Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
230 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Clare School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
There is an old saying that says "it trickles down from the top". I believe our Principal Debbi Monahan is a wonderful Principal who really cares about the kids in St. Clare.

St Clare School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
I believe St. Clare's catholic values of compassion, service and kindness is the key to the development of honesty, integrity and fairness!


St Clare School 5

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
From day 1 my children have thrived at St. Clare. We are not very religious, but feel the catholic values have really added to their development. Their community is second to none and I have been surprised at the kindness and politeness the children exhibit on a daily basis. Their buddy and family groups are amazing, their library, award winning PE and Art was a big draw and we can't keep a smile off our face how wonderful their teachers are...Without question I would recommend this school. We feel we have been so lucky as a family to have stumbled across it and ultimately we are blessed that they are so happy to go every morning.

St Clare School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
A gem of a school with a true community environment. Parent involvement is second-to-none. Children are not only held to high academic standards, but also high moral standards. Art, PE and music are an important part of the education. We love that our kids are receiving a well-rounded education.

St Clare School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
I began to explore Saint Clare after talking with another parent whose child goes to the school. We discussed the resources that are available at Saint Clare. After multiple interviews we decided to enroll our son. At the interviews I found warm, highly competent, and caring staff and teachers. I truly believe the school endeavors to teach character, compassion and academic studies. The atmosphere is one inclusion and acceptance. Music, art, religion, physical education and recess are still part of the curriculum. Saint Clare desires to help raise up well rounded children and teens who love God. Everything they do proves this. The teachers are fantastic and classes are small. Technology is used to facilitate learning when it adds to the learning process but it does not replace tried and true methods of teaching. Children are also encouraged through peer learners as well as older children who mentor the younger children. Service projects go beyond the classroom and instill a sense of responsibility for others in the children. I am so blessed to have found this school, these teachers and the families that make it happen for each of these children. It takes a village to raise a child


St Clare School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a parent
St Clare is a wonderful school with a great community and high academic standards. My children have been so happy and thrive in the atmosphere of love and learning. This school has a learning specialist to help children who learn differently or might be falling behind- unusual for a Catholic school. Also, the school has an art teacher with a wonderful art curriculum. Our children love this school.

St Clare School 5

Posted December 22, 2010
- a parent
Our family has been at St. Clare School for 11 years. We couldn't imagine a more comfortable place for our children to discover academics, themselves, and their faith. The staff is loving, encouraging, and cooperative. There are strengths and weaknesses, but the community spirit far outweighs any of the lowest weaknesses to us. The middle school is academically challenging and prepares well for (Catholic) high school, but with 2 of the 3 teachers having been there for a very long time (sometimes a strength, sometimes a weakness) there is room for innovation - especially in the area of applying technology to language arts and writing skills. We are very pleased with the current Administration - far more inviting, loving, and accessible than in the past. Our family rates this school highly.

St Clare School 1

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The school has a double standard and discriminates against students with problems


St Clare School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
St Clare is a great community and this energy flows through the school as well. The kids are very respectful and love to learn. The teachers are supportive. The curriculum is challenging as well.

St Clare School 1

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The school has a double standard towards its students. As soon as your child experiences any problems the teacher writes them off.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Clare School
1807 Southwest Freeman Street, Portland, OR  97219
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (503) 244-7600
Last modified St Clare School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top