Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family School

Private | PK-8 | 272 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

We have been with Holy Family school now for 4 years (pre 3-1st grade). It has truly been a wonderful experience. EVERY SINGLE teacher we have worked with has shown excellent communication skills, knowledge and passion for their work and most importantly genuine care for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

As a parent of both a "typical" and a "special needs" child, I am thrilled with how Holy Family embraced, prepared and educated and loved each one. The fact that Holy Family honors neuro-diverse students with learning differences is something to shout from the rooftops, not apologize for. Holy Family leads the Archdiocese in their approach, and has been instrumental in changing the attitudes and philosophy surrounding special education s rightful place in Catholic education. My typical child was well-prepared for a rigorous college prep high school. She now thrives at a university filled with the valedictorians from across the country. She is arguably better prepared for life as a result of living with and being educated alongside of special needs students. She is compassionate, kind, patient, works well with others and has a depth and wisdom to her that will take her farther than any degree. My son is now in high school and also thriving. Students from Holy Family remain caring, considerate, and walk upon this earth differently than most. Lessons from their years together run deep and will forever shape the trajectory of their lives, at least the lucky ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

Most of the teachers at Holy Family are strong, however some remain, even as parents have complained time after time that they are no longer effective. Programs have recently been cut, as money appears to be going to support both special ed and tuition assistance. Nearly 10% of tuition goes to these programs, and not directly to my child that I am paying tuition for. This is not what we signed up for. In addition, this school has the second highest tuition of all the Catholic Schools in Portland. Programs continue to be cut, with art no longer in existence. Meetings are called to discuss the crisis, with nothing ever changing. I'd take your money to a school with strong leadership from the principal; it is visibly lacking at Holy Family. There is a revolving door as people come in, experience disappointment, then leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

Holy Family is a wonderful school. Our daughter started out in the preschool and she had a great experience. By the end, she was well prepared for Kindergarten. There is a new Kindergarten teacher this year and she is incredible. My daughter is excited to go to school each morning and absolutely adores her teacher. It is a very nurturing environment and the curriculum is well thought out. My daughter is reading and writing better than I would have expected for her age. We are so blessed to have found such a wonderful school and are thankful she will be there until high school. It is worth every penny we pay and would not spend our money any other way or place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

This is truly one of the best schools in Portland. As a graduating 8th grader of '09, i feel incredibly well prepared for high school. By going to this school, i have had incredibly high expectations that I am expecting to carry on into high school. The teachers, though the home room teacher is pretty weird, are honestly irreplaceable. Mrs. J, the 7th grade and US History teacher, is an incredibly tough teacher, and she doesn't let up. She's actually a person who is easily related to. She prepares you really well for what's to come in high school. Mrs. Mccarty only wants the best for her students. The curriculum we cover is extremely challenging, as we have high school level math books. Many of the algebra 1 students move on to honors geo/trig and geometry. I am personally going into Honors geo/trig at Central Catholic. A highly recommended school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

I can't imagine my children at any other school. The principal is a wise and caring leader. All of the staff are dedicated and well trained. The diversity of the school (typical and special needs) is what really makes us a school founded on Gospel values. I love that my 'neuro-typical' child has the opportunity to be friends with children who have special needs. It teaches my child compassion and understanding. In no way does this hamper my child's education. I have seen first hand how these special students have enhanced our classrooms. It makes us truly a 'Holy Family' by including all in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

As a parent of a 'typical' and of a 'special needs student, both attending Holy Family since kindergarten, I could not disagree more with the posting of 3/31. Last year the graduating classes of Central and La Salle had five Holy Family alums in the roles of valedictorian, or salutatorian. Five in two schools, in one year. There are Holy Family alums attending Stanford, Penn, Scrips, and Smith, and those are just the siblings of my 'typical's' friends. If you are looking only for accelerated learning for bright students, might I suggest CLASS Academy in Portland. If you are looking for a school that 'gets it,' where your child will be embraced as a whole person, and not just a brain, Holy Family is the school for you. Regardless of their 'needs,' or their amazing abilities, all are welcome here. It's called a Catholic Community. It's what you signed up for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

Holy Family is an amazing school and has been a wonderful and enriching experience for each of our 3 children. Underlying the Holy Family philosophy is respect. Respect for the child, the teachers and each other. Respect creates an environment which learning comes easily. I am thrilled my children are learning not only academics but important values that will serve them well in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

If your child isn't special needs be prepared. With so many 'special needs' kids flocking to this school and inadequate training in special education by the teachers your child will be restricted in his/her academics. This is not a school for bright kids or will accelerate your child's learning, you are buying into a community and it has become a community of parents hiding their kids from being label 'special ed' in the public schools. Avoid it if you are looking for an education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

So far our experience has been outstanding. Unlike the public school in our neighborhood, this school asked me to come talk to the entire staff about Aspergers and Autism. They valued what I had learned for the 9+ years I had been dealing with it. From our first day there we have felt the warmth and acceptence we did not get from Duniway. Our kids report that all the teachers care about them. (Their words) At Holy Family they seem to care for the 'whole' child - not just educating to meet benchmarks and earn ratings. Leadership is so important and this school has a great administration and a strong connection to a fabulous parish. I highly reccomend this school to anyone. Many parents wrongly feel they need to keep kids with special needs in public school for services.....wrong...the right school will support you and what's best for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

I love the wonderful community. Holy family is a great school! The eight graders get to read to the preschool and kindergardeners. It is so darling! every class has another class as their buddys. Its is a great way for us to get to know each other and if the younger kids ever have a problem they can talk to us about it. As an eigth grader i am truly sad this is my last year, but holy family has made me ready for high school.. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 73%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 1% 18%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7425 SE 39th Avenue
Portland, OR 97202
Phone: (503) 774-8871

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lane Middle School
Portland, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT