytime you walk around that place. I appreciate all they do... I couldn't have picked a better school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

This is my child's first year at Quatama, and will be the last. We live on a border between two schools and I am kicking myself for not having chosen the other school, because this year has been a very negative experience for my child and for myself. There are a few staff members that are shining stars and do really care about students, but they are few and far between, and unfortunately aren't often involved in my child's day to day experiences. I did a real disservice to my child for not doing my research before enrolling them here. I will not make the same mistake twice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

We felt the tension flowing in the office; we proceeded with caution knowing that the office staff could just be having a "off" day. We enrolled our child with high hopes and its is only fair for me to say she attended one full day. We WITHDREW our child the next day.....My child's first day of school... (I) as her parent went into the office to sign in etc,etc, Not a welcoming moment nor was information provided on where my child should go. The Teacher greeted my child with a quick "Hi" and stated that the kids were excited to have a new student. I exited out of sight just to watch this new school in action. I really enjoyed watching the excitement of Mr Cilberto students as he greeted his class at his door. My child had no formal introduction to the new class. The class was told we have a new student and welcome yourself I know that its not a bad thing. My issue is that you should give every new kid common respect and a minute or two to learn something about each other. This could help the class and a new kid transition. Our child was warned by another student that she had dibs on this boy,she was also told they thought she lived or came from a box (meaning homeless).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

We have heard a lot of negative things about Quatama over the last three years and have watched a lot of great families leave the area because of the school. After sending one of our children there, we understood why so many who could afford to were moving or leaving to go to a private school. We would recommend visitng the school first and asking around before deciding to move into the Quatama School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

My Daughter join to 3rd grade at school in the middle of the year after we moved here. all the staff in school was more then grate, help all the time, walk with the kids and show care all the time. the teacher was amazing, have time to explain everything, she was wonderful, I wish to everyone teacher like that. total it is awesome school I recommend it with all my heart
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

2nd year for Quatama. The principal came from Jackson and knows her stuff. She believes the young grade classes should be smaller (which I agree) and strives to please students (knows their names), staff and parents. She won the Crystal Award (nominated by staff/parents). Great great FT counselor who the kids adore, PE, Music, library and grant for Right Brain Initiative are pluses. Wonderful PTA group but wish more parents got involved. Overall, this is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female50%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female61%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female47%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female66%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners43%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female76%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female76%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female52%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female44%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 65%
Hispanic 27% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Black 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6905 NE Campus Way
Hillsboro, OR 97124
Phone: (503) 844-1180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT