Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ogden Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 623 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2012

Other parents told me I would love this school, and they were right. The Principal and Staff are fabulous. They care so much about the kids. My student actually got into an issue with another child that resulted in suspension, but the school still rallied around both kids and helped them come back to school more successful in dealing with personal issues. They have some great after school programs. The coaches are very personable and admired. The teachers are very friendly and engaging of the students from what we have witnessed thus far. The parent group actively communicates with the parents. Overall we've been very happy with our experience this last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

It's an awesome scool i love going there!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2009

I am so happy I went to Ogden. I dont think I would have had such great experiences anywhere else!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

My son attended Ogden for 2 years and my daughter will be attending Fall 2008. I have been impressed with the staff and teachers at this school. The teachers are energetic and make learning fun. My son needed a higher level math and we worked with the counseling staff and he was able to attend a math class up at the high school. Overall I have been very pleased with this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

I just started going to Ogden Middle School and i love it! The teachers are great and help you do your best. They offer lots of electives and after school activites and/or extracurricular activities like: archery, Drama, Band, Advanced Band, Volleyball, Dance, cooking, baking, woodshop, choir, foregin languages, tutoring and lots more. We have a great principal- Mr. Olson, and a wonderful Stdent Council group. There is so much you can be a part of at this school. I would highly suggest this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

I just started Ogden middle school, and i didnt think i would like it very musch, but i do. All of the teachers are very nice, and there are many electives like band, jazz band, choir, peer mentoring, cooking, spanish,dance team, vollyball, basketball, and many, Many more. Ogden is a great school, and all of the teachers push you to your fullest potential.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2005

I have been at Ogden for both years and i think it is a great school. My sister goes to Gardiner, and I think that Ogden is better. I like all of the teachers (except one) I was an Osprey and an Eagle. The academic program i think is a perfect one for that grade level. It was a little challenging, but that was how I learned stuff. I still have many, many great memories about Ogden. The only thing that i didn't like is that the school didn't offer an orchestra class, i would have joined it, but there was none. All in all, it was a great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 11, 2004

... ok I'm going there now but the teachers are good. and I think ive learned alot but it would be nice to have higher math corses then algerbra, thats to easy and maybe a writing activity thing 'cause I want to write a story and share it with other kids. but other then that and the popular kids its a GREAT school and I do not want to change it except that now we only get 1 elective when last year we got 3.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2004

I'm not a parent, but I did attend Ogden for two years (2001-2003). Ogden has all the necessary components for a good school: dedicated staff, academic goals, and secure grounds. However, I feel that there are several things lacking. For instance, there are very few activities available for students, besides the normal ones found at every middle school in the country. Many of these activities, with the exception of some tutoring and other academic programs, suffer from lack of interest and commitment from students. As a student there, I often believed the typical stereotype of middle school cliques and behavior was accurately portrayed at the campus. I still believe this to be true. However, one that is not well-adjusted for middle school may simply be better suited for a more mature environment, which is never found within a middle school. Ogden isn't a bad school. But there is definitely room for improvement. '03-04 Freshman, OCHS
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female78%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners38%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation5%

Reading

All Students78%
Female84%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female76%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial67%
Native American50%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial50%
Native American33%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation20%

Science

All Students78%
Female75%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial75%
Native American50%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 66%
Hispanic 9% 21%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14133 South Donovan Rd
Oregon City, OR 97045
Phone: (503) 785-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cascade Academics
Oregon City, OR


Alliance Charter Academy
Oregon City, OR



Gardiner Middle School
Oregon City, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT