Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverdale Grade School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
Best grade school in Oregon! Two sons have gone through it. Oldest got in 99th percentile on PSAT and goes to Riverdale High School. He was well prepared for high school in all subjects. He's well adjusted socially and happy. Youngest also doing excellent. Hasn't taken PSAT yet. I'm thrilled with their grade school and high school experiences.

Riverdale Grade School 5

Posted December 11, 2010
- a parent
Riverdale Grade School is truly a special place. It has always been important to us to have a small student/teacher ratio and this was one of the many reasons we selected this school. Yes, it is expensive but worth every penny! Even as an out-of-district family, we have felt extremely welcomed by the community of Riverdale. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a nurturing environment for their child.


Riverdale Grade School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a parent
Riverdale Grade School has the small class sizes, outstanding teachers, an involved and active parent community, and an incredible new facility for the K-8 students. We moved into the Riverdale district over 3 years ago for the excellent school, and my 2nd and 5th grade boys are thriving in the challenging academic environment and the personalized learning programs. My boys love going to school everyday, and are inspired to work hard and do well. Each of their classes has around 15 students, so they get individual attention and direction in all of their subjects. I am thrilled to be a part of Riverdale and the wonderful school community.

Riverdale Grade School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of two Riverdale students. Both have been at the school since first grade (a perfect transition from Montessori School). They are now in 6th and 9th grades. Many schools can show strong test performance and academic achievements but we have found the Riverdale experience to be truly remarkable in so many areas. Kids speak and present their work to audiences regularly, experiential learning is a part of most learning, and most importantly the school and greater community is built around respect, understanding and pride. At the high school it is as cool to be smart as it is in the grade school. I think the fact that 22% of our grade school students are from out of District and pay to attend our school along with over 50% of our high school students says it all. Now just wait for our new facility to be built.

Riverdale Grade School 0
no rating

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
Riverdale is an excellent grade school. It is a public school, but offers all the benefits of a private school due to extra parental involvement and financial support. Our daughter is in kindergarten and the teacher is super fabulous. Class sizes are small, the kids are motivated and the community is very inclusive.


Riverdale Grade School 5

Posted August 15, 2007
- a parent
One of Riverdale's biggest advantages is the small class sizes. Both of my children have gone to Riverdale for the last 5 years. When independently tested this year, my middle-schooler tested very high in math and language arts--due in part to the excellent academics received in earlier grades. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The parents are very involved. To keep the small class sizes and specials (art, band, music, spanish, library and PE) the parents do a lot of fundraising and are expected to participate financially. We are sad to lose a great principal this year to retirement.

Riverdale Grade School 4

Posted August 06, 2005
- a parent
Riverdale has good academics. Extracurriculars are present but very expensive. Sports are $250. each, no family cap. Parents are very involved.

Riverdale Grade School 4

Posted August 03, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverdale Grade School
11733 SW Breyman Ave, Portland, OR  97219
(503) 262-4842
Last modified Riverdale Grade School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverdale Grade School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top