Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Howard School 4

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
AHS provides a really sweet nurturing environment for its students while challenging them to academic excellence. Overall, we were really happy with our experience. The community is second to none and really is what makes this school special. The art teacher, Mrs. Beade, and music teacher, Mrs. Czuba, are exceptional and provide an arts program that rivals any school in Portland.

Archbishop Howard School 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Our school is a charming and safe environment for children Pre-K through 8th grade. It gives them a chance to be kids and time to adjust socially in a fast paced and sometimes crazy world. Everyone one knows everyone in this one class per grade school. Academic standards are high, but manageable for most students. The principal has an open door policy as well as each teacher. Parents are actively involved as well as the St. Rose Parish attached to the school. Children from any religious background are welcome. Set in a quiet, older neighborhood in the middle of NE Portland.


Archbishop Howard School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The principal, Mrs. Asbury is amazing. She is out on the playground helping direct traffic in the mornings and afternoons. You will see her out there in the rain, shine, snow, sleet, windy days. The cafeteria offers THREE different lunch choices along with an awesome salad bar. The breakfast option is great especially when you have a child who can't/won't eat before school. The teachers are amazing and we have been there since 2nd grade (now in 7th grade) and a kindergartener will start next year.

Archbishop Howard School 5

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! My child is in a strong catholic environment with an emphasis on good manners, respect for others and the world and strong academics. It's a non competitive environment that fosters a feeling of community and family. Best place to send your child!

Archbishop Howard School 5

Posted January 11, 2007
- a student
This school is a great school for students wanting to attend pre-k through 8th grade. Also our academic standards are higher which means you will learn and achieve more here. Parents here do share hours which helps the school very much. Saftey and discipline we are very safe at our school, we have practice fire,earthquake,and stranger danger drills.


Archbishop Howard School 5

Posted April 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Archbishop Howard School 5

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
I am the parent of 2 AHS graduates and 1 current student. While attending, my children know they are part of a community that cares about their safety, education and future. Our principal greets the students every morning on the playground, the faculty go the extra mile in an effort to meet the needs of every child. The music and drama experiences at AHS have been meaningful and the parent involvement in the CYO sports teams exceptional. The feeling when you walk in the building is warm and welcoming, the parents are involved and generous. I would recommend checking out this wonderful Catholic school if you are looking for a school that feels like home.

Archbishop Howard School 5

Posted March 30, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Archbishop Howard School 5

Posted December 26, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Howard School
5309 Northeast Alameda Street, Portland, OR  97213
(503) 281-1912
Last modified Archbishop Howard School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Archbishop Howard School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top