Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 1,280
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jesuit High School 1

Posted July 02, 2015
- a student
This school is only for cookie-cutter Catholics. Do not dare fall out of line with creativity or home problems or they will push you to the margins and under the rug. I have gone to this scho for two years and the way they deal with issues shocks and disgusts me. It's quite a problem. I wouldn't wish this school on my worst enemy.

Jesuit High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 02, 2015
- a student
I received over 6 hours of homework per night while attending Jesuit, and the second I forgot an assignment, my grades slipped.


Jesuit High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 02, 2015
- a student
Instead of working hard and gaining skill, most students here have only gained the skill of cheating.

Jesuit High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 02, 2015
- a student
I have seen many many students with hardened hearts focusing on money and drinking. Popularity at this school relies on money and partying abilities.

Jesuit High School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
My children are thriving at Jesuit. The teachers truly care about the kids in and out of the classroom. You can really see that the teachers love teaching and being a part of the Jesuit family. At parents night I was very surprised at the long tenure of many of the teachers. My children are not catholic but they feel welcome and learning about all religions.


Jesuit High School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
Jesuit's motto is "Do Well Whatever You Do", and this shows in all aspects of the school. The teachers care about the students, the students are involved in school and the community, and the drama and athletic departments are outstanding. Parents are involved in everything from preparing and serving lunch, to staffing the concession stands at sports games, and participating on committees to assist the administration and other parents (like, for example, the Parents in Partnership program). Each year, the students have a retreat during which they forge strong bonds of friendship, and reflect on their lives and the lives of those around them. This is an outstanding place to send your student, if you want him or her to develop not only academically, but into a man or woman for others.

Jesuit High School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
I have a daughter who graduated from Jesuit last spring and a son who is currently a sophomore. The school does an amazing job of getting all kids involved in not only the school but also in the community through community service. They also do an outstanding job of preparing the kids for college and beyond. The staff and teachers are caring and always eager to assist in anyway. Sending our kids to Jesuit was the best decision we've ever made!

Jesuit High School 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough positive things about Jesuit. Academics are fantastic, gifted students have AP classes that challenge them. Also Thomas Edison School, that shares the campus with Jesuit, accomodates students with alternative learning abilities (like my daughter,) is available for students to take some of their classes. A diverse, dedicated, well appointed team of educators, is custom selected at admission based on your students ability and needs , with input from student and parents. Teachers are always available before and after class to help students. This is provided under a safe, caring, moral enviornment that in predominantly Catholic, but with most Great Religions represented, as well as students that do not practice a religion. Although Jesuit competes in sports, arts, and academics at a high level, there are sports and numerous other campus activities, to accomadate and explore the intrests of all the students. My experience with JHS culture in that it is inclusive, caring, safe with the student encouraged to take a chance and explore, while owning and being responsible for decisions made, all within the spirit of learning.


Jesuit High School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Jesuit Portland has been an outstanding experience for family. Our four children have had numerous opportunities to explore and be challenged in their academics, character, spirituality and athletics. Jesuit Portland culture fosters deep, supportive friendship with students and faculty and amongst families. It is a remarkable place.

Jesuit High School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Outstanding academics, student participation in a broad range of activities (drama, student government, athletics) and a strong history of community service.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jesuit High School
9000 Southwest Beaverton Hillsdale Highway, Portland, OR  97225
(503) 292-2663
Last modified Jesuit High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Jesuit High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top