Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Lake School

Private | K-8 | 221 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lake Oswego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $410,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

Our Lady of the Lake does an amazing job with elementary school children. I do agree that it can be a bit too overhanded with the system of detentions. You would think that in this age they would find another system besides detention based system for young children. But overall the 2-5 teaching staff is wonderful. I don't have any experience with K-1. My biggest concern is 6,7,8 curriculum. The Science curriculum is not appropriate for middle school and accounts for over 50% of the homework and test taking. This impacts the rest of the curriculum because there is no time for Language Arts and Math. Its hard to understand how a middle school has become so science driven. It feels more like a science tech middle school then your average middle school and the kids are driven to anxiety because of the science tests . The curriculum needs to be really evaluated for the middle school. The teachers that are not open to change or feedback are really difficult to work with .


Posted July 27, 2013

I went here from k-12 th grade. Some aspects of the school did prepare me to succeed at the university level. However, looking back now I am extremely dissapointed by the outright lying and brainwashing that went on at this school. Being 5 years old without any critical thinking skills yet and having a moral/political perspective ingrained in your head is NOT ok. I realize it is a religious based school looking at the world through a small, fear base prism. The public schools in lake Oswego could have given me a much more honest, well rounded education. After the level of open/honest education we were able to receive at college, most of my former oll classmates feel this way as well.


Posted November 11, 2011

I have a child at OLL school. I really battled between private Catholic education (as I experienced although my husband is not Catholic) and the fact that I purposely moved to a "good" school district. I did a lot of research and questioned everyone I could from both public and private. I found that people who had graduated from OLL and moved to both public and private were extremely happy with the transition. Most who I spoke to said their children were extremely well prepared and most placed in advanced classes. I was scared away by kids having "issues" on the public school bus and the lack of oversight and discipline in public schools. Also impactful were the budget cuts to both phys ed and art programs. Now that we are here we would not change our decision. I appreciate the lack of classroom distraction(thank you discipline!), that my child feels safe and happy at school, that the children get plenty of exercise (both body and brain), that the children are taught morals, values and respect (along with math, reading, science, social studies, music, art, etc!) This education is a financial sacrifice for our family, but to provide a strong foundation we are willing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

We've had three children attend and are very pleased witl OLL. Our oldest ended up going to the public high school and has been able to go right into all of the adv placement courses and seems to be well ahead of classmates from LOJ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

We've had our three children attend OLL and finally chose to take our last child out. Sending her to the local public school was the best decision we've made. It was a huge wake up call to find out that the teachers & curriculum in the public schools were equivalent or better. I agree with others who say that by middle school, OLL is weak. The teachers are beyond tenured, they're above any criticism whatsoever. If you have an issue with the school, it falls on deaf ears (Principal and Vice). There's entirely too much favoritism. There is little opportunity for a very bright child; ours were simply not challenged after sixth grade. The school/parent community and parish community are very different. The hypocracy in the school is noteworthy. While they boast about "faith based education," it's just a catchy phrase. Just because they teach religion doesn't mean they practice it. A few teachers are downright mean. We've been dissappointed that they teach to excel on standardized tests, but care little about teaching & demonstrating character. Instead of inspiring the students to love learning, they stress grades excessively. Your children will be stressed, that must we assure you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

I rate OLL as a solid 3 star, which is really dissappointing, given it's private school tuition faith based school. There is nothing stellar or unique about OLL, except they do indeed teach by intimidation and shame. Detentions are every Monday afternoon, and a time-out "bench on shame." There is also the "silent lunch detention" table and everyone knows why the child is there and it is humiliating. Much of the homework is busy work, but a great deal of it is expected to be done by the parents. There are many costumes to be sewn, poster board type projects that are obviously done by parents with professional oversize printers. Of course the teachers realize the homework and most projects fall heavily on the parents, but parents are intimidated also. When you have other children, it's difficult because you don't want to make it more difficult for them. Favoritism runs rampant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

If you are looking for a faith-based school, filled with dedicated and devoted teachers and a supportive community, look no further. Our Lady of the Lake School prepares students for a life ... a life filled with faith, knowledge and an appreciate of the community in which he/she lives. Students leave this school as citizens of the world, with an eye towards service and compassion. We are truly blessed to have this fine school in our neighborhood. Of recent days, the school has won many awards for being a top-tiered school in Oregon! Visit the school yourself and see the difference ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

At the elementary level, this school is unequaled. You and your child will be very happy. There are serious issues at the 6h, 7th, and 8th grade level, however. Several of the teachers have become spoiled and complacent. They are unwilling to make an effort to reach out or understand any child that poses a challenge, possesses any individuality, or is not their favored select few. They use intimidation and humiliation as teaching tools. Students become afraid to make mistakes, ask questions, or speak up in the classroom for fear of humiliation and become unwilling to talk to parents for fear of retaliation. These teachers have forgotten the true meaning of being great educators. Spending time working in a different environment may help them to better appreciate the wonderful student body and parent community at OLL. Parent-Teacher communication is poor, the homework load is excessive, and although your child may receive a good education in some areas, it comes at the expense of their happiness and self-confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We are so pleased that our children have been able to attend a school that is faith-based and community driven. Both our kids have been given a stellar academic education as well as a safe and caring environment to grow up in. No school is perfect and there are always ways to improve but, overall, we have nothing but positive comments about our experience at OLL. There was one weak teacher who taught my older child for one year but that teacher is now gone. All other teachers have been stellar educators and loving examples of the Catholic faith for our children. They have grown up feeling a connection with their classmates and with the school community at large. The older child was well prepared for high school and the younger (7th grader) is thriving at the junior high level. Opportunities for parents to be involved have been numerous also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I could not disagree more with the comments posted September 15, 2009 and March 19, 2010! I am a parent and can say, unequivocally, that parents DO have a say in this school; the teaching staff IS stellar; and the principal and vice principal do MANY things! Is any school perfect? No. Can improvements be made? Absolutely. For me the bottom line is this. . . Are my kids getting a Catholic faith-based education? Yes. Is the school community a caring and supportive environment? Yes. Will my child be prepared for a college preparatory high school? I believe so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I have read the previous reviews of OLL, and can agree with some of the comments, but not all. I think the potential for the school to be the best in LO is real, we have had many obstacles with our leadership and I see that changing very soon. Keep in mind, this is a Catholic school and not just a private school. You have to ask yourself how important you think it is to infuse your beliefs and values within the education and formation of your child? Some parents have had unrealistic expectations and been disappointed. But , at the same time, there have been areas that could use bolstering. Because OLL is private, we have to raise enough money to support everything that goes on there. we have been hit financially and programs have suffered, but I am sure this is similar in a public school too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

The lack of leadership by the principle and VP is the main problem with this school. Teachers don't have the direction or drive to do much to improve things. Not a very happy place for kids to be. Detentions and too much homework are what the kids see. Parents are good but don't seem able or commited enough to make the changes needed to improve the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

We were quite nervous about moving our child to OLL as it represented school #3 in a short period of two years. We made this tough decision because of our religious values and we have not been disappointed. Our daughter s teacher and her fellow classmates have been very supportive and kind. We feel quite blessed to be part of this amazing family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My daughter attended OLL from kindergarten throuugh 8th grade. What a mistake that was. The parents have no say in what happens at the school and the principal and vice principal don't do anything. The math departmant as well as the history and english departments are lacking. Expect at least 2 hours of homework, and expect 1.5 hours of that time to be busy work. The diciplinary program at OLL does not work. nor affect the students in any way. The only, and I mean only thing that my daughter was prepared for in high school was science. The science teacher makes science fun and interesting to the kids. Overall, this school makes students do lots of busy work, does not provide accomidations for students with learning disabilities, and (for the most part) a terrible teaching staff. I highly reccomend not sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

The teaching staff and administrative staff are excellent. The parent community is very cohesive and provides an abundant support to the students and the school. We have three children attending currently. We have two older childrent who attended very good public schools but the education from Our Lady of the Lake is far superior. Add the aspect of a faith based education and its a home run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

The education is what you'd expect out of a parochial school. Expect nearly two-plus hours of homework from your child from 4th-grade and above. The faculty and staff are sub-par when dealing with students with behavioral/emotional issues. They simply lack the resources and know-how to help. Was new to the school when our student arrived in the 3rd-grade and found it hard to break into the clique of other parents. This school community has a lot of money, and it can be hard to keep up with the Joneses. Proceed with caution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2007

We moved to Oregon from the East Coast and my child started at OLL as a seventh grader. She is there now and has had a wonderful experience! What a warm and caring community of teachers, administrators, and parents. Plus the students, despite the fact that many had been together since kindergarten, were open to newcomers and very friendly. I went to parochial school myself (in Virginia) and my older children attended parochial school (in Maryland), and I would compare OLL very favorably. I was sorry to read the few negative reviews because they do not reflect our experience at our Lady of the Lake! We feel very blessed to have found such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

Thuis is an exellent school. I am currently attending this school as a seventh grader. I highly recomend sending your child here, especially an older student. The teachers are strict but fair. You work hard but you play hard. Our Lady of the Lake highly prepares you for highschool. The teachers are wonderfull, understanding, and full of enthusiasm. This is the best education I have ever had, and this is the best you can get. signed ~Haley~
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2006

My child went to Our Lady of the Lake and never came home with a smile. She always came home complaining about how the teachers were clueless about what they were teaching. I recommened that you do not have your child attend Our Lady of the Lake for the same reasons. My child's experience with this school was miserable. It's hard to see your child go through school with never seeing that beatiful smile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2004

We have hardly anything good to say about our experience at OLL, and we are saying nothing good about OLL to anyone and everyone who will listen. God help the child who is either very bright or very challenged because Our Lady of the Lake s faculty and administration are totally incapable of dealing with them. We hope that things change some day at Our Lady of the Lake, but doubt there is much of a chance with the current faculty and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

716 A Avenue
Lake Oswego, OR 97034
Phone: (503) 636-2121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sojourner School
Milwaukie, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT