Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Madeleine Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 253 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2013

Coming from public school to Madeleine was a big positive change for our family. What an incredible community Madeleine is! The teacher and faculty support is incredible. The teachers are top notch educators. The school really stands behind it's values from compassion for others to academic excellence. My children speak positively of their learning experiences and I have observed a drastic improvement in their classwork. My 10 year old son states, "the teachers explain things so that I can easily understand". I love that the school emphasizes accountability and self-discipline and I feel they are being prepared for their life ahead in so many ways. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

We are in our second year at the Madeleine and we love it! Parent/teacher involvement is incredibly high and the community feeling is fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

We have been at this school for two years and are very, very pleased with our daughter's experience so far. We are not Catholic and we definitely have a lower household income than many other Madeleine families, yet we feel a strong part of the community. Staff and parents alike live up to the Madeleine's motto, "all are welcome."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Madeleine has been a great experience for our whole family. The community has been nothing but amazing and all the parents show a tremendous amount of involvement with their children's learning! Love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love the Madeleine school because we have a great community that comes together to help our kids grow spiritually and academically. Growing the whole person should be our goal as parents and people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

Easily one of the, if not the, best school around. Staff are excellent teachers and mentors with the kids as their top priority. It truly is a community where all are welcome. Regarding the comment about teachers being 'bullies' --- if you think being held accountable for your actions, your work ethic and your commitment to learning and the Madeleine community, then I guess you could call it whatever you want, I would call it a great academic and life learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

The Madeleine School is a wonderful place for children to learn. The entire staff is committed to a learning environment that is educational, fun, and organized. The principal is clearly in charge and as a parent I appreciate the excellent leadership she provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

Academics are focused but note they are specialized to each teacher. Some teachers are better project/student managers than others. Respect for your peers is high on the list and the school is filled with happy noise all the time. Mandatory volunteer hours are also helpful to keep everyone engaged and incorporated with the Madeleine community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Great school, happy kids, excellent parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

We love the school and the Madeleine community as a whole. Not being Catholic, we were concerned about how and where we would fit in. We have found our place there with no problem. The parents clearly give all for their kids and it shows in the level of volunteer activity. The teachers are fabulous. The new principal has beautifully complemented the school and is providing great ledership. The school sets a high academic standard and have high expectations. We are blessed to send our kids to a school where all the parents are looking out for the best in all the kids. We have made great friends there. Check it out for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

Excellent school @ all levels. Caring teachers and staff. One child through and his education has helped him be a high achiever in HS. The other child also tracking well. We are plussed by the overall quality, and the 'values' like self-respect & respect for others taught here! Also it is easy to get involved here if you really do care about your child. So many ways to volunteer from simple projects to coaching to working on fundraising events. All seems to be positive because most parents are that way too! A 'reviewer' who complained about teacher's bullying students is way off base compared to our experiences at this great school. Also not sure if the 'reviewer' is even a parent? This school is full of great kids from the neighborhood and from many other neighborhoods in the metro area, and the staff is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2005

This school has some good things and some bad things. One of the many terible things about this school is the bullying of the teachers towards the students. My child has not had a great time with the teachers. Good things about this school is it has a great athletic program and its lunch porgram is excellent as well. If u want a school where the hot lunch is good and the teacher quality is bad than the Madelein School is the place for you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

This is probably the best school in the greater Portland area. My son has attended since Kindergarten and the academics, staff and school spirit are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 65%
Hispanic 6% 21%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Black 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3240 Northeast 23rd Avenue
Portland, OR 97212
Phone: (503) 288-9197

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT