Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 210 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

I am a former student and I honestly did not enjoy this school. Yes, it's great to learn about the environment and recycling, but they put too much of an emphasis on that rather than actual academics. I was one of those students who needed more challenging work, and most of the time they gave it to me. The thing is they never helped me out, they just expected me to do it on my own. So basically I taught myself. My younger brother also went to this school, but had a really difficult time because he needed hands on work, and they just made him sit there, except for when they were doing environmental activities, not for the academics. I understand how kids need to be disciplined, but the teachers just put him in a special group and told my parents he had A.D.D... which he didn't. Also, when the students in my grade that went here got to middle school, we knew half of information the other kids knew. I was taught long division once, in third grade. Instead you know what we did? Learned about birds. Yeah. This school was alright, but I would warn you.. if you want a child to actually learn academics, don't send them here.


Posted August 12, 2012

This school is one of the better Salem schools, That said, as a lifelong resident of Salem and as a product of public schools, Salem schools poorly prepare students for life. Political correctness runs amok in this district at the expense of curriculum. The math program is terrible. The English is terrible. I opted out and send my kids to private school , my kids are far ahead of where I was in school. I did not know the difference when In attended school, I do now and am appalled at what my tax dollars pay for. Forrest Ridge has a great principal and draws from a good demographic. If my kids had to go public, this would probably be my choice.


Posted October 8, 2008

This is the best school, parent envolment is great, Great buisness partners with near by church. Wonerful place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

This is by far the best school that I have had an opportunity to work in, public and private, around the state, and within several countries. ...A Salem-Keizer gem!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2007

I'm a former student, and I think it's truly amazing how dedicated they are to helping the environment. I love and support Forest Ridge all the way.


Posted December 1, 2006

I have pulled my children out of this school and put them in a private one. I feel like more emphasis is put on teaching the children to recycle than there is to excel in academics. There are few extracirricular activities available. Parent involvement is high which is a plus.Overall this was not a fit for my family and I would not recommend it to others who are looking for a more well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

This school is wonderful for my children they come home every day telling me how much and what they learned! I really think its amazing how much this school teaches, I do hope they keep this going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

Awesome school! Great Teachers and Principal! This is literally the best school not only in our district but I believe the state. Great programs and opportunities for students to excell.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

This school is a great school...I like all the staff. The principal is just one of a kind. He goes out of his way to help all the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female64%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female86%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female83%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female91%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female29%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation29%

Reading

All Students60%
Female64%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Science

All Students53%
Female50%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation13%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 65%
Hispanic 22% 21%
Two or more races 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7905 June Reid Placene
Keizer, OR 97303
Phone: (503) 399-5548

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT