Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 374

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Anthony School 4

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Class sizes are smaller. Specialized groups are available for one-on-one attention. Strong community of involved parents. I can't say enough about this school. Best of all - it goes from preschool to 8th grade - there is no awkward reshuffling and power struggle period, otherwise known as junior high school. I highly encourage everyone to look at St. Anthony. If you are concerned about private school prices - they have subsidy programs. If you are concerned about not being Catholic - you don't need to be or attend the parish to be a part of this great school.

St Anthony School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
I am so impressed with this preschool. This is the 2nd preschool I have been at. It is by far more superior than the first. The staff is very welcoming, not only to the children but to the parents as well. All the teachers are very easy to approach and have your child's best interest at heart. You can tell they truly love what they do and love the children. As far as a preschool goes, the staff does a great job juggling academics with fun. They are able to find fun projects that really help each child grow and learn. The staff does a great job encouraging and developing the whole child, not just the academic part. They encourage respect for all things, include each other. They have their own private play yard with equipment that is the appropriate size for the children's age. This year has been such a positive experience! There is no doubt my child will be returning, as well as my other children!


St Anthony School 2

Posted November 10, 2012
- a community member
St. Anthony School is going through some major problems with the administration. Teachers are quitting right and left. It seems that administration has no concern for parents or even the students. How can the whole preschool staff quit or be fired without an explanation? The teachers seem unhappy but are trapped. It used to be a wonderful school before the new administration took over.

St Anthony School 5

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
St. Anthony is amazing in every aspect. The staff, curriculum, students, parents, sports, extra activity, and the list goes on and on. We meet interesting people everyday. Our children are hungry to learn and participate because the teachers are top notch and have an incredible ability to get them involved. Our kids don't like holidays anymore, they want to be in school! St. Anthony, we will be always thankful for what you bring to our lives and we will do what we can to contribute. God Bless.

St Anthony School 1

Posted May 04, 2012
- a parent
It needs an administrative overhaul. The principal refusing to speak with parents, even after terminating two teachers in one year. My child is now on their third teacher and the principal refuses to even tell us if the kids are safe. When confronted by a group of moms she refused to speak and simply tapped her wrist watch and said she is busy. Other administrative services are incredibly unorganized, the school could significantly improve by offering an undergrad process improvement student an internship. The principal request parents to read a weekly 6+ age newsletter in which she rambles and can't clearly articulate the point. Unfortunately because of the administration this school is a shame is a disgrace to the education system.


St Anthony School 5

Posted March 28, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school that not only offers a quality education, but a great sense of community for parents and students. My son is 4th generation to attend St. Anthony's, and is now doing excellent in high school.

St Anthony School 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2010
- a parent
If your student is an average student they will do well at this school. What I mean by that is that the majority of teachers teach to the average student. If your student needs additional support or exceeds within the academic arena they will be mainly ignored. My son happened to excel in math and was subjected to the same lessons that all of the other students were exposed to. Apparently, the teachers here have never heard of differentiated instruction or lack the initaiative to take continuing education classes to further themselves to better teach the above and below average students. If your student is below or above average a public school is the way to go. Average students will do well here.

St Anthony School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I'm an alumni of St. Anthony's. It was always provided a warm and welcoming environment that enticed children to push themselves to be better and learn more. I developed my love of learning at St. Anthony's and remain very close friends with people I went to school with way back when! I feel very fortunate to have gone to school there and look forward to sending my daughter there next year!


St Anthony School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
St. Anthony is a wonderful school with good values and a Christian ethic. The education is very good despite some of the remarks of others. Both my children have excelled there in the past and after attending other schools both in Tigard and abroad, we have come to realize what a truly well rounded and fabulous education they received. They are both well above their peers in many subjects. We could send our younger daughter anywhere when we return but will most definately send her to St. Anthony again! As for the teachers/staff, they can be strict but that is why the children behave in school. You can't have it both ways. I agree that it is a community/family atmosphere which is great for the kids well being. We have missed it. Parents don't tend to be involved in the older grades but it's the same in public middle schools.

St Anthony School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
St. Anthony School is a wonderful school and great environment for the future leaders of our society. The outward appearance of the school is old and exterior does not do it justice because the learning that occurs in this school is top notch. Children that graduate from St. Anthony School are academically ahead of the majority of public school children. The teachers are strong and the administration is conservative. No horseplay is tolerated and children learn to respect authority. Many of the larger public grade schools and middle schools simply warehouse children and do not teach the fundamentals of learning. St. Anthony teaches and trains students to succeed. Some of the teachers can be rigid at times, but your son or daughter will graduate from St. Anthony School a stronger person due to the instruction and interaction with the staff and volunteers. St. Anthony does not really offer any special needs classes so if your child has a learning disability, this is not the school for your family. This is a school for the family looking to give their children the very best. It will be one of the wisest investments you will ever make.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Anthony School
12645 Southwest Pacific Highway, Portland, OR  97223
(503) 639-4179
Last modified St Anthony School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Anthony School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top