Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Grove Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 506 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

My child has not yet been diagnosed with an LD. But my child gets pulled out for extra reading. There's no communication on progress or concerns, except for negative comments on a report card. I'm positive there is a learning problem here. I was hoping it would improve with age. Instead we're losing precious time. In order for a formal evaluation, I will have to initiate it myself. BTW, the children with more severe issues are sent to a different school in the community. There is not much inclusion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Currently a High School student, one year from graduation. I have had both joyous and nostalgic feelings about Lake Grove Elementary from the days of being a student. But one thing I can say honestly is that the school staff is absolutely kind, caring, and amazing. The two aspects I'll never forget about going to this school is the colorful, diverse, and eccentric group of teachers who've always connected with me, and the rudimentary teachings I obtained from the school that have supported me through most of my life.


Posted December 27, 2012

To the post bellow, it sounds like your daughetr has the same teacher my son had in 3rd grade a number of years ago . He NO longer attends that school. I would love to be able to post her name. She should not be teaching. Be your daughters advocate, don't let teachers damage her self- esteem or self-confidence. Don't put up with them and have your daughter suffer the consequences . My son is a 4.0 student and much happier at another school district where teachers are warm and truly care about him . It is amazing the change he had just by pulling him out of that awful school district. He is extremely self confident and most of all he has a natural love for learning . LO schools are not what people post here! Be aware parents that academically it is a huge disappointment for those kids who are smarter than the average and need to be challenged. Great for those who are average students. They will succeed here in mediocrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

I have two children attending Lake Grove. One of them is a third grader and I have been struggling for the last couple of months understanding the teaching style of the teacher. Tottaly unfair, ignoring the good things about a student and pointing out frequently at what she thinks is wrong, with questionable disciplining techniques. She is very abrasive in her teaching style and I do not get at all the "caring" about your child side. I want my children to do well academically but at the same time I want my children to develop into happy,confident adults. She might be teaching reading and science right but she is far away from being a supportive,nurturing teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

We have been extremely happy with our choice to send our children to Lake Grove. We have two children in the school with two very different learning styles and they are both thriving. Our son had a few issues with transferring into the more challenging 3rd grade last year and the teacher was amazing and worked with him closely to get him up to speed. She gave him the extra attention and gave us the information needed to bring his grades up as well as foster his love of learning. To me, that is the most important part of elementary school. My daughter is a fast learner and the school has challenged her. I love the blend system for 1-2 and 3-4. My daughter will be able to move up a grade level for the subjects she is ready for next year. We are very down to earth people and were worried about the social aspects of living in a mostly affluent community and we've been pleasantly surprised. These are normal kids with awesome parents. The community is not snobby, but instead is warm and caring to everyone at the school. I volunteer often and never feel out of place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

We moved to Lake Oswego for the schools, and we have been very happy at Lake Grove. The teachers have done a great job of challenging the kids, while keeping them engaged in the material. There is great parent involvement and a sense of community here. Lake Oswego is also starting a spanish immersion program (K-5) that will be located at Lake Grove and available by lottery to all local families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2010

This school gives children a great challenge, as well as helpful teachers and a great math program... even super smart kids are chalanged


Posted April 27, 2010

This school is great. Parent involvement is what makes a school great. Over 90% involvement with the PTA, teachers that care, and good kids. Not much diversity, but it is Lake Oswego- what did you expect? Great school. As far as bullies are concerned- are there any schools that can truly regulate this well? If so, let us know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

This school does not have the high academic expectations that one would expect from L.O. Discipline and academic curriculum leave much to be desired. The reading program is a joke. Parents volunteering at the school does not mean it is a good academic school. Way over rated by all these posts !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

Lake Grove is the kind of school where you feel a part of things the minute you step in the door. They have a huge presence in our community, and it is a place that exudes warmth, collaboration, and a commitment to children.


Posted June 30, 2009

We moved to Lake Oswego 5 years ago and have been extremely happy at Lake Grove! The entire staff is excellent from our top notch principal to every last dedicated teacher, aide, and support staff. We have an incredibly involved parent population - the parking lot is full every day with cars of parents volunteering in the classroom. There are so many wonderful enrichment programs throughout the year - science fair, music programs, theater, culture travel, art literacy just to name a few. I have not seen or heard of any real bullying, and the staff is extremely responsive to any issues that arise. All of Lake Oswego's schools are rated excellent, but Lake Grove has been just wonderful for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

We moved to Lake Oswego because of the schools. They do not appear to be any different than any other school district. The education is no better and there are still bullies that they don't do anything about. The only difference is that they expect more funds to come from the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

The teachers are just Excellent...It is so amazing
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2007

Lake Grove is an excellent elementary school in an affluent, mostly professional neighborhood. Therefore, the children come to school well prepared to study. Parents are highly active in the classroom and in extracurricular activities. At least partly due to these factors, the teachers perform at a generally high level. Alas, the curriculum is subject to the same politically correct issues one must deal with at public schools in the Portland metro area. History is not taught. Your children will learn more about the race issues of the sixties than the advancement of equality brought about by the American Revolution. Math is similarly prisoner to 'progressive' education theories; however, most students will learn math reasonably well. Lake Grove is one of the last schools in America to cling to 'blended' classromms, i.e. two grades in the same room. These problems aside, LGES is a very, very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

Lake Grove is a great school and has great teachers and students. They really care about the students and have an amazing learning environment for everyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2006

I rate Lake Grove grade school number 1# Becasue the teachers there really care about there students! And the schools are the best in lake Oswego!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Writing

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students>=95%
Female92%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities>=95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities>=95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students>=95%
Female94%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students>=95%
Female94%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities>=95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students>=95%
Female91%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 66%
Asian 8% 4%
Hispanic 4% 21%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Black 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15777 SW Boones Ferry Rd
Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone: (503) 534-2357

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Touchstone School
Lake Oswego, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT