Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Medford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

This school is does not live up to the promises the administration makes. They are so afraid of losing any money from tuition dollars they are unable to adequately discipline students due to being afraid of offending any parents. Bullying is rampant and unchecked despite what the administration would like you to believe. The curriculum is just adequate. The facility is crumbling. The narrow worldview and arrogance of the administration is horrifying. I would not recommend this school to anyone but the most hardline catholic families with catholic stepford children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

My kids went to school at SHCS and they loved it! We moved to SoCal, and one of the things I regret the most is leaving Sacred Heart - the school has set high standards for me that I have a hard time finding a school that meets my expectations. Even within the first few weeks, we realized that the curriculum at SHCS was advanced. I hope the parents and the students know how good an education they are getting from that school. Everyone there was nice, warm, and accommodating. It was great being a part of that special family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

Our 2 boys started Sacred Heart last year and have had an excellent experience! My older son was a little behind in reading when he began. The teacher assessed him and he began seeing the reading specialist every day. Before the end of the academic year he was totally caught up. The teachers, administration and staff are very caring and positive. They make learning a joyful experience every day for our children. The boys have a nice rapport with their teachers who make them feel special. We also appreciate the emphasis on living the message of Jesus.The children at Sacred Heart are taught to be kind and honest. We feel blessed to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

This school is very disappointing....I sent my two kids to this school because I expected higher education environment and great teachers....oh, no...some teachers were so mean and unreasonably strict on kids...also, some staffs are extremely arrogant and always ignore parents' opinions and feelings. Furthermore, if your child is liberal and has strong will, this school will make your child depressed because of their rediculous rules...Moms! Please open your eyes and avoid this school...you won't regret....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

having small class sizes with teachers who care about the students education and overall well being help create a great environment for kids. I attended Sacred Heart from K-8th grade, all my best memories are from the time spent there. The teachers are enthusiastic about the subjects they teach and while they do not force religion onto anyone, they spread Christ's message of love and compassion to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

I went to Sacred Heart for ten years and had a blast. It has such a tight community and fantastic teachers. It has been lacking a good administration for a good four years now, but as a student, it was worth it. There are so many events and extra curricular activities that go on, and every year is a new adventure. The music department is by far my favorite part of Sacred Heart, but it was all great fun. The teachers there are so kind and you can tell they love their jobs. Few exceptions. As a student who went there for so long, I can tell you your child will benifit from this school and the people around it. it has a great staff and the classes are all very one on one with the teachers and the students. The discipline is above average, wich makes a very safe environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

We relocated from So California to the Medford area because of a temp job transfer. Without offending anyone I was extremely terrified that my daughter would not get the quality of education that she would have gotten if she entered private school in California. I met with the teachers, principal, and administrative staff over a 2 month period before enrolling my child and I was blown away at just about everything. The staff, teachers are phenominal and my daughter loves this school. I have noticed a huge change in my daughter, she loves learning and has learned so much!! My only wish for this private school is that I wish they would enforce the uniform policy and make the uniforms much more traditional! I also wish they would allow the younger kids (Preschool & Pre-K) classes to attend the weekly mass that they currently do for the K-8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I am a parent of 2 children at Sacred Heart. I have one in elementary and the other finishing the middle school. I have found the vast majority of the staff is dedicated not only to the children and their education but also to the kids a individuals. We have also loved the sense of community that comes with being at Sacred Heart. I am a true believer that you get out of an experience what you put in and volunteer alot hours as do so many others at the school. I feel my kids will leave Sacred Heart with a better education, a wonderful sense of communtiy and prepared to go on to whatever faces them. As a last thought, we are not a Catholic family and have never felt out of place or pressured to become one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

My daughter attended Sacred Heart School and I was very disappointed with the quality of education and marginal teachers. The administration needs to be brought from aggression to a catholic environment focused on children education. I would not recommend this school as a high standard of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

My children both attended Sacred Heart School. We found the teachers and staff to be of the highest caliber. Their dedication to meeting our students' individual needs was incredible. The involvement of parents at this school is also phenomenal. Sacred Heart School has an outstanding reputation in the local area for providing quality education to Rogue Valley students for over 150 years. I can proudly recommend this school. Parents should stop in for a visit and see the caring atmosphere evident in all areas of this K-8 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 65%
Hispanic 12% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patrick Reeder
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (541) 732-0633

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

431 South Ivy Street
Medford, OR 97501
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 772-4105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Crossroads School
Medford, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT