Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Newberg, OR
Students enrolled: 240
Before care: No
After care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Veritas, we seek to challenge students individually at all levels and teach them how to learn by using the well-proven classical method. Veritas School's mission is to cultivate wisdom, virtue and godliness by providing an excellent, Christ-centered classical education. A Veritas education begins by nurturing a child s natural sense of wonder and developing it into the intellectual curiosity of a graduate who is prepared to engage the world with purpose and confidence. Veritas is committed to providing a classical education where students acquire the tools of learning that will lead them to become lifelong learners. Veritas School acknowledges that all life, knowledge and meaning extend from our Creator. This approach requires that all subjects, whether history, art, music, mathematics or science be taught with God at the core. At Veritas, Jesus isn t just present or prominent - He is preeminent. This reality impacts life in the classroom. I would encourage you to visit Veritas School and see for yourself what makes us so different.
February 05, 2015

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

24 reviews of this school


Veritas School 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a student
To a previous reviewer who asked why Veritas needs a marketing department: because it's a small private school in a small town that will most likely only be known as home of wine country and possibly George Fox; because yes, Veritas does rely on donational and volunteer support for its survival. How is this at all bad? We all thank those who make Veritas possible through their caring donations, volunteering, and other support, for they have thanked God for blessing them with abundance by seeing fit to bless others as well. Well, the afore mentioned reviewer says that the marketing department exists to hide all the bad reviews, to sweep all the bad stuff under the rug. It exists rather to show the world Veritas's virtues in spite of reviewers who simply take joy in lashing out and trying to catch Veritas red-handed, implicating her of many crimes often on evidence which is simply at ends with the experience of the majority at Veritas. The world has already heard enough bad about Veritas from reviewers, so it is the job of the marketers (criticized more) to make sure the truth of the good gets out as well, since no one honestly pays as much attention to good reviews as to bad.

Veritas School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a student
I have been going to this school for 9 years and I am now a senior. The school has not only taught us virtue and godliness, but how to be virtuous and godly with flexibility and open mindedness while interacting with everyday issues in the world. We're given a broad and all-encompassing education in order that the individual gifts in each of us may be best expressed. When my family and I first joined the Veritas family, we were immediately welcomed with open arms. Nine years later, not only my class but all the highschool has become my family, and the teachers my caring mentors. Out of all the extracurriculars, our concert choir (currently state champions) has 75% of our whole high school which shows our love for teamwork, expression, and glorifying God through music. Seeing these negative reviews makes me sad because it is not at all consistent with my nine years here at Veritas and I know all my peers would say the same.


Veritas School 2

Posted May 03, 2015
- a parent
My kids attended Veritas when I taught there. There are good people at the school, but the administration is very difficult. There is ONE way to do things. For a Christian school, the arrogance and lack of grace in the administration is appalling. There is a marked difference in the way that they treat parents with money/connections. The admin. interprets classical in the most uncreative manner possible. Teachers are encouraged to go for a particular "look" over good teaching. Students should sit in rows and work on seat work. Students are all expected to fit in a very narrow "box" and many students will not fit that box. Students are encouraged to behave well outwardly for the public view, but there is not a lot of encouragement to develop real, inward kindness, or self-control. There is a LOT of homework. Worse, the school is masterful at making parents feel as if they have no other options and will damage their students if they leave; that "no one else has a problem with this; and that *any* concerns are "gossip" and not to be tolerated. (IMO, this whole way of delegitimizing parents leaves the school ripe for long-term abuse.)

Veritas School 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a teacher
I think it's rather sad that, from what we can tell, the negative reviews are being written by the same couple parents...who still have their children at Veritas. If this school is really that bad for your kids, then please find a place that's right for your family. We've never said that Veritas is perfect - and we've never said it's the best school for every child. Obviously, you feel it's not right for yours. We're sorry if that's the case, but then isn't it your choice to stay or go?

Veritas School 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
The negative reviews here seem very strange to us and not at all consistent with our positive experience at Veritas. I guess some parents had some disappointing experiences here. The elementary faculty is wonderful and they all seem to be sticking around for years at a time.


