Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ladd Acres Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 526 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

This school is extremely biased. If you are one of the "Favored" families, then you will probably love it here, if not good luck. The staff and teachers only respond to those families that they have created personal relationships with. If you are new or they just don't like you, their professionalism is abhorrent. This school focuses on being Spanish speaker friendly. This is taken overboard and begins to alienate English only families. The biggest problem however is the appearance of following Common Core Standards. The teachers will tell you that they plan on teaching all of the subjects in "a holistic manner". This just is the teachers' excuse to avoid teaching subjects that they don't like, such as math and science. Also their new Principal seems to be unavailable and uninformed. If you try to contact her she is always "busy". As far as student activities, she never spends the effort to learn what they are doing, just reads off a note card for the first time when introducing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

This school loves its parent volunteers. There are so many volunteer opportunities from parking lot safety, cafeteria, assisting teachers (reading with kids, photocopying, art projects, sharpening pencils) end-of-the-year-carnival, library help, book fair, etc. The front-desk reception staff are friendly, and the teachers we have had have been truly awesome! The teachers really care about the kids and work hard to make learning fun. The PE teacher is amazing and comes up with fun activities every day, so that ALL kids, from 1st to 6th, come out of his class smiling & sweating. However, the school is VERY old and needs updating. The furnace sometimes breaks. The water runs rusty brown. There are "pods" that kids have to walk between to get to music, PE & lunch, so kids have to go outside to get between buildings. The play equipment is very old and outdated. There are no trash receptacles anywhere outside, so often the parking lot or playground has garbage and candy wrappers laying around. The landscaping is horrible with weeds and looks terrible. For these reasons I can only give 3 stars. The staff is 5 stars, so to be fair I gave it a 4 star rating. My kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

Ladd Acres is the best school if you want to play an active part in your child's education. I currently have a 1st grader and we have had awesome teachers for both kinder and currently. This school encourages parent volunteers and will accept your help in any way they can get it. Over the past year and a half I have contributed a few hundred volunteer hours and the large majority of that was with my preschool daughter in tow. The teachers will even let her sit and be a student if she is not distractive to the other kids. I have even seen parents volunteer with preschool twins and even infants coming along. I also know of parents that put in volunteer hours at home. The PE teacher is awesome at coming up with ways to get the kids active. Last year he got a wii for the gym and the kids all play "just dance." They love it! We also have a great music teacher, my son has even taught me some music symbols that I had forgotten. We got a new principle this year and she is working hard to help improve our school report card. She encourages parents to come to her and work with her to make improvements. I am looking forward to having both my kids attend next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

I was very hesitant about this school, because I have a child with special needs, and I didn't know how he would do in a public school. We have been very fortunate to have had such exceptional teachers for both my children (currently a 1st and 2nd grader). I strongly believe the teachers, administrative staff, and PTA is what makes the school so special. Despite the need of major renovations, Ladd Acres is amazing!! So far the kindergarten teachers and 1st and 2nd grade teachers are exceptional. My son's 2nd grade teacher deserves so much praise and appreciation for her dedication to teaching and her willingness to help each of her students reach their fullest potential...whether they're under or over achievers. I have a child with special needs and all his previous and present teachers have been such a blessing to our family in supporting us in keeping our children challenged and thriving. We love and appreicate the activities/events the PTA sponsors which helps bring the families/community together. The speech pathologist is amazing! We feel so privileged to have 2 of our children attend this school, and we look forward for our upcoming kinder attending next Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

We have 3 kids at Ladd and all have had exceptional experiences. Great teachers, great administration that truly cares about the kids and parents. Lots of parent volunteers. The music teacher is the best I've ever seen. Every grade has a performance during the year. Band starts in 6th grade, and she has special choirs throughout the year for the older kids. We love it! - 2010-2011
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

I have 3 kids in this school. I love everything about it. Great principle and teachers. Children leave the class to go to different levels for math and reading and are at the same levels as the other children in their groups. Great community of parents and volunteers too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

My son attended k and 1st grade at Ladd. Awesome parent & community support. We have had very creative teachers who interspersed academics with fun like 'bubble day' or making large paper dragon to celebrate Chinese New Year. My son has learned a lot while enjoying school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

I am very impressed with Ladd Acres with my daughter's progress she has made in kindergarten. Her curriculum is rounded and diverse and touches on music, reading, math, safety, geography etc. Her teacher is loving, soft spoken, and great with the kids. When I visits Ladd Acres, it is a positive and friendly experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female63%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students60%
Female65%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female71%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Reading

All Students77%
Female85%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners30%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students80%
Female78%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female78%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female71%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students69%
Female71%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 65%
Hispanic 20% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2425 SW Cornelius Pass Rd
Hillsboro, OR 97123
Phone: (503) 844-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT