Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Newberg, OR
Students enrolled: 240
Before care: No
After care: No
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I'd like to respond to a couple comments. In 19 years, we have had a few teachers leave, but very rarely due to an issue, as alleged. Most retired or moved for reasons not school related. Unfortunately, a much-loved teacher chose to leave last spring and some parents were upset. That's the basis for the three negative reports. And I can assure you that there hasn't been any decline in the elementary. Also, Veritas does not require teachers' children to attend Veritas whether or not they're able. We provide free tuition and with that ask that if their kids are able to attend, they do. However, if a teacher doesn't think a child can handle the academics, it's in their contract that he/she can ask the board to waive that, which has been granted several times. Also, we had a marketing job open up and a board member was the most qualified. With only a few months before the election, it would have been far worse to make a temporary change. The Lord has truly blessed Veritas in so many special ways. Please come visit and see them first hand.
November 19, 2014

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Veritas School 5

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
The comments about the board and Administration that others have posted are highly over exaggerated. Our family has been at Veritas for a long time, and I can honestly say that I have dealt with, or know all of these people well enough to say that they operate in a prayerful manner and always with integrity. They care about the Veritas community as a whole, which makes it more like a family than a school. Our family has been so blessed by this school, by the way it operates and by the topnotch teaching. I would encourage anyone who is interested to take a look for yourself.

Veritas School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
We joined Veritas when our oldest was in the 8th grade and our youngest in the 3rd. We transferred in from another private school where we had experienced a terrible situation of bullying from the students and apathy from the faculty. We heard such great things from other families we decided it was time for a change. Veritas did not disappoint. The culture of family among the students is amazing, the teachers are caring, intelligent and engage each student individually, holding them accountable and encouraging them to reach further. The office staff knows every student in the school by name and cares for them as if they were their own kids. I have see some negative comments about the administration and Board on this site. My only thought must be that they have not taken the time get to know any of these people. If you get to know the Board members (I have met, and talked, with most of them) and the administration, you will see that their hearts are squarely centered on Veritas and the students. They are good men and women following after God and providing what I believe to be a world-class education. If you are considering private school, this has to be one you visit.
1 person found this helpful


Veritas School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
I will keep it brief. No school is perfect. Veritas, however, manages to consistently provide a high quality Christian education, with a high quality academic education, at a price level that normal people can afford if they make the hard choices. The issues and faces have changed over the years, but the people that make Veritas happen have succeeded year after year now in keeping and growing the school. Are things not perfect in all areas, and not perfect for all people. Of course. It does not take much work to find problems in anything, what it does take work and blessing to do, is to build an institution that consistently produces results. Veritas has served our family very well. If you are making plans for your child/teenager and want a Christian and academically challenging education at a very reasonable price point, then Veritas should be in your top 3 to look at, and really deserves an in person visit.
1 person found this helpful

Veritas School 3

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
Mostly 4 & 5-star teachers. 2-star administration. We have two current K-6 students. Useful insider info: (1) Tuition is 50% non-refundable after Aug. 1st and 100% after Sept 15th. (2) Teacher contracts are not offered until spring, so the teacher you preview may not be the teacher your child has. We experienced this twice, once with unacceptable results. (3) No hard class-size cap exists, nor a policy to provide aides for classes over the recommended maximum of 20 (K-6) and 22 (7-12). Three K-6 classes currently exceed 20 students. (4) Parents have no power to hold the school accountable. After the May 2014 election, which ended in a tie, the Board changed the school bylaws so that it now selects all future members. The administration generally responds to parental input with lip service and little to no action. (5) The bargain price relies heavily on parent volunteers, i.e. no paid janitors or recess aides, minimal class aides, carpools for ALL field trips. Volunteering a lot has no effect on the school s receptivity to a parent s input, dampening parental enthusiasm to volunteer. In sum: Generally strong academics, frustratingly inflexible administration.
9 people found this helpful

Veritas School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
Anyone thinking about Veritas for their children will find a highly supportive, first rate school with a strong classical program methodology that challenges students to academic heights as seen in their national test scores and numbers of national merit scholars. Moreover, Veritas mission cultivates a strong Christian foundation and character growth in their students which paves the way for their future in knowing how to think and above all else knowing that God is the giver of all. There are few decisions that have a lasting impact on life and one is the choice of school we made for our two boys. The administration, faculty, and staff have positive relationships and a sincere model of respect for one another at Veritas. This in turn is cultivated and carried out by the students who reciprocate the same respect back to the teachers and among each other as well. There is a strong culture of honor and respect for one another from the elementary grades to the high school. Hence, there is more valuable and quality academic time spent in educating the students. (Continued below)
2 people found this helpful


Veritas School 1

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
There is a very high rate of teacher turnover in elementary. They require all school age children of teachers and staff to attend Veritas, this has contributed greatly to the turnover and decline in quality of the elementary school. They have fallen into a trap of worshiping the school and even classical Christian education instead of having faith in God and his goodness, power, and promises. Why manipulate your staff and faculty if that is not where God is calling them to be?
8 people found this helpful

Veritas School 5

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
Veritas School provides the kind of world-class education every child needs. The teachers, administration, staff and most definitely the Board, have the heart of Veritas in mind. Their goal is to not only provide the best Christian education there is but it is also to ensure that the school lives on for generations of students! If you are looking for a perfect school with no flaws, then I wish you the best of luck. But if you are looking for a place where your child can learn, be valued as an individual and learn from teachers that care about them then you should consider Veritas.
1 person found this helpful

Veritas School 2

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
Agree with another reviewer, sr. administration & school board are elitist. At any school, there will be things that could use improvement. If a parent has input at Veritas: it is not valued, nor welcomed & rarely considered. You quickly find out the board / administration is "my way or the highway", which has lead to a great deal of teacher turn over in the elementary school. They will tell you that the amount of turnover is normal and teacher tenure school-wide averages 10 years. If you're considering K-4, be sure you ask for tenure figures for the teacher in the specific grade: how long have they been teaching that grade at Veritas & you quickly find out about turnover. This is not a reflection on the lower school headmaster, who appears to have no authority (but should have a good deal more), but rather sr. administration / board members. If you are considering middle or high school, the other reviews of children that graduated are probably very appropriate. The middle & high school teachers are largely unchanged. The current elementary school has vastly different teaching staff from the 8+ years ago that their kids were there. I have current elementary students.
9 people found this helpful


Veritas School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Our children graduated from Veritas with an excellent education and now have completed college. A Veritas education focuses more on preparing students to be able to think and to learn and less on content skills, although memorization helped as they had a good foundation from the beginning of their schooling to nurture a love of learning through high school. Their classical training using grammar, logic, and rhetoric, within a Christian context, has helped them succeed in their education and to be fruitful in living their lives.
1 person found this helpful

Veritas School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
Veritas is top notch! All three of our children graduated from Veritas and were well prepared for undergraduate and graduate school. We have been so pleased with the quality education they received at a bargain price. We can't say enough good things about the teachers, the staff, and administration. Given the opportunity, we would go with Veritas again!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Veritas School
401 Mission Dr, Newberg, OR  97132
(503) 538-1962
Last modified Veritas School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Veritas School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top