Veritas School 1

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Warning the marketing department of Vertias does not want you to read all the reviews here. That is why they keep adding good reviews to the top. These reviews are from basically the same people - the marketing department. You need to ask yourself why such a small school needs a marketing department. Don t be fooled read all the reviews here. If you visit the school make sure you ask about teacher turnover and don t just settle for an it s very low here answer, look at their past yearbooks you will see. Also make sure you read the fine print on Tuition Obligation. If you sign your child up for Veritas for the next year, then you learn during the summer the school board has voted to not let parents vote for school board members anymore, and you decide you no longer want your child at Veritas, you are on the hook for 50% of the year s tuition even before the school year has started. By September 15 you are on the hook for 100% of the year s tuition when you have only been there for 2 weeks. They will go after you for the money, best thing to do is not sign your child up for Veritas.

Veritas School 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a school leader
At Veritas, we seek to challenge students individually at all levels and teach them how to learn by using the well-proven classical method. Veritas School's mission is to cultivate wisdom, virtue and godliness by providing an excellent, Christ-centered classical education. A Veritas education begins by nurturing a child s natural sense of wonder and developing it into the intellectual curiosity of a graduate who is prepared to engage the world with purpose and confidence. Veritas is committed to providing a classical education where students acquire the tools of learning that will lead them to become lifelong learners. Veritas School acknowledges that all life, knowledge and meaning extend from our Creator. This approach requires that all subjects, whether history, art, music, mathematics or science be taught with God at the core. At Veritas, Jesus isn t just present or prominent - He is preeminent. This reality impacts life in the classroom. I would encourage you to visit Veritas School and see for yourself what makes us so different.

Veritas School 5

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
The comments about the board and Administration that others have posted are highly over exaggerated. Our family has been at Veritas for a long time, and I can honestly say that I have dealt with, or know all of these people well enough to say that they operate in a prayerful manner and always with integrity. They care about the Veritas community as a whole, which makes it more like a family than a school. Our family has been so blessed by this school, by the way it operates and by the topnotch teaching. I would encourage anyone who is interested to take a look for yourself.


Veritas School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
I will keep it brief. No school is perfect. Veritas, however, manages to consistently provide a high quality Christian education, with a high quality academic education, at a price level that normal people can afford if they make the hard choices. The issues and faces have changed over the years, but the people that make Veritas happen have succeeded year after year now in keeping and growing the school. Are things not perfect in all areas, and not perfect for all people. Of course. It does not take much work to find problems in anything, what it does take work and blessing to do, is to build an institution that consistently produces results. Veritas has served our family very well. If you are making plans for your child/teenager and want a Christian and academically challenging education at a very reasonable price point, then Veritas should be in your top 3 to look at, and really deserves an in person visit.

Veritas School 3

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
Mostly 4 & 5-star teachers. 2-star administration. We have two current K-6 students. Useful insider info: (1) Tuition is 50% non-refundable after Aug. 1st and 100% after Sept 15th. (2) Teacher contracts are not offered until spring, so the teacher you preview may not be the teacher your child has. We experienced this twice, once with unacceptable results. (3) No hard class-size cap exists, nor a policy to provide aides for classes over the recommended maximum of 20 (K-6) and 22 (7-12). Three K-6 classes currently exceed 20 students. (4) Parents have no power to hold the school accountable. After the May 2014 election, which ended in a tie, the Board changed the school bylaws so that it now selects all future members. The administration generally responds to parental input with lip service and little to no action. (5) The bargain price relies heavily on parent volunteers, i.e. no paid janitors or recess aides, minimal class aides, carpools for ALL field trips. Volunteering a lot has no effect on the school s receptivity to a parent s input, dampening parental enthusiasm to volunteer. In sum: Generally strong academics, frustratingly inflexible administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Veritas School
401 Mission Dr, Newberg, OR  97132
(503) 538-1962
Last modified Veritas School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Veritas School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top