Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glencoe High School

Public | 9-12 | 1634 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2012

Glencoe is a really welcoming school. My youngest child got to come here after we moved from NW Portland. I must say this is much more of a community feeling, what a great bunch of kids. The last school was very cliquey and had bully issues. The positive attitudes from the staff are encouraging and motivating for the kids. The curriculum has a nice variety with a specialized engineering program (lots of engineer parents) The clubs have something for everyone - florist, equestrian, science....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

I currently go to Glencoe and I couldn't have chose a better school. Glencoe has a phenomenal student body and they have class. The students are welcoming and it's like a big family. Your student will love Glencoe
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

This school is moderate. There is a grand selection of sports and clubs, as well opportunities for other things. However, I find the academics below par, as in my last Jr. High school, I learned everything I was supposed to learn this year. The language programs are exceedingly poor, and many students struggle with all classes. Hallway traffic is beastly. A few teachers are wonderful, and a few others give off the air of hating their jobs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

The admisnitration need to follow through with there responablity how are we suppose to teach our children how to be responable if his vice principal can't do her job and follow through with her responablity. Kids are fall through the cracks in the hillsboro schools. Even when the parent are constianly meeting with them to make sure are children dont fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

There is too much focus on sports and not enough on academics. The language programs are inadequate and the hallway traffic is unacceptably bad. There is, however, a sense of unity as well as a strong force of teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

This school is an extremely good school. There's tons of extra activities you can do whether its sports, green club, or any other club. There's also a lot of AP classes you can take and the people are very friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

I have attended this school for the past 4 years. each and EVERY teacher has gotten to know me and my name. you could not ask for a more spirited and polite student body. not to mention the sports teams pretty much are amazing at every thing they do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

its got a great student body and wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2006

I attend Glencoe High school as of the 2005- 2009 school years and as of right now, I think that I could not attend a better school. The classes here are on average of a good size. I have just over 20 students in all of my classes, and the class with the most amount of students, (other then my choir class of 78)is my AP us history class were every seat is filled. this shows the dtermination of the majority of the students here. Our sports are great, and our school spirit is even better. In events like choir we can compete with school like Jesuit and Sprague for the championship. our dance team is amazing and we have the highest test scores in the Hillsboro school district. We are one of the best schools, in my opinion in the state of Oregon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

My son has attened Glencoe HS for the last two years. The quality of academic programs is marginal at best and like the previous students mentioned, sadly, due to the high student to teacher ratio, the teachers treat the students as numbers pushing them through the system. This is the bane of public schools. Extracurricular opportunity is open and abundant but overcrowding of the school's population yeilds too many students in one sport and thus my son sits on the bench in baseball and finally dropped. We've experienced principal leadership to be marginal as well. IEP meetings did not meet IDEA in participant requirement or measured goals. The overarching problem with Glencoe HS is the lack of proactive stance against the drug and gang activity element so strongly present in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I attend Glencoe High School and i love it to, but like my friend Sheila said I can be in the same class for the whole year and some of the teachers wont remember you so you do feel like a number and not an individual.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2005

I used to attend Glencoe last year. I really loved it. One thing I really didn't like about it was that you could have a class all year long, and even by the end of the year a teacher wouldn't know your name. It makes you feel like a number, not a individual, just another face in the crowd. I saw the average student per class on this homepage and I find that hard to believe, considering the fact I was there. I had classes last year, when there were less students so how can it be only 22 students per class. On average there were at least 28+.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Science

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male70%
African American67%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners18%
Migrant15%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners18%
Migrant36%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female63%
Male73%
African American67%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners9%
Migrant9%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female64%
Male52%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners<=5%
Migrant8%
Academically gifted90%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 66%
Hispanic 26% 21%
Asian 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 NW Glencoe Rd
Hillsboro, OR 97124
Phone: (503) 844-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Create Program
Cornelius, OR


Hillsboro High School
Hillsboro, OR



Century High School
Hillsboro, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT