Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bilquist Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Kids learn to do homework, but the amount isn't so great that they can't have a life outside of school.

Bilquist Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Every classroom we have been a part of has given our child regular, constructive feedback on all work products. This helps to keep the students focused on doing the best they can, and striving to do better.


Bilquist Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
School has an active counselor that visits the classrooms to talk about relationships. The school also has a strong anti-bullying program.

Bilquist Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers, great support from administration, active PTA. My child has blossomed at Bilquist. He has received great reading support, and is now reading well above his grade level.

Bilquist Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
School recognizes students for their citizenship and has a "Bronco" program where they actively recognize both kids and classes for being safe, kind, and responsible.


Bilquist Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Gillies (3rd Grade); Mrs. Buzan (4th Grade); Mrs. Meininger (5th Grade). These incredible teachers know how to motivate students (with positive messages and energy) and instill in them a love of learning.

Bilquist Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
I cannot say enough good about Bilquist Elementary. My son started out in private school (kindergarten), and we moved to Bilquist when he was in first grade. I now wish we had attended Bilquist from the start. He has received a first-class education, and his state test results show that he is among the top performers in the nation. His teachers have been unfailingly supportive, responsive and kind, and the PTA, together with the administration, keeps the energy at the school high with events both in and out of school. Unlike at other schools, there is a focus on subjects beyond the "three R's" - they bring in "scientists in residence" to work with the kids on ecology; they bring in artists to work with the students through the "right brain initiative"; they participate in BizTown through Junior Achievement, they have a great music teacher; and they enjoy regular PE. Lastly, I have a comment about how sites like Great Schools compile their ratings. The ratings are based in large part on test scores - and test scores, while convenient, are not the best metric for assessing the quality of a school. Bilquist is blessed with a diversity of students, including many students that are from homes where English is not the first language. These are smart, talented kids that do really well in the classroom, but not, perhaps, on high-stakes standardized testing. As a consequence, Bilquist may not have the highest test scores in the District. What it does have is a well-rounded, supportive, and high quality learning environment. My son will graduate from 5th grade this year very well prepared for middle school and beyond.

Bilquist Elementary School 1

Posted March 03, 2011
- a parent
I went to this school K-6 grade. It used to be a great school back then. Recently one of my kids went there and we did not have the same good experience I did as a kid. There is poor communication with the parents and they seem to not really care about the kids at times. Several times different kids had situations with bullying where the teachers did not alert the parents of what was happening or help to stop the conflict between the kids.


Bilquist Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
Very easy to work with the staff of Bilquist. They do care about the children, and after getting rid of the prior principal, Petty, this school is only getting better.

Bilquist Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
this school is outstanding, amazing, out of this world i cant even think of enough words to discribe how awsome this school is. i reccomend it for all ages. you cant go wrong with bilquist elementary

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bilquist Elementary School
15708 SE Webster Rd, Milwaukie, OR  97267
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (503) 353-5340
Last modified Bilquist Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top