Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Mcloughlin Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

My son is constantly bullied and the staff does nothing about prevention until we threaten with law enforcement. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

JM has wonderful parent support. All the teachers are really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

I have two children at John McLoughlin and I feel fortunate they are at this school. They are both thriving. They have the best teachers. I love the Be Safe, Respectful and Responsible mode of teaching students how to behave and how to get along. Parents are great in this community. They want their kids to do well at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

John McLoughlin Elementary School is fabulous. The princpal and teaching staff are exceptional. Even with high class sizes this school scores the highest in the Oregon City District and is way ahead of the state in student achievement. The teachers work hard to teach students how to be safe, respectful and responsible. Some students who struggle have parents who are not involved or don't believe their children can make mistakes. They hover instead of helping. My hat goes off to the staff and principal for working as hard as they do for our children. I am very happy my kids go to JM!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

John McLoughlin is blessed to have a strong principal, exceptional staff members and an amazing parent support group/volunteer base. This is one of the more affluent OC schools as home owners are predominant vs. renters. I feel the staff takes extra care of the children and we have little to no bullying, etc. - which tells you a lot about the environment. I am blessed my child has attended JM since the beginning and feel that the foundation JM has provided will create a fine person in society some day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I think this school does a great job of trying various ways to teach our children. I think the parent participation is very high and the school does everything possible to encourage that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

There are some good teachers here. However, if you happen to get one that is not; you have no recourse. The class sizes are ~25-28 students per teacher, and parent involvement is above average here. It is located in a wonderful neighborhood. The school has easy access for the neighborhood. Parents are encouraged to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

My child has attended this school through her entire schooling. There have been a vew very inspiring teachers I have to say. But much to my regret the school does put the kids aside in the IEP. The IEP needs to be communicated to the teachers! I had to beg for testing in which finally they agreed. That was way too late and we lost a lot of time. The school is very full and near capacity. The open concept classrooms lacks order and quiet time that each classroom deserves but never gets. Some of the classrooms are just a mess with things sitting everywhere a lot of clutter. There is a lot of self centered children and parents. One good thing they are trying to teach the kids to respect eachother and it has come a log way. The music program is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Formerly our son attended at John Mcloughlin Elementary it was not much of a success this school has a lack of organization their in their programs the children are chaotic spoiled & are lacking of manners. In the main classrooms they focus on children who excell and the others who have any learning difficulties are put aside in IEP or other programs for the learning challenged only to be shuffled out of a normal learning or social events and left behind showing fully by his grades and the environment our son had recieved a poor education with a 1.5 grade average when attending JME he was failing in many areas due the the lack of proper teaching recieved. Thankfuly he has Changed Schools and found a Wonderful Teacher, he is doing so great with a 3.75 grade average shows their teaching skills are Above and Beyond the attempt of McLoughlin Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

My son has been attending John McLoughlin since Kindergarten. He is now in the 3rd grade. Carol Sanders (principal) has been wonderful in attending to all our concerns promptly and respectfully. His 3rd grade teacher Alicia Warner is amazing. She truly is a God send and should be recommended for Teacher of the year. She treats all of the kids in her class room as if they were her own. She is attentive to keeping parents involved and is very open in communication. I also love that the schools demographics allow me to feel my children are safe at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2003

My child goes to this school and so did I when I was young. It seems to just get better every year.The principal and teachers are all very nice and very good with the students.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female67%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Reading

All Students80%
Female78%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female69%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation7%

Reading

All Students87%
Female94%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation23%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Reading

All Students69%
Female67%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Science

All Students77%
Female69%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 65%
Hispanic 6% 21%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19230 South End Rd
Oregon City, OR 97045
Phone: (503) 785-8650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

King Elementary School
Oregon City, OR






Sunset Primary School
West Linn, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT