Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Clare School

Private | K-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $267,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

A gem of a school with a true community environment. Parent involvement is second-to-none. Children are not only held to high academic standards, but also high moral standards. Art, PE and music are an important part of the education. We love that our kids are receiving a well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I began to explore Saint Clare after talking with another parent whose child goes to the school. We discussed the resources that are available at Saint Clare. After multiple interviews we decided to enroll our son. At the interviews I found warm, highly competent, and caring staff and teachers. I truly believe the school endeavors to teach character, compassion and academic studies. The atmosphere is one inclusion and acceptance. Music, art, religion, physical education and recess are still part of the curriculum. Saint Clare desires to help raise up well rounded children and teens who love God. Everything they do proves this. The teachers are fantastic and classes are small. Technology is used to facilitate learning when it adds to the learning process but it does not replace tried and true methods of teaching. Children are also encouraged through peer learners as well as older children who mentor the younger children. Service projects go beyond the classroom and instill a sense of responsibility for others in the children. I am so blessed to have found this school, these teachers and the families that make it happen for each of these children. It takes a village to raise a child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

St Clare is a wonderful school with a great community and high academic standards. My children have been so happy and thrive in the atmosphere of love and learning. This school has a learning specialist to help children who learn differently or might be falling behind- unusual for a Catholic school. Also, the school has an art teacher with a wonderful art curriculum. Our children love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2010

Our family has been at St. Clare School for 11 years. We couldn't imagine a more comfortable place for our children to discover academics, themselves, and their faith. The staff is loving, encouraging, and cooperative. There are strengths and weaknesses, but the community spirit far outweighs any of the lowest weaknesses to us. The middle school is academically challenging and prepares well for (Catholic) high school, but with 2 of the 3 teachers having been there for a very long time (sometimes a strength, sometimes a weakness) there is room for innovation - especially in the area of applying technology to language arts and writing skills. We are very pleased with the current Administration - far more inviting, loving, and accessible than in the past. Our family rates this school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The school has a double standard and discriminates against students with problems
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

St Clare is a great community and this energy flows through the school as well. The kids are very respectful and love to learn. The teachers are supportive. The curriculum is challenging as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The school has a double standard towards its students. As soon as your child experiences any problems the teacher writes them off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

We've had a bad experience at St. Clare. The lower grade teacher was uncooperative and has written our child off from the start of the school year. From then on she never used positive reinforcement with our child that was an excellent student but had issues with keeping quiet in the classroom. We would get phone calls at work to pick up our child for minor things like pulling someones hood over their head in recess or making funny faces during class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

This school is a rare find: a well-balanced program that combines research-based methods, a highly professional faculty, progressive ideas and an amazing sense of community. St. Clare is light-years ahead of many Catholic schools in the area in terms of their attention to differentiated instruction (individualized teaching for students who struggle, students who excel and everyone else!) One of the top schools in the area. All this and a profound commitment to community service among students and faculty alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

Our family is so pleased with St. Clare. We have a child in the lower school who is thriving. The sense of community and genuine care for each other is evident just walking down the halls. We came from a purely academic school that focused on test scores rather than the WHOLE child. Each child at St. Clare is respected and honored by the teachers, administrators and other students. I truely believe you get what you put in and if a family is willing to be a member of the St. Clare community everyone benefits - especially the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I couldn't be more happy with the quality of teachers and educaton my boys have had. The principal has been a great initiator of change, and is motivated to have the best program for all students. The spirit within the school is very positive. Kids are well-behaved and look out for each other. Great school. Excellent program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

As the parent of students recently returning to St. Clare, I can honestly say that we are so happy to be back. St. Clare School has so many positive attributes to offer students and their families; from the level of committment shown by the staff, the obvious respect & caring the students show each other, to the generous support from the parish community. There are many schools that can offer an excellent education, but how many can offer that plus such an enriching environment? None that I've found. We're proud to be a part of the St. Clare Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

St Clare has been a great environment of education, support and a faith-filled place for our children. We have found the teachers to be open, supportive and eager to accomodate any special needs. Would recommend St Clare highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

School administrators are difficult to approach and are frequently indifferent and non-responsive. Elementary School experience was generally good. Middle school experience has been well below expectations, particularly in the areas of math and writing skills. No foreign language skills are taught, despite administration's five plus years of pledges to provide a program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1807 SW Freeman St
Portland, OR 97219
Phone: (503) 244-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT