Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wichita Elementary School

Public | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2011

Since i attended Wichita elementary. i hated it. Also the staff principle teachers and the students were nice there. But what happened is when i was disrespectful. And they had to put me in this locked room so that i would control my behavior. And i am not surprised that they cannot handle violent students. But in my case i don't like it. But the programs and education there was great and learning for students was amazing. And when i always ran away and i was trying to jump off a tall height. And also when i was running and trying my best not to get caught. I was always fast and was running in the cafeteria soon after. And when i was attacking too. And Mrs miller the principle used to be nice. But she Threatened to call dhs and the police on me. And when i was sent to the room and principle's office for my behavior i was angry. And they abused me here. And when my parents were called they had to pick me up from the school. But I'm telling you that i am not attending this school anymore. Nor if i go here one more time. The school was rude. The staff were violent. And they had to chase me for one minute to get me to calm down. I will not be going to this school for what they did.


Posted December 17, 2007

I am an alumni student of Wichita, My daughters both went to wichita as well as my aunt and my mom. It is a small school with a very caring staff. I could always pick up a phone and ask questions about my children and get responses right away. They always did the little extra if my daughters need a little extra explaining or help. Any school is as good as Parents, teachers and children make it. I became very involved in the WKPT, by doing this you are also making sure you have an input into your childs academics. It helps make life long memories for your child and yourself. I know it did for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

My child is in class size of 26! To me that is way too many children for one teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

Wichita is a great learning facility, with teachers and staff that CARE about our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

Poor school. Uninvolved and uncaring principal. Office staff slow and unfriendly. No structure and very behind in academics. Very small lunch room for students to eat, so they are rushed. Would not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

This school was the best school I ever attended. Ever since I transfered to Alki Jr.High, I am depressed and miss Wichita so much.I was the fifth generation in my family to go there, and I am the only one in my family that attended that school that doesn't get to finish.The staff was really great,like my family.Everyone was so involved with everything and there was wonderful music programs.That was the best school,and i would reccomend it to anyone,but between the ages of 5 and 12,Of Course! -Amy Yerman,age 12,former withita student of 2005.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6031 SE King Rd
Milwaukie, OR 97222
Phone: (503) 653-3697

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT