Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Medford High School 5

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Medford High School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


South Medford High School 1

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Medford High School 4

Posted March 30, 2008
- a community member
The school remodel couldn't come soon enough, because the building could use some work. But I strongly believe that nearly every other aspect of SMHS is fantastic.

South Medford High School 1

Posted February 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


South Medford High School 5

Posted December 03, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Medford High School 5

Posted November 19, 2007
- a student
I love this school, It's absolutley amazing. I'm in the band program and we travel to entertain our crowd. South does have some downs but it also has school spirit, teachers that care, things to do, and ways to keep students active and out of harms way.

South Medford High School 5

Posted October 26, 2007
- a student
South Medford is a wonderful school in some aspects, and not so great in others. There are numerous clubs, extracurricular activities, and sports that students can participate in, and these groups frequently exceed in competitive events. The music program is one of a kind; it is arguably the best in Southern Oregon in secondary education. South sports are quite exceptional. There are many outstanding teachers that work at South. They make it a unique and enjoyable environment for those students who are there to learn. Then again, there are those few who don't do very well as teachers. Administration is average, but once again, individual people keep it above standard. Many classes (including AP) are available. If the student is willing to get involved, he/she will find plenty to do. The smaller campus provides for a more together-like community. We are a diverse school, and have a relatively large Latino population.


South Medford High School 1

Posted August 15, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

South Medford High School 1

Posted June 18, 2007
- a parent
After 9+ years in this school district, I will say there are some amazing teachers there to help compensate for the lousy administration. If you try to talk to the Registrar to transfer credits, the Principal, the assistant principals, watch out (double check them)! From the very top to the very bottom in administration (excluding the secretaries), you will find apathy, bureaucracy, a general breakdown in compassion or thoughfulness towards the students and some very power-hungry individuals trying to get to the top via any means possible. There is a lot of 'teaching' dishonesty and, it is my opinion, that if the administration itself lacks integrity, the entire system of teaching will not work well. It is also my opinion that the teachers are bound by some very power-hungry administrators. The kids are powerless. This is what government is known for. Take a number and hope they're in a good mood./

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Medford High School
1551 Cunningham Ave, Medford, OR  97501
(541) 842-3680
Last modified South Medford High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Medford High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top