Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Grove Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2013

We moved to this neighborhood specifically so that our children could attend Rivergrove and have not been disappointed in the least. In fact, the teachers and administration have continually exceeded our expectations. The parent involvement and sense of community is more than we could have asked for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

As a new Kindergarten parent and a new Oregon resident, we were thrilled with River Grove Elementary! We moved to Lake Oswego specifically for the school the district (we were previously in a neighboring city). Our son was in a class size of 21 and his teacher was phenomenal! We found the teachers, staff and fellow parents welcoming, encouraging and helpful! We are thrilled with our decision to move to this area and strongly encourage others to do the same!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

My older son attended River Grove for the last five years, and it is just the best school in the world and I am so sad for him to leave it and move on to Junior High, but we look forward to returning and visiting to say 'hi!'. The staff is warm, welcoming, caring and supportive beyond any parents' highest hopes and our lives have truly been touched by so many of them. My younger son participated in a different program and went to several other Lake Oswego Schools (including RG) and while the education and expectations are excellent at each and every one, none can hold a candle to River Grove, the spirit of the school and the atmosphere are exceptional beyond compare. Thank you to the staff, student body and fellow parents for making these last five years count so much :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

Last year was a terrible experience. My daughter's teacher had severe boundary issues and was well below the line of professional. Additionally, I found out that my first grader was not going to one of her classes only after she had not attended for approximately two weeks. When I asked the staff, office, etc., what this was based on, they said that my daughter told them that I said she didn't have to go! Instead, she had been going to the office each day at that time to hang out and read books. Are you kidding me? No phone call, no note. They just took her word for it. Fortunately, I had been in one day to check on her progress or I would have never known!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

We moved from overseas and we were so glad that our children were able to start at this school. The school have been so helpful,accomodating,kind and nurturing to our family. Academic expectations are high but children are supported in achieving them. Our children just love going to school and have made a smooth transition. The principal is very visible and accessable,the teachers fantastic and the school community friendly. Lastly the office ladies are exceptional,they really promote a warm welcome and feeling to this school. Thank you so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I am so thankful that we are in this school's district. They are the only school in the Lake Oswego district that has the Title 1A (reading tutoring) program. My daughter has benefited so much from being here. They are a smaller school, and they really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

My son attended the school from 1st to 6th grades and my daughter is still there. River Grove is an exceptional school with exceptional teachers and staff. Time and again I saw them go far beyond our expectations to help see kids succeed. For instance, I once called the secretary before school to see if anyone was available to clarify some homework my son was confused about. This was a special day and most teachers were all on a common meeting and therefore not available to assist. The school secretary literally dropped what she was doing to go and find my son and locate some assistance for him! His teachers consistently found new and challenging assignments for him that resulted in his love for the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

River Grove ha great teachers, principal and staff. A wonderful small school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

River Grove is an excellent school that has excellent teachers and a caring staff. The PTA is dedicated and the overall parent involvment is amazing. This school has won the robotics competition and is one of the top elementary schools in the district for math and reading. My two kids have been there for two years after a relocation and are very happy with the caring, respectful atmosphere. This is a consistent excellence winner and based on the staff and parental involvment should remain there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

River Grove is an amazing, amazing school, that my kids landed in by chance, and I clung to tooth and nail, though I moved out of the district twice within the school year. The staff is amazing, and went above and beyond what is expected to help our family, and to help my son, who experienced significant behavioral and learning challenges throughout the year. I relocated to Oregon from far far away, and the River Grove staff made amazind efforts to help us get by and feel accepted. Amazing school and teachers. Period. Amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female82%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation50%

Reading

All Students78%
Female85%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female82%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 65%
Hispanic 9% 21%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5850 SW McEwan Rd
Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone: (503) 534-2363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Victory Academy
Tualatin, OR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT