Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Redeemer Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2013

We used this school for my son when he was in preschool. This was his 2nd year of preschool. My son has since been diagnosed with borderline ADHD, and he was in a class that was 75% boys. In addition to the lopsided gender demographics, the full time teacher took her deserved maternity leave one month after school started. A teacher who was still completing her student teaching was left with little to no coaching on how to appropriately handle this class with such high energy. The school has great academics, fantastic programs, and terrifically organized after care. But, it wasn't for us, and our boy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

teaches respect and importance of giving. Teacher student ratio is OK, would be better if they offered advanced classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

sending your first child off to school is both exciting and terrifying. seeing the smile on my daughter's face as she played with her classmates and teacher in this loving, supportive, nurturing environment will go down as one of the best moments in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I am the parent of a mixed-race family, and knew we wanted a Catholic education for our children. Holy Redeemer above and beyond all the wonderful high academics was the only school we visited that has a distinctive ethnic mix. We are thrilled to be in such a diverse school (they have a 64% minority rate), and our children are happy and thriving. Our first grader is above and beyond reading and math levels. The teachers, staff and students are all so welcoming, we fell like we've been a part of the school for more than 20 years, and are only 2 years in. I highly recommend Holy Redeemer to anyone shopping for a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

Our son is currently in full day kindergarten. My husband and I feel confident about the teacher and the academics being taught. We feel that this school has proven to provide adequate discipline & structure for our son. It's a great feeling to know that our son will receive a good education here, and that he is in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2005

My son is in an early elementary grade at HRCS. I am thrilled with the faculty and their engagement with our kids, including support for kids working above grade level and kids who are working to catch up. In 2005, a 'green building' holding new classrooms, science lab, and a new library will open. The music program includes private lessons available during the school day, and is absolutely unparalleled in any school in the area, public or private. Regular PE and music is so rare these days, but our school has them. Spanish is coming in 2006-2007. The sports program (CYO and PYSA) is supportive and encouraging to all of the kids who participate. Parents must volunteer 30 hours each year (or pay a small fee). We are not members of the parish, but don't feel like outsiders. Wonderful school! Thanks Fr. Joe & Mrs. Rainieri!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

It eases my mind knowing that my children are in such a nuturing environment. The quality of education that they are recieveing is first rate. The staff and community are very supportive as well and my children are always excited about school. I myself am an ulumni and I look forward to all three of my children being alumni also. I also need to give special recognition to Father Joe Capora. He is a wonderful person and a great leader. I have always felt that he has his finger on the pulse of our church, and is truely there for all parishioners. The care and concern that he has shown my family will never be forgotten. I love Holy Redeemer and I'm sure that you will too.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

My oldest attended HR from K-8th graduating last year. There has been some turmoil with change in staff but the 90+ yr old school will weather the storm. It has been an excellent experience and I have two others at the school. My children have never complained about going to school in fact my oldest went early every day so he could greet fellow students. HR has a warm and inviting atmosphere where children are safe and able to attend to their academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 65%
Two or more races 24% 5%
Hispanic 18% 21%
Black 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

127 North Rosa Parks Way
Portland, OR 97217
Phone: (503) 283-5197

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ockley Green
Portland, OR





Trillium
Portland, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT