Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Medford High School 4

Posted June 14, 2016
- a community member
Had a great experience with teachers who are very passionate about what they do. I also think this school has a great sense of community and school spirit.

South Medford High School 4

Posted March 30, 2008
- a community member
The school remodel couldn't come soon enough, because the building could use some work. But I strongly believe that nearly every other aspect of SMHS is fantastic.


South Medford High School 5

Posted November 19, 2007
- a student
I love this school, It's absolutley amazing. I'm in the band program and we travel to entertain our crowd. South does have some downs but it also has school spirit, teachers that care, things to do, and ways to keep students active and out of harms way.

South Medford High School 5

Posted October 26, 2007
- a student
South Medford is a wonderful school in some aspects, and not so great in others. There are numerous clubs, extracurricular activities, and sports that students can participate in, and these groups frequently exceed in competitive events. The music program is one of a kind; it is arguably the best in Southern Oregon in secondary education. South sports are quite exceptional. There are many outstanding teachers that work at South. They make it a unique and enjoyable environment for those students who are there to learn. Then again, there are those few who don't do very well as teachers. Administration is average, but once again, individual people keep it above standard. Many classes (including AP) are available. If the student is willing to get involved, he/she will find plenty to do. The smaller campus provides for a more together-like community. We are a diverse school, and have a relatively large Latino population.

South Medford High School 1

Posted June 18, 2007
- a parent
After 9+ years in this school district, I will say there are some amazing teachers there to help compensate for the lousy administration. If you try to talk to the Registrar to transfer credits, the Principal, the assistant principals, watch out (double check them)! From the very top to the very bottom in administration (excluding the secretaries), you will find apathy, bureaucracy, a general breakdown in compassion or thoughfulness towards the students and some very power-hungry individuals trying to get to the top via any means possible. There is a lot of 'teaching' dishonesty and, it is my opinion, that if the administration itself lacks integrity, the entire system of teaching will not work well. It is also my opinion that the teachers are bound by some very power-hungry administrators. The kids are powerless. This is what government is known for. Take a number and hope they're in a good mood./


South Medford High School 4

Posted December 15, 2005
- a parent
High availabilty of extracurricular activities. AP classes available. Lots of clubs. Awesome arts dept. Very competitive top notch sports programs.

South Medford High School 2

Posted August 29, 2005
- a parent
Poor involvement in the students emotional needs, peer pressures, what's going on among the students towards one another. Parental involvment is low unless your child is in a special needs class, then the parent, teacher & student interactive involvement is good. My daughters did terrible at this school, my son; with special needs did well. It is sad that the students can run like they do, without suppervision and guidence; they all need it and few receive it at home or at school. My youngist daughter who is a junior this year, is being transferred to a different school, and last year was homeschooled 1/2 year and went to a private school the other 1/2 of the year.

South Medford High School 5

Posted July 09, 2004
- a student
I love this school and the music and sports programs they provide. I encourage you to enroll your child/s in South Medford. They have great activities, and are always envolved with the students.

Nearby schools

South Medford High School
1551 Cunningham Ave, Medford, OR  97501
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (541) 842-3680
Last modified South Medford High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top