Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Cross Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2013

Our kid transfered from PPS SES. She barely made her grade in the transfer, she was so behind. Her first month was hard, but she got great support, and is now thriving. She loves her teacher and going to school at HCC. We see strong growth in all areas: academic, emotional, critical thinking, self-confidence. The school is organized, well structured, with great teachers, and great academic program: PE, science, arts, music, computer science, in addition to the basics. Ironically, she learns more environmental sci than at Sunnyside Environmental. Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

I attended Holy Cross 1st-8th and felt highly prepared for high school. I attended St. Mary's Academy and was placed in advanced classes from the beginning, mainly due to the great education I received from Holy Cross. Holy Cross was especially effective at English education. I applied the grammar that I learned at Holy Cross when I took the GMAT and GRE, and I scored very highly in the verbal sections. This is a long way of saying that Holy Cross provided me with a solid foundation for my education, and I feel lucky to have had the chance to attend.


Posted October 21, 2008

I love this school holy redeemer although more money are very cold, my daughter was no longer teased and mad life long friends and memories here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

I love holly cross it is going to set a very good example for my sister and I.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2007

Both of my children attend Holy Cross, as did my younger brothers. All of the teachers know my children's names and care about them as individuals. When the younger child needed a little extra support in the classroom, the principal and her classroom teacher were totally willing to work with me to develop a plan that worked for that child. The children do wear uniforms, but there is a lot of flexibility within the uniforms. When I compare what my first grader is learning to what our neighbor first grader is learning, there is no comparison. She is already studying double digit addition and subtraction along with spelling, while he is still studying the alphabet and counting. I look forward to working with Holy Cross' staff as my children continue their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

My children both attended Holy Cross for 4 years. Kindergarten kicked off an excellent education. All day Kindergarten is and was what my kids both needed not to mention she is/was a wonderful teacher. The kids wear uniforms, abide by rules, eat homemade lunches and everything at this school is very uniform. Very close knit family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

As a former student of Holy Cross...I was what you might say a bad apple. As a successful adult I realized the dedication and determination the teachers made to help achieve goals that I never thought possible for if I would have gone to a public school in the area(which are horrendous), I know for a fact I would have been swept under the rug. The regiment at this school is hard and very old fashioned but they show and teach love and respect to yourself and others. This is probobly one of the only school I have seen that the teachers actually 'care' if you learn and refuse to leave you behind if its developmental or other serious or minor issues. You will definetly get your moneys worth if you want your kin to become repectfull and responsible adults in society. - David Lung
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 16, 2004

I think that the principal is inforcing the rules a little too much. This school has 0 fun. The rules here are just too much. I mean, you have to tie your shoes a special way. That is just too much.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 65%
Hispanic 23% 21%
Two or more races 22% 5%
Black 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5202 North Bowdoin Street
Portland, OR 97203
Phone: (503) 289-3010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT