Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Molalla River Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2013

Molalla River Middle School is an amazing school!!! My child loves the teachers, the students, and has had a great experience! In addition, he feels connected to the school and enjoys going each and every day. To find out more about Molalla River Middle School go to Oregonlive and search for Oregon School Performance Ratings 2012. Just look at how well this school is performing! The Molalla School District rates equal, and in many cases higher, than most schools in the area. Molalla River Middle School has higher rankings than Estacada, Sandy, Colton, Gladstone, Molalla Charter Schools, etc. and ranks equal to Lake Oswego and West Linn/Wilsonville. The only difference is that this district does not receive as much funding for low poverty schools as most of the schools in the surrounding area. The last review for Molalla River Middle school on this website was 3 years ago. A lot has changed at the middle School in this short period of time! It's exciting to see the improvements! Way to go MRMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

Although the building is in much need of love, the teachers and staff are wonderful. I came from a very bad school before i came to Molalla, and i must say I have learned more in one year here than I did in three years there. If i ever have a question, the teachers are always more then willing to answer. If a student is struggling with something the teachers often will offer to stay after school or help during lunch. The class sizes aren't bad. Over all if i was ever asked weather or not this is a good school, is would say yes.


Posted May 10, 2010

The school is in needs to be torn down (very bad condition), the student, staff and teacher moral is very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I am a student at Molalla River Middle School and the school its self is in real need of being tore down and rebuilt. This school used to be the high school, then elementary, and now the middle school. It has seen better years, definatly. The faculty members range from nice and helpful to just getting threw the day and not caring. Some teachers, most that I have met, just want to get threw the day and don't care what you have to say. A few have been nice and helpful, most of these have been sixth grade teachers. Over all this school has been the worst I have ever gone to, and I have been to 5 different schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

My student has the best teacher! I thought about putting her in a private school, but am so glad I opted for public school. My daughter loves her teacher and can't wait to go to school daily. Great School, Awesome teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Molalla River Middle School, lacks in many areas, none of them concerning environment or building codes. It has been my experience that parents find a great deal of resistance when attempting to interact with teachers/staff. I find the lack the basics of 'teach by example' philosophy and do not hold themselves to the same standards as they hold students. There is no accountability for staff. Example: my son lost his locker for one week for forgetting a to put a book into it at the end of class a consequence 'made to make the student accountable for themselves'. A member of the office staff failed to pass on a phoned-in requested change of after school destination - the question regarding holding that staff member accountable fell on deaf ears and the two messages I left were never returned. I am currently seeking alternative schooling for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

I feel the teachers are stretched too thin and have lost interest and sight of their goals. Many children fall between the cracks and I have the strong sense that 'state test scores' take a much larger focus then individual students success. I am looking into out of town, private schooling for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

great sense of community, building is in disrepair, teachers take a strong interest in the kids......I like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

Hello, I am writing here to inform other parents about this school. My student went there and did not recieve much help. She would ask numerous amounts of times and they just set her needs aside. She enjoyed the music class, but had to stop going because her clarinet was stolen. And the room where they practice is locked. I dont know how that happened and I payed for it myself and it was a big loss for her. ALso I was not involved much here, I wasn't informed at all about how my child was doing or what she was doing. So I would reconsider enrolling your child here. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female58%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners50%
Migrant60%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female61%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracial64%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners13%
Migrant40%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrant70%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation10%

Reading

All Students72%
Female70%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrant40%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation11%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Migrant63%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation38%

Reading

All Students63%
Female65%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Migrant25%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation24%

Science

All Students68%
Female66%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrant38%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 65%
Hispanic 15% 21%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

318 Leroy
Molalla, OR 97038
Phone: (503) 829-6133

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ninety-One School
Hubbard, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT