Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newberg Senior High School 3

Posted September 14, 2013
- a teacher
I am a retired teacher from NHS. My experience was that the staff are doing their best to keep up with expectations. From parents, who want a positive high school experience, but not high academic standards; from district politics, equally interested in their public image and learning; and really nice students who have been led to believe that their main focus ought to be a sort of passive educational experience, not hard work. The AP program is very strong, however, if somewhat exclusive. In subbing elsewhere, I find that expectations for learning are set up in middle school. There seems to be a belief at Newberg middle schools that controlling behavior is more important than teaching how to learn. That said, I feel that the average student gets a decent, if not stellar, education. Extra-curriculars are very good and I am personally in touch with dozens of students who have had very successful lives.

Newberg Senior High School 1

Posted July 31, 2013
- a community member
Teachers are old and lazy, administrators are out of touch and overpaid, small schools structure is absurd (4 separate schools within the high school). Newberg High School is pathetic.


Newberg Senior High School 4

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
I am the same parent who posted in April 2009, my kid is a Senior now. I can't say enough about Green School, our experience has been outstanding. I am giving NHS only 4 out of 5 stars this time because there are a few areas that need improving. There are teachers that shouldn't be teaching, they've obviously lost their drive (if they ever had it) and even though it is common knowledge, nothing changes. The division between the small schools is an issue, one school promotes something and another school will ignore it. It seems the kids have more small school pride than NHS pride. There is a lot of parent involvement and support of athletics and not nearly enough emphasis on academic, dramatic, artistic and service achievements. I believe the parent organization isn't as strong as it should be, there's a small group (mostly athletic parents) who are active, they do a poor job of involving parents of kids who don't play sports. Your experience will vary greatly depending on which color school your child attends, choose carefully. Also, you get out what you put in, I was involved, I encouraged A/P and college credit classes. My kid succeeded and is ready for college.

Newberg Senior High School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
Great school with amazing, dedicated teachers. Everyone in the staff goes above and beyond the call of duty...especially with the small schools they were forced into using.

Newberg Senior High School 2

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
TEACHERS DO NOT KEEP STUDENTS UP TO DATE ON THEIR GRADS NOR DO THEY SPEND ENOUGH TIME WITH THEM WHEN THEY NEED IT. THEY DO NOT UPDATE EDLINE ON A REGULAR BASIS AND LOOSE STUDENTS HOMEWORK OFTEN. WHEN YOU TALK TO MOST TEACHES INSTEAD OF TRYING TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM THEY SHRUG THERE SHOULDERS AND FIND AN EXCUSE. THEY HAVE LATE START, YET ADVISORY CLASSES THAT CONSIST OF NOTHING AND WASTE THE HOURS NEEDED FOR STUDENT TO LEARN YET WE PAY FOR THAT HOUR AS TAX PAYER. THE AVERAGE GRADE IN THAT SCHOOL IS ABOUT A C FOR STUDENTS AND THE TEACHERS HAVE NO REASON TO EXPLAIN THIS. THE DROP OUT RATE IS GAINING AND MOST STUDENTS THINK THE TEACHERS DO NOT KNOW HOW TO TEACH. SO AS FAR AS A 5 START. NOT EVEN CLOSE... AND THEY HAVE HOW MANY PRINCIPLES ??? HOW DO YOU RATE THAT.


Newberg Senior High School 1

Posted October 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Newberg Senior High School 1

Posted August 10, 2009
- a teacher
There is no way this school is an 8 out of 10. The administration does not treat its teachers with respect, nor does it support them. It does not provide appropriate discipline to maintain a positive learning environment. Middle school students from the district have been heard to 'look forward to going to Newberg High School because there are no rules there,' Certainly, 90% of the students seem to have no plans to do any homework at all in high school.

Newberg Senior High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a community member
I am an employee. We are split into 5 small schools. It isn't something everyone likes, but it is there, and in my opinion we are just trying to make it work. Nearly everyone has finally bought into it. The issue from my perspective is the leadership above the principals. This isn't about them though, it is about the school. The leadership at the school is excellent, and the teachers are busting their backs to do everything that is expected of them and more.


Newberg Senior High School 1

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Newberg Senior High School 2

Posted July 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newberg Senior High School
2400 Douglas Rd, Newberg, OR  97132
(503) 554-4400
Last modified Newberg Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newberg Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top