Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Clare School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
A gem of a school with a true community environment. Parent involvement is second-to-none. Children are not only held to high academic standards, but also high moral standards. Art, PE and music are an important part of the education. We love that our kids are receiving a well-rounded education.

St Clare School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
I began to explore Saint Clare after talking with another parent whose child goes to the school. We discussed the resources that are available at Saint Clare. After multiple interviews we decided to enroll our son. At the interviews I found warm, highly competent, and caring staff and teachers. I truly believe the school endeavors to teach character, compassion and academic studies. The atmosphere is one inclusion and acceptance. Music, art, religion, physical education and recess are still part of the curriculum. Saint Clare desires to help raise up well rounded children and teens who love God. Everything they do proves this. The teachers are fantastic and classes are small. Technology is used to facilitate learning when it adds to the learning process but it does not replace tried and true methods of teaching. Children are also encouraged through peer learners as well as older children who mentor the younger children. Service projects go beyond the classroom and instill a sense of responsibility for others in the children. I am so blessed to have found this school, these teachers and the families that make it happen for each of these children. It takes a village to raise a child


St Clare School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a parent
St Clare is a wonderful school with a great community and high academic standards. My children have been so happy and thrive in the atmosphere of love and learning. This school has a learning specialist to help children who learn differently or might be falling behind- unusual for a Catholic school. Also, the school has an art teacher with a wonderful art curriculum. Our children love this school.

St Clare School 5

Posted December 22, 2010
- a parent
Our family has been at St. Clare School for 11 years. We couldn't imagine a more comfortable place for our children to discover academics, themselves, and their faith. The staff is loving, encouraging, and cooperative. There are strengths and weaknesses, but the community spirit far outweighs any of the lowest weaknesses to us. The middle school is academically challenging and prepares well for (Catholic) high school, but with 2 of the 3 teachers having been there for a very long time (sometimes a strength, sometimes a weakness) there is room for innovation - especially in the area of applying technology to language arts and writing skills. We are very pleased with the current Administration - far more inviting, loving, and accessible than in the past. Our family rates this school highly.

St Clare School 1

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The school has a double standard and discriminates against students with problems


St Clare School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
St Clare is a great community and this energy flows through the school as well. The kids are very respectful and love to learn. The teachers are supportive. The curriculum is challenging as well.

St Clare School 1

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The school has a double standard towards its students. As soon as your child experiences any problems the teacher writes them off.

St Clare School 1

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
We've had a bad experience at St. Clare. The lower grade teacher was uncooperative and has written our child off from the start of the school year. From then on she never used positive reinforcement with our child that was an excellent student but had issues with keeping quiet in the classroom. We would get phone calls at work to pick up our child for minor things like pulling someones hood over their head in recess or making funny faces during class.


St Clare School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
This school is a rare find: a well-balanced program that combines research-based methods, a highly professional faculty, progressive ideas and an amazing sense of community. St. Clare is light-years ahead of many Catholic schools in the area in terms of their attention to differentiated instruction (individualized teaching for students who struggle, students who excel and everyone else!) One of the top schools in the area. All this and a profound commitment to community service among students and faculty alike.

St Clare School 5

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
Our family is so pleased with St. Clare. We have a child in the lower school who is thriving. The sense of community and genuine care for each other is evident just walking down the halls. We came from a purely academic school that focused on test scores rather than the WHOLE child. Each child at St. Clare is respected and honored by the teachers, administrators and other students. I truely believe you get what you put in and if a family is willing to be a member of the St. Clare community everyone benefits - especially the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Clare School
1807 Southwest Freeman Street, Portland, OR  97219
(503) 244-7600
Last modified St Clare School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Clare School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top