Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Memorial Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 525 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2010

The school is a great school the teachers an staff really care about the kids there an have made a difference in my child's learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Nothing but bad experiences at this school. My child brought home incomplete work, ungraded work. Principal doesn't work to solve problems. Won't give you a teacher you request, even if it is in the best interest of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Great school, awesome teachers, awesome principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I honestly think this school is great, my daughter has finally cheered back up and has a positive outlook on school which is very important for kids to have. The staff I have encountered and the principal are great! This school really knows how to handle their money also, I feel confident that when I buy anything from fund raisers or put money into the school, I see where the money is going and that really is a great feeling that the school puts kids first. This really is a fun and great school! Also I must add that The principal is always around, he is very nice and very welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

I have three children in this school, all of them doing very well, this school has helped us out in so many ways its been a wonderful experience being part of this school, all academic and social aspects are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

My daughter had a horrible experience in this school! Her confidence was only lowered by her teachers and peers. I changed schools right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2006

Wasn't happy with this school. Poor leadership. My child was held in continually from recess to finish class work and I wasn't notified that there was a problem nor was my child given the option to complete the work at home and didn't receive adequate assistance at school. Most of my child's work was required to be completed at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

I have been very impressed with Memorial school so far. Last year my son had a serious medical condition and I had him home to monitor him. The staff quickly alerted the school nurse and I recieved a personal call and consultation appt. Then , the info. was passed to all involved with my son so I didn't have to worry about a relapse when I wasn't with him.I appreciated the whole process and caring staff very much! Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

Memorial is a wonderful school. The staff are wonderful. It is a warm and welcoming enviroment for children and parents. I have had 7 children attend this school and the education, opportunities,kindness and caring of memorial and its staff were pricless to me and my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners92%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female>=95%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners77%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learners67%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female93%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female86%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 66%
Hispanic 15% 21%
Asian 2% 4%
Black 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 West 14th St
McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone: (503) 565-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bethel Christian School
McMinnville, OR


Newby Elementary School
McMinnville, OR


Cook Elementary School
McMinnville, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT