Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 253

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Madeleine Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
Coming from public school to Madeleine was a big positive change for our family. What an incredible community Madeleine is! The teacher and faculty support is incredible. The teachers are top notch educators. The school really stands behind it's values from compassion for others to academic excellence. My children speak positively of their learning experiences and I have observed a drastic improvement in their classwork. My 10 year old son states, "the teachers explain things so that I can easily understand". I love that the school emphasizes accountability and self-discipline and I feel they are being prepared for their life ahead in so many ways. I highly recommend this school.

The Madeleine Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
We are in our second year at the Madeleine and we love it! Parent/teacher involvement is incredibly high and the community feeling is fabulous.


The Madeleine Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
We have been at this school for two years and are very, very pleased with our daughter's experience so far. We are not Catholic and we definitely have a lower household income than many other Madeleine families, yet we feel a strong part of the community. Staff and parents alike live up to the Madeleine's motto, "all are welcome."

The Madeleine Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Madeleine has been a great experience for our whole family. The community has been nothing but amazing and all the parents show a tremendous amount of involvement with their children's learning! Love the school.

The Madeleine Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
I love the Madeleine school because we have a great community that comes together to help our kids grow spiritually and academically. Growing the whole person should be our goal as parents and people.


The Madeleine Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
Easily one of the, if not the, best school around. Staff are excellent teachers and mentors with the kids as their top priority. It truly is a community where all are welcome. Regarding the comment about teachers being 'bullies' --- if you think being held accountable for your actions, your work ethic and your commitment to learning and the Madeleine community, then I guess you could call it whatever you want, I would call it a great academic and life learning experience.

The Madeleine Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2007
- a parent
The Madeleine School is a wonderful place for children to learn. The entire staff is committed to a learning environment that is educational, fun, and organized. The principal is clearly in charge and as a parent I appreciate the excellent leadership she provides.

The Madeleine Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2006
- a parent
Academics are focused but note they are specialized to each teacher. Some teachers are better project/student managers than others. Respect for your peers is high on the list and the school is filled with happy noise all the time. Mandatory volunteer hours are also helpful to keep everyone engaged and incorporated with the Madeleine community.


The Madeleine Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2006
- a parent
Great school, happy kids, excellent parental involvement.

The Madeleine Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2005
- a parent
We love the school and the Madeleine community as a whole. Not being Catholic, we were concerned about how and where we would fit in. We have found our place there with no problem. The parents clearly give all for their kids and it shows in the level of volunteer activity. The teachers are fabulous. The new principal has beautifully complemented the school and is providing great ledership. The school sets a high academic standard and have high expectations. We are blessed to send our kids to a school where all the parents are looking out for the best in all the kids. We have made great friends there. Check it out for yourself!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Madeleine Elementary School
3240 Northeast 23rd Avenue, Portland, OR  97212
(503) 288-9197
Last modified The Madeleine Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
The Madeleine Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